Scanning With BLK

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
dineshkimraj
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:15 pm
Full Name: Dinesh Kimraj
Company Details: Facilities Construction Consultants Ltd
Company Position Title: Senior Reality Capture Tech
Country: Trinidad and Tobago
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Scanning With BLK

Post by dineshkimraj » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:30 pm

Good day all

Can the BLK be used without the tablet? We usually work in areas where tablets or phones are not allowed. Would it be possible to just scan with the BLK and the Process back in the office?

Thanks
Dinesh

User avatar
geomontgomery
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:23 pm
Full Name: George Montgomery
Company Details: ECE Design
Company Position Title: Support Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Scanning With BLK

Post by geomontgomery » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:36 pm

Yep, a tablet with Recap Pro for Mobile or Cyclone Field 360 is not required for general scanning. You could use the BLK 360 Data Manager to alter the initial scan settings on the BLK (exposure, scan quality), and then just use the BLK360 in the field as is for all your scanning, and then come back in the office to register.

User avatar
James Hall
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:13 pm
Full Name: James E Hall
Company Details: Precision Measurements Inc
Company Position Title: Survey Technician - Cyclone Modeler
Country: USA
Location: Chantilly, VA
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Scanning With BLK

Post by James Hall » Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:25 pm

geomontgomery wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:36 pm
Yep, a tablet with Recap Pro for Mobile or Cyclone Field 360 is not required for general scanning. You could use the BLK 360 Data Manager to alter the initial scan settings on the BLK (exposure, scan quality), and then just use the BLK360 in the field as is for all your scanning, and then come back in the office to register.
Yup what Geomontgomery said. Make sure you setup the scan resolution and images HDR settings and so forth from the iPad for push button scanning.
It's were you adjust the same setting in Recap or the BLK manger software. Do some test scans before you do the job just to make sure the settings are right.

James,

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Scanning With BLK

Post by gsisman » Mon Oct 14, 2019 3:45 am

James Hall wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:25 pm
geomontgomery wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:36 pm
Yep, a tablet with Recap Pro for Mobile or Cyclone Field 360 is not required for general scanning. You could use the BLK 360 Data Manager to alter the initial scan settings on the BLK (exposure, scan quality), and then just use the BLK360 in the field as is for all your scanning, and then come back in the office to register.
Yup what Geomontgomery said. Make sure you setup the scan resolution and images HDR settings and so forth from the iPad for push button scanning.
It's were you adjust the same setting in Recap or the BLK manger software. Do some test scans before you do the job just to make sure the settings are right.

James,
As the above gentlemen have said. Not sure, but you may have a few more settings available in Field 360 app than the data manager app. The one I'm not sure about is the delay in start of scan (Delays the start of scan prior to the beginning of the photos), which wasn't in the first versions.

User avatar
dineshkimraj
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:15 pm
Full Name: Dinesh Kimraj
Company Details: Facilities Construction Consultants Ltd
Company Position Title: Senior Reality Capture Tech
Country: Trinidad and Tobago
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Scanning With BLK

Post by dineshkimraj » Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:15 pm

We should have the scanner before the job so I should be able to do a practice run to ensure everything works properly.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”