scale bar

Discuss all RiScan Pro related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jerzy Frydel
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:34 pm
Full Name: Jerzy Jan Frydel
Company Details: Polish Geological Institute
Company Position Title: senior specialist
Country: Poland
Linkedin Profile: No

scale bar

Post by Jerzy Frydel » Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:00 pm

Guys,

Is there a way to add, or make your own and add, a "Color LUT" scale bar and use it while making a "surface comparison" within RiscanPro? Limitation to 7 scale bars which are available is insufficient for me.

Thx for any suggestions!
Jerzy

User avatar
joe.3dlm
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:48 am
Full Name: Joe Beeching
Company Details: GeoSLAM Ltd
Company Position Title: QA Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: scale bar

Post by joe.3dlm » Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:56 pm

Hi Jerzy,

I am not aware of this being possible. What LUT (Look-Up Table) would you like to have?
RiSCAN LUTs.png
Cheers,
Joe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Jerzy Frydel
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:34 pm
Full Name: Jerzy Jan Frydel
Company Details: Polish Geological Institute
Company Position Title: senior specialist
Country: Poland
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: scale bar

Post by Jerzy Frydel » Fri Aug 09, 2013 1:53 pm

Hello Joe,

I'm thinking of a scale bar with sharp boundaries (likewise scalebar#7 -the bottom one), but with colours ranging from reds (+) to greens (-) (eg. #3).
Maybe the file(s) containing scale bars can be modified, and a desired scale bar can be switched? But, it seems a bit like tampering with Riegl software. Or maybe it's not?

Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 761
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: scale bar

Post by Scott » Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Now that you brought up scale bars --it would be very useful to have a positionable scale (for measurements) that one could place manually when exporting ortho views. This would help the end user to quickly size screen-shot images.

User avatar
joe.3dlm
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:48 am
Full Name: Joe Beeching
Company Details: GeoSLAM Ltd
Company Position Title: QA Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: scale bar

Post by joe.3dlm » Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:42 pm

Jerzy,

Good idea - I'll put it to Riegl. They might have an easy way to hack the LUTs.

Scott - have you tried the scale rule overlay that is available in the orthogonal view mode?

Right-click in the view > General settings > Show grid/rule > Rule

I've highlighted it in the screengrab below:
Copy of RiSCAN scale bar.png
Cheers,
Joe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 761
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: scale bar

Post by Scott » Fri Aug 09, 2013 5:17 pm

That's it, thanks!
I use a FARO scanner, so perhaps they will follow Riegl's lead, here. Everyone asks for a scale stamp when I send 2D images. A show/hide, and drag option would also be helpful.

User avatar
Jerzy Frydel
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:34 pm
Full Name: Jerzy Jan Frydel
Company Details: Polish Geological Institute
Company Position Title: senior specialist
Country: Poland
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: scale bar

Post by Jerzy Frydel » Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:27 am

Thank you Joe,
The Riegl crew might have enough of me cause I quite frequently find things to grumble about ;)

Right now I can remember only two other minor Riscan improvements that would make life much easier:

1st. It would be really nice if one could change the number of significant digits of a measurment. The display is fixed to 3 decimal digits. Let's say we make a DEM out of of a grid containing i.e. 4 points per square meter and then take measurments and we get a distance of 5,753 m. This value is too good/unnecessary - 5,7m or just 5m would be enough. Don't you think?

2nd. It happens that some users are involved in many projects and do a lot of scanning and data postprocessing. That's my case. Because of the amount of data (terabytes), the number of hard drives, it is difficult to locate a project. RiscanPro v.1.7.8 allows to view 9 last projects. I wish I could set this value to twenty...or likewise in the 1st. issue, be able to set this value as floating and let each user decide for him/herself.

I hope RiScan developers read this forum from time to time. This is just a reminder - I've exchanged those querries a year ago, too, with the Riegl support.
It might be a good idea to start such a stand alone toppic - with improvement suggestions for Riegl team, so that we can make RiScanPro even more productive and powerful tool. What do you say?
Best wishes for all you guys!
Jerzy

User avatar
joe.3dlm
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:48 am
Full Name: Joe Beeching
Company Details: GeoSLAM Ltd
Company Position Title: QA Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: scale bar

Post by joe.3dlm » Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:17 pm

Hi Jerzy,

Yes I'm often hearing of tweaks and improvements to RiSCAN PRO as well and the developers are good at including them - for example the latest version includes the "constrained" view which keeps the 3D view vertical and stops it from rolling onto it's side when rotating it, which we have asked for for a while.

I have also mentioned the ability to adjust the number of decimal places on measurements - you don't always need that level of precision.

I'll make sure you comments are passed on, but I know Christian Sevcik reads this forum so he'll see this thread in due course :)

Cheers,
Joe

User avatar
Jerzy Frydel
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:34 pm
Full Name: Jerzy Jan Frydel
Company Details: Polish Geological Institute
Company Position Title: senior specialist
Country: Poland
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: scale bar

Post by Jerzy Frydel » Mon Oct 28, 2013 3:26 pm

Hello again :)
Joe, any luck with the scalebars so far?
Soon I'm going to construct a 'navy blue- blue- green' LUT for marking bathymety - inshore part of the coastal zone (z <0m). And 'yellow-orange-red' one for the backshore part. The project I'm currently working on combines multibeam & singlebeam echosounder data with TLS & ALS. Sadly without 'green LiDAR', but the coverage is decent anyway ;)
Best wishes guys,
jf

User avatar
Christian Sevcik
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:47 pm
Full Name: Christian Sevcik
Company Details: RIEGL Laser Measurement Systems GmbH
Company Position Title: Strategic Software Alliances
Country: AT
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: scale bar

Post by Christian Sevcik » Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:57 pm

Hi Jerzy,

Unfortunately this is not possible yet. But i noted your request and forwarded to the developers. Frankly these guys are heavily working on an internal project, so the resources are somehow limited.
That said, i hope for your understanding that it will take a while until we can look into it.

Christian

Post Reply

Return to “RiScan Pro & RiSOLVE”