Pointcloud cleaning in Cyclone 9.4

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
6R07K
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:43 am
Full Name: Ben
Company Details: Land Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: No

Pointcloud cleaning in Cyclone 9.4

Post by 6R07K » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:29 am

Hi,

I'm cleaning 25 scans done with a P40 in a fabrication workshop. The computer doesn't seem to be pushed for resources or locking up but I'm finding it seems to get progressively slower even when deleting small fences of data. Yet at the start the bulk of the workshop could be deleted quickly. I've tried reopening cyclone and rebooting but it doesn't seem to make much difference. Am I missing something to improve performance in the modelspace when cleaning?

jamesworrell
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:45 pm
Full Name: James Worrell
Company Details: Bennett and Francis
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Pointcloud cleaning in Cyclone 9.4

Post by jamesworrell » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:00 am

Hi Ben,

Are you also modelling as you go? Check your modelspace info and see if the cloud count still = 25 .. or if you are doing something to segment the cloud to create new clouds.

Over time you can end up with thousands of little clouds - unifying will sort it - but you may have a need in your workflow to use structured data, so beware.

FWIW I tend to favour cleaning the individual clouds prior to registration for some cleaning tasks .. smooth surface still in the final registration is easier .. the variety of fence tools are good either way.

Rikore
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:48 pm
Full Name: Bruce Yager
Company Details: Rikore Geomatics
Company Position Title: Department Head
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Pointcloud cleaning in Cyclone 9.4

Post by Rikore » Wed Aug 14, 2019 11:42 am

Ben,
Seen this happen when the storage area for the temp files on your drive does not have enough space left. Check the space. If the scans are say 50GB, then you need to have 100 to 150GB free on the temp files drive. This can cause Cyclone to slow as the space fills.

6R07K
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:43 am
Full Name: Ben
Company Details: Land Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Pointcloud cleaning in Cyclone 9.4

Post by 6R07K » Thu Aug 15, 2019 12:16 am

Hi,

Modelspace info still has the same cloud count and cyclone temp dir is a 1TB SSD with 800GB free.

jmiller2103
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 4:16 am
Full Name: Jay Miller
Company Details: Madigan Surveying
Company Position Title: Surveyor draftsman 3D modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Pointcloud cleaning in Cyclone 9.4

Post by jmiller2103 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 4:17 am

6R07K wrote:
Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:29 am
Hi,

I'm cleaning 25 scans done with a P40 in a fabrication workshop. The computer doesn't seem to be pushed for resources or locking up but I'm finding it seems to get progressively slower even when deleting small fences of data. Yet at the start the bulk of the workshop could be deleted quickly. I've tried reopening cyclone and rebooting but it doesn't seem to make much difference. Am I missing something to improve performance in the modelspace when cleaning?
Ben,

From experience I have found being selective when cleaning your point cloud is very beneficial, the smaller number of fences you do the faster cyclone will run, every cut reduces your speed dramatically even on a powerful machine as cyclone never forgets anything including points deleted. As stated unifying the pointlcoud would bring you back to square one and speed things up, otherwise you are working in a segmented pointcloud if that makes sense.

Jay

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3817
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Pointcloud cleaning in Cyclone 9.4

Post by Matt Young » Thu Aug 15, 2019 7:19 am

When you delete points in Cyclone you are actually just masking them, they are still there. As you clean/mask more and more points, all of the masks have to remain in memory. To speed up the process, Unify, optimize and compact the database.
If you want to make something simple, then take one thing away that still allows you to do the job. Don't add two more things, and say they both make it easier.

6R07K
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:43 am
Full Name: Ben
Company Details: Land Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Pointcloud cleaning in Cyclone 9.4

Post by 6R07K » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:09 am

Thanks everyone

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”