RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
marty
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:00 pm
Full Name: David Marty
Company Details: Ig group SA
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Swiss
Linkedin Profile: Yes

RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by marty » Tue May 14, 2019 9:13 pm

Hi,
I'm looking for a big project in a church and I need to generate a mesh with the texture.

I vould like use the photo that are taken with the RTC360.

Somebody have already experience with that ? How should be export / use the photo from the RTC.

Other question : wich have experience with a good mesh software that are able to mesh a very big pointcloud. 3DReshapper are good but I think that we could found a better sofware, geomagic, ... ?

I have 3DReshapper

Best regards

David

User avatar
TimJervis
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:56 pm
Full Name: Tim Jervis
Company Details: Global Survey
Company Position Title: Business Development Manager
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by TimJervis » Tue May 14, 2019 9:35 pm

Hi David,

In 3DReshaper you can texture from an e57 or LandXML through the "Image" ribbon and selecting the "Texture Atlas" function. This will read the images from those files and texture the mesh with them - it works pretty well.

Not sure about other packages.

Hope this helps!
Regards,

Tim

marty
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:00 pm
Full Name: David Marty
Company Details: Ig group SA
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Swiss
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by marty » Wed May 15, 2019 7:27 am

Hi Tim

Thank you very much for your answer.

I didnt' know that the image were stocked into the *.e57. I thought that only the points are colored in Cyclone with the image and then with the export on e57, the picture are lost.

all images are stocked into the e57 ?

i'm looking this solution and should be good. I'll ask a licence demo for a extend licence.

Bests regards

David

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1724
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by pburrows145 » Wed May 15, 2019 9:53 am

Tim is correct - the images should come through into Reshaper from Cyclone with e57 files. You can also "Colour Meshes from points".

Here is an example I did with this option (rather than using the texture atlas): https://sketchfab.com/3d-models/fountai ... e88b22d7e5



Not as crisp as using the full resolution textures, but still a nice result...

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1724
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by pburrows145 » Wed May 15, 2019 10:20 am

https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/ur ... 4725422080

See this post from Nathan in the UK

marty
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:00 pm
Full Name: David Marty
Company Details: Ig group SA
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Swiss
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by marty » Thu May 16, 2019 6:03 pm

Hi

Thanks for the informations !

I'll tray in my next project

Regards

David

ericguizzetti
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:56 pm
Full Name: Eric Guizzetti
Company Details: Construction and Engineering
Company Position Title: RealityCapture
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by ericguizzetti » Fri May 17, 2019 9:25 pm

pburrows145 wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 9:53 am
Tim is correct - the images should come through into Reshaper from Cyclone with e57 files. You can also "Colour Meshes from points".

Here is an example I did with this option (rather than using the texture atlas): https://sketchfab.com/3d-models/fountai ... e88b22d7e5



Not as crisp as using the full resolution textures, but still a nice result...
damn thats epic
Eric Guizzetti
DPR Construction
San Diego

#BLKRoadtrip
#RTC360
#RTCroadtrip

www.dpr.com

ericguizzetti
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:56 pm
Full Name: Eric Guizzetti
Company Details: Construction and Engineering
Company Position Title: RealityCapture
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by ericguizzetti » Fri May 17, 2019 9:27 pm

marty wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 9:13 pm
Hi,
I'm looking for a big project in a church and I need to generate a mesh with the texture.

I vould like use the photo that are taken with the RTC360.

Somebody have already experience with that ? How should be export / use the photo from the RTC.

Other question : wich have experience with a good mesh software that are able to mesh a very big pointcloud. 3DReshapper are good but I think that we could found a better sofware, geomagic, ... ?

I have 3DReshapper

Best regards

David
I just did the Seattle coliseum with the RTC360 and Nikon D850. Image quality is insane. You can zoom in and see every scratch. You might want to rent one.
Eric Guizzetti
DPR Construction
San Diego

#BLKRoadtrip
#RTC360
#RTCroadtrip

www.dpr.com

marty
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:00 pm
Full Name: David Marty
Company Details: Ig group SA
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Swiss
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by marty » Mon May 20, 2019 1:35 pm

Hi Thank for the informations
But how do you combine the pictures with the Nikon and the mesh ?

Have you made a texture mesh ? If yes, it's possible to see an exemple ?

Best Regard

Groothedde-ing
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:56 am
Full Name: Pascal Groothedde
Company Details: Architectural engineering company
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: the Netherlands
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC360 use the image to texture the mesh

Post by Groothedde-ing » Wed May 22, 2019 1:39 pm

I'm also curious about the workflow of 3D reshaper and meshing RTC360 data with DSLR images.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”