BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
designmule
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:25 pm
Full Name: Matt McDonald
Company Details: BRR Architecture
Company Position Title: Associate
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by designmule » Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:16 pm

I recently completed my first job using Cyclone Field 360 and the BLK 360. I was pretty rushed so I decided to take advantage of the ability to turn photo capture off. When I later went to register the scans the vast majority were wildly off level. Now I'm sure I didn't check the bubble level on every single scan but I checked it on the majority. I was able to level the scans in Register 360 and everything worked out ok but it took forever.

As a follow up test, I did some scanning in our office with the tripod intentionally off level. Scans which had photo capture enabled came into Register 360 leveled, scans which had photo capture disabled were not level. In some locations I ran the exact same location with photos on and off and the ones with photos on were level while the ones with photos off were not leveled.

Scanner was running firmware 1.2.2.

I wouldn't think this is expected behavior. Anyone else have experience with this?

User avatar
geomontgomery
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:23 pm
Full Name: George Montgomery
Company Details: ECE Design
Company Position Title: Support Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by geomontgomery » Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:28 pm

Hey Design,

There's a new firmware update out of 1.2.3 here viewtopic.php?f=19&t=15057

It does not sound like expected behavior, like you said. Try the firmware update, then for the scans not leveled you'll have to level them manually in REG 360.

The intentional off level scans are fine - the BLK360 levels the scan data via IMU so you don't have to level it. You can have the scanner upside down and scan and it should produce leveled results. If there's a bug w/o image data then that needs to be tracked down by your Leica support provider.

JonMag
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Jonathan Magal
Company Details: GeoMJ
Company Position Title: Géomètre
Country: Belgique

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by JonMag » Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:10 am

geomontgomery wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:28 pm
Hey Design,

There's a new firmware update out of 1.2.3 here viewtopic.php?f=19&t=15057

It does not sound like expected behavior, like you said. Try the firmware update, then for the scans not leveled you'll have to level them manually in REG 360.

The intentional off level scans are fine - the BLK360 levels the scan data via IMU so you don't have to level it. You can have the scanner upside down and scan and it should produce leveled results. If there's a bug w/o image data then that needs to be tracked down by your Leica support provider.
Hi, I just start with REG360. How can I level manually my scans with REG360?

Thank you.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1742
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by pburrows145 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:11 am

Use the tilt-function in visual alignment (side view) to modify the level if needed. (Or use targets, with or without control).

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1742
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by pburrows145 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:12 am

Have you completed the online training courses for REG360 here: https://learning.leica-geosystems.com/login/index.php

ScottErnst
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 2:31 am
Full Name: Scott Ernst
Company Details: Scott Ernst Custom Woodworks
Company Position Title: owner
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by ScottErnst » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:21 pm

Hey Paul, maybe you can help me out with accessing https://learning.leica-geosystems.com/login/index.php. I'm in the US. I have a valid CCP for Register 360 but when I try to access the online training courses I get a message that I don't have a valid CCP or that it is expired. I've called several people at Leica US about how to get logged in to access the training resources and have been told that it's just a European thing and that I need to sign up for training for $300/hour or something like that. Can you tell me how to get access to these training materials? Thanks in advance.

tbwester
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 886
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Thad Wester
Company Details: WeWork
Company Position Title: Head of Reality Capture
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: SC/NYC

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by tbwester » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:01 pm

IMU works only during image capture FYI.

Just do one with color, and use that as your home scan world... Will make the rest level.

User avatar
TimJervis
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:56 pm
Full Name: Tim Jervis
Company Details: Global Survey
Company Position Title: Business Development Manager
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by TimJervis » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:11 am

ScottErnst wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:21 pm
Hey Paul, maybe you can help me out with accessing https://learning.leica-geosystems.com/login/index.php. I'm in the US. I have a valid CCP for Register 360 but when I try to access the online training courses I get a message that I don't have a valid CCP or that it is expired. I've called several people at Leica US about how to get logged in to access the training resources and have been told that it's just a European thing and that I need to sign up for training for $300/hour or something like that. Can you tell me how to get access to these training materials? Thanks in advance.
Hey Scott,

Have you registered your Register360 license in MyWorld? You need to do this before you get access to the online training. At the bottom of your MyWorld account there should be an option to add products - put your EID in here and if you're within CCP you should get access to the online training.
Regards,

Tim

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1742
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by pburrows145 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:03 pm

tbwester wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:01 pm
IMU works only during image capture FYI.

Just do one with color, and use that as your home scan world... Will make the rest level.
I am in the process of checking this Thad - It was my understanding that this has changed with latest FW so even with images off the IMU reading is taken. I will report back once I have confirmation. But yes, your suggestion would work for the time-being.

designmule
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:25 pm
Full Name: Matt McDonald
Company Details: BRR Architecture
Company Position Title: Associate
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: BLK360: Disabling Photos Seems to Disable IMU

Post by designmule » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:22 pm

geomontgomery wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:28 pm
Hey Design,

There's a new firmware update out of 1.2.3 here viewtopic.php?f=19&t=15057

It does not sound like expected behavior, like you said. Try the firmware update, then for the scans not leveled you'll have to level them manually in REG 360.

The intentional off level scans are fine - the BLK360 levels the scan data via IMU so you don't have to level it. You can have the scanner upside down and scan and it should produce leveled results. If there's a bug w/o image data then that needs to be tracked down by your Leica support provider.
Sorry I'm slow getting back to these suggestions (my BLK was out in the field). Updating the firmware does not change the behavior.

Thanks for the tip.
Matt

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”