Faro Scene distance filter issue

Discuss all FARO SCENE related software issues here.
Post Reply
JMontie
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 3:02 pm
Full Name: James Montie
Company Details: ReCon Engineering
Company Position Title: Piping Designer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 1 time

Faro Scene distance filter issue

Post by JMontie »

Just wanted to let everybody know about a glitch I found today. We are using ft for units in scene. We have a distance filter set to 150' in settings. In the Scene released in November and Yesterday it processes with a distance filter set to 42.75'. I've verified this problem exist on two of our processing computers and shared this with Faro support.

jbelcher
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:25 pm
Full Name: Jacob Belcher
Company Details: Design Systems Inc.
Company Position Title: Project Engineer
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Faro Scene distance filter issue

Post by jbelcher »

I'm having the same issue on all computers with the latest SCENE version. Any update on this Faro?
Jacob Belcher | Senior Project Engineer, Mechanical Engineering Group
Design Systems, Inc. | 38799 W. 12 Mile Road | Farmington Hills, MI 48331-2903
Phone: 248-489-4300 x 2386 | Mobile: 734-223-0765 | [email protected] | www.DSIDSC.com

pomped
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:55 pm
Full Name: Daniel Pompe
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Team Lead Software Engineering
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Faro Scene distance filter issue

Post by pomped »

Hi,

sorry to hear that you have problems.
I tried to reproduce the behavior with SCENE 2019.2.0 and 2019.2.1 but it worked as desired.
Could you please share more details?
Which exact SCENE version are you referring to (and in which one did it still work)?
Are you using the filter from the context menu or as part of the processing task?

Regards,
Daniel

jbelcher
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:25 pm
Full Name: Jacob Belcher
Company Details: Design Systems Inc.
Company Position Title: Project Engineer
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Faro Scene distance filter issue

Post by jbelcher »

Hi Daniel,

I'm using 2019.2.1. In my settings, I set my unit length to feet. Under Processing, I set my distance filter to 200ft.

Then when I try importing new scans and processing using my preset settings, if I look at the distance filter now, it shows 60.96ft. As if it's converting my 200ft to 60.96m then just changing the unit to ft.

If I keep my units in meters then there's no problem. It's just when I set my units to feet and go to process new scans.

Let me know if you need anymore info.

Thanks,

Jacob Belcher
Jacob Belcher | Senior Project Engineer, Mechanical Engineering Group
Design Systems, Inc. | 38799 W. 12 Mile Road | Farmington Hills, MI 48331-2903
Phone: 248-489-4300 x 2386 | Mobile: 734-223-0765 | [email protected] | www.DSIDSC.com

mca
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:33 am
Full Name: Manuel Caputo
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Software Developer
Country: DE
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Faro Scene distance filter issue

Post by mca »

Hi James, Hi Jacob,

thank you for reporting this issue. This was my fault, I broke this when I changed some processing code during the SCENE 2019.2 development. Sorry :(

With your description I was quickly able to reproduce the problem and fix the issue. The fix will be part of the upcoming SCENE 2019.2.2 patch. We hope that we can release the patch next week.

Regards,
Manuel

pomped
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:55 pm
Full Name: Daniel Pompe
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Team Lead Software Engineering
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Faro Scene distance filter issue

Post by pomped »

Hi all,

2019.2.2 patch with a fix for the described bug is available now for download: https://knowledge.faro.com/Software/FAR ... _for_SCENE

Regards,
Daniel

Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”