I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Full Name: Andrew Cosgrove
Company Details: C-SE Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Linkedin Profile: No

Sharing Clouds with Potree

Post by C-SE »

I'm looking for a bit of help regarding the hosting of clouds that I can easily share with clients through a browser link.

I'm looking to avoid any third party cloud hosting costs, as for now at least this is not a common thing for me. So I've got Potree setup and running, got the clouds converted and viewable locally through XAMPP (took me a while as I'm new to this with zero coding experience but muddled through) I'm now at the 'just stick it all on a webserver and you're done' stage, which is all the instruction I've found so far, but it has me stumped.

I have got VPS, just a cheap one to trial on but it has enough storage for a few tests, used cPanel to upload all the necessary files to it, aaand....? Whats next?

Again, zero experience with coding or servers so forgive me if this next step is staring me in the face. I feel like I just need to alter a pathway in the .html file, but to what? And do I need to set the server up in some way to allow access to it via a .html link?

Any advice will be much appreciated

Thanks
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Sharing Clouds with Potree

Post by smacl »

C-SE wrote: Tue May 31, 2022 1:05 pmI have got VPS, just a cheap one to trial on but it has enough storage for a few tests, used cPanel to upload all the necessary files to it, aaand....? Whats next?

Again, zero experience with coding or servers so forgive me if this next step is staring me in the face. I feel like I just need to alter a pathway in the .html file, but to what? And do I need to set the server up in some way to allow access to it via a .html link?