Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Discuss all Autodesk ReCap Studio related issues here.
Post Reply
juanfraf
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:50 pm
Full Name: Juan
Company Details: IDP
Company Position Title: Laser Scaner Manager
Country: Spain
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Post by juanfraf » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:54 pm

Hello!

Someone know why when I click in the bubble in recap to watch the image it seem to be a 'comic'?

Is it possible that the image from RTC360 how is in HDR Recap can't be open propperly?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

TByers
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 7:19 pm
Full Name: Tyler D Byers
Company Details: PCL Constructors LTD
Company Position Title: Field Coordinator
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Post by TByers » Fri Sep 13, 2019 2:35 pm

Hi there!

We had a similar issue where there was seemingly black outlines around objects, and weird dark patches. To fix this, we changed the file type that we export our scans from SCENE to. The "comic" look was happening when we exported the ordered scans from .e57 file type. Once we switched to .fls and imported into RECAP, the problem was fixed.

Hope this helps!

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Post by gsisman » Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:09 pm

juanfraf wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:54 pm
Hello!

Someone know why when I click in the bubble in recap to watch the image it seem to be a 'comic'?

Is it possible that the image from RTC360 how is in HDR Recap can't be open properly?
If you are using Register 360 to export either ReCAP format or e57, Leica at this point does not export True Panos. They are Panos recreated and melded from Scanned colorized points, thus the black outlines and the black background where "sky" or "holes" no points were scanned. This is supposed to be resolved in the NEXT update according to Guy Cutting (Reg 360 Leica Manager- in an earlier post thread)

santiagomerluzzi
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 4:46 pm
Full Name: Santiago Merluzzi
Company Details: GEINCOR SAC
Company Position Title: Field Manager
Country: Perú
Skype Name: santiago.merluzzi
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Post by santiagomerluzzi » Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:29 pm

We also have this look in Faro SCENE software, but it's because of the new option "HD Scan colorization"...
FARO_Scan_035.png
SharedScreenshot.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
caddrafting2013
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:20 am
Full Name: Adam
Company Details: ADB3D Pty Ltd
Company Position Title: Director - Revit and Laser scanning
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Sydney
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Post by caddrafting2013 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:41 am

TByers wrote:Hi there!

We had a similar issue where there was seemingly black outlines around objects, and weird dark patches. To fix this, we changed the file type that we export our scans from SCENE to. The "comic" look was happening when we exported the ordered scans from .e57 file type. Once we switched to .fls and imported into RECAP, the problem was fixed.

Hope this helps!

I agree this is the work around fix


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Leandre Robitaille
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Post by Leandre Robitaille » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:28 pm

hi santiagomerluzzi, what OP is showing is a rendered 360picture from the pointcloud in recap, hence the missing edges as this is filtered in the cloud processing. What you are showing is the LI-HDR that helps with dark or bright areas in the picture mixing the intensity of the laser with the picture(note that this is not HDR but a different concept, LI-HDR). You would get the same result as op if exporting as e57 instead of fls.

As for anyone showing the Scene software, OP is talking about the RTC360 that is not compatible with Scene.

As for OP, until Leica releases an update, you can't export pictures from cyclone or register360. This was a major issue for us when we were first presented the RTC360 (along with its huge file size, proprietary flash drive, horrible picture, bad inclinometer).

Only time will tell!

Good luck

jamesworrell
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:45 pm
Full Name: James Worrell
Company Details: Bennett and Francis
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Post by jamesworrell » Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:48 pm

Leandre Robitaille wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:28 pm
As for OP, until Leica releases an update, you can't export pictures from cyclone or register360. This was a major issue for us when we were first presented the RTC360 (along with its huge file size, proprietary flash drive, horrible picture, bad inclinometer).
For what it is worth - an export of an E57 when you right-click on a scanworld "root" gives you the options to include images.

I don't believe Recap at this point honours the included images. Haven't tried this for a while.

Also bear in mind, the last time I tried it (might have changed), the export from scanworld root didn't export the cleaned (set to default) scans, but the original scans.

Leandre Robitaille
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Watching Image in Recap from RTC360 as a 'comic'

Post by Leandre Robitaille » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:18 am

Oh james I didnt know that(I did not work with Cyclone latelly). Scene does however honor images included in a e57 files. But there is a catch, it will only work with Scene 5.5 (not 6.0 and +). So technically you could import that e57 in scene 5.5 and export a fls file. Recap will import the images then, but there might be some quality lost. I don't know why they removed this in later versions tough.


Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk


Post Reply

Return to “Autodesk ReCap Studio”