Blk360 or Faro S120

Trimble SX10, Leica BLK360, C5, C10, P15, P16, P20, P30, P40, P50, HDS8800, HDS8400, Riegl VZ6000, VZ4000, VZ2000, VZ1000 & VZ400i, Topcon GLS2000S, GLS1500, etc
mikajahkola
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 9:27 pm
Full Name: Mika Jahkola
Company Details: Myymore Oy
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Finland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Blk360 or Faro S120

Post by mikajahkola » Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:06 pm

I don't know if Scene can register BLK scans. You don't get any .fls files from BLK360 but the scan files are in a proprietary format .BLK.

I have registered BLK scans in Recap and I also tested registering in Cyclone Register 360 and Trimble Realworks.
I have tried two alternative workflows:
1. Load scans in the Recap app in an ipad, pre-register while scanning, then load the scans to Recap in a PC and re-register if necessary.
2. Load the scans directly from the scanner to PC via Leica BLK360 Data Manager and open the files in Cyclone Register 360 and register there.
Trimble Realworks cannot read .BLK files but there is a workaround: load the files in Recap, then export from Recap as an .e57 file (complete mode). Open the .e57 in Realworks and register or refine registration there.

User avatar
Felix_the_Cat
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:44 pm
Full Name: Felix
Company Details: Lockheed Martin
Company Position Title: Senior Member Engineering Staff
Country: USA
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Blk360 or Faro S120

Post by Felix_the_Cat » Sat Nov 09, 2019 5:52 am

Just want to throw this out there

If it is BLACK in color

The BLK360 won’t scan it

Just a hole where point data should be

Kind of a dealbreaker right there for any serious scan job as far as we are concerned

It’s a toy

Not a tool


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Pulse Based Scanners”