Black Points via PTG

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Carbix
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:36 am
Full Name: Daniel Loney
Company Details: Excelsior Measuring
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Black Points via PTG

Post by Carbix » Thu Jul 11, 2019 2:31 am

Anyone getting black points from RTC360>Reg360>PTG>Recap?
Daniel Loney - Owner
Excelsior Measuring inc.
Vancouver - Okanagan - Calgary
www.ExcelsiorLevel.com

DANIEL_HUNT
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:18 am
Full Name: DANIEL HUNT
Company Details: SURVEYING
Company Position Title: SURVEYOR
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Black Points via PTG

Post by DANIEL_HUNT » Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:24 am

i have just finished a very disappointing email battle with between leica and autodesk about this.
please anyone correct me if i am wrong, but as far as i have been told / worked out, recap does not support leica rtc 360 imagery so you get more of a perspective view of the point cloud in your "real view", the black outlines of objects are where colour has not been assigned to the pixels. leica blame autodesk for not supprting their formats and autodesk say this is as the software dev has intended it to work.
i am at a loss to any solution still. :cry:

Chadderz
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:43 am
Full Name: JF Chadburn
Company Details: Water Industry Design
Company Position Title: Mechanical Design Manager
Country: UK

Re: Black Points via PTG

Post by Chadderz » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:05 am

In the same boat - very frustraiting. I used to use the Faro X130 and then later the S150, but switched to the RTC for speed. The imagry and scans look great in register 360, but rubbish in Recap. The real view panoramic photos from the Faro are so usefull as you can pick out the fiest detail e.g. writing on name plates or pipes. The results from the RTC are blury and seem to swap any bright pixels for black.
I have also noticed the quality of registration is not great, infact ive had better results by re registering using Recap pro.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone”