RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
lvrenn
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:56 pm
Full Name: Lucas van Rennes
Company Details: GEOSCAN
Company Position Title: GEOSCAN
Country: Nederland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by lvrenn » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:10 pm

We currently rented the RTC 360, and we have made some scans and on the tablet with have pre-aligned the data.

The fastest way to produce a complete pointcloud model of all scans is to use Cyclone 360, only problem there is the accuracy. We normally use a Leica P40 and perform registration in Cyclone. This generates an accuracy of 1mm/2mm. From the report in 360 you can see that the accuracy between clouds varies between 1mm and sometimes 8mm or 9mm.

Now we have sone a big project with the RTC, and it would be nice if we could pre-align the data, and perhaps refine it with Cyclone. Since this seems to be the only way you can achieve and certify 1-2mm accuracy.

The way we would need to work now to get 1-2mm overall is register every scan from the RTC manually in Cyclone, which is 2 or more days of work. We cannot delete the 8mm and 9mm registrations since it contains important data,

Does anybody have a workflowfor this? Thanks for sharing.

Lucas

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1680
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Contact:

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by stevenramsey » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:17 pm

Just import to Cyclone it will still use the pre alignment and register it like a P40 except it will already be in the right place to start with
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven@4DMax.co.uk
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1702
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by pburrows145 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:31 pm

stevenramsey wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:17 pm
Just import to Cyclone it will still use the pre alignment and register it like a P40 except it will already be in the right place to start with
Use the "Import Register 360 Project" option if you want to run additional registration workflows within Cyclone CORE...

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1680
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Contact:

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by stevenramsey » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:31 pm

good point well made
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven@4DMax.co.uk
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

lvrenn
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:56 pm
Full Name: Lucas van Rennes
Company Details: GEOSCAN
Company Position Title: GEOSCAN
Country: Nederland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by lvrenn » Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:05 pm

Ok thanks for the quick answer and support. We will check it out further.

Tookie
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:43 pm
Full Name: Iain Took
Company Details: WMP
Company Position Title: Dogsbody
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by Tookie » Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:00 pm

Paul,

can you explain how the bundle optimisation works?

I have just 'fixed' a bad registration in Cyclone core that was completely out in Reg 360, the cloud to cloud residuals were great but the global residuals were out visually and reported as 0.750 metres! (then coloured green because the C to C was 0.012).

I know I can turn of the auto optimise but that seems a bit counter intuitive and I have to explain to the team what's going on with the auto alignment.

Tookie.

tbwester
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 878
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Thad Wester
Company Details: WeWork
Company Position Title: Head of Reality Capture
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: SC/NYC

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by tbwester » Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:04 am

just import directly into cyclone, use the auto align function on import and your good to go.

Rikore
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:48 pm
Full Name: Bruce Yager
Company Details: Rikore Geomatics
Company Position Title: Department Head
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by Rikore » Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:42 pm

In testing different scanners, the P40 is almost twice as accurate as the RTC 360. I doubt that you will achieve 1 -2 mm accuracy with the RTC 360. As far as I know, the P series are the only Leica scanners that are called survey grade accuracy. In the USA 0.029 of a foot is considered survey grade. While the RTC has great qualities, I have not found it to be tight in registrations compared to our P40's. You should check the spec sheets for the accuracy. Yes the RTC is faster, lighter and less costly than a P series, but remember, you get what you pay for. Just a few thoughts.

ericguizzetti
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:56 pm
Full Name: Eric Guizzetti
Company Details: Leica Dealer
Company Position Title: Tech OP
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by ericguizzetti » Sat May 25, 2019 7:18 pm

Rikore wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:42 pm
In testing different scanners, the P40 is almost twice as accurate as the RTC 360. I doubt that you will achieve 1 -2 mm accuracy with the RTC 360. As far as I know, the P series are the only Leica scanners that are called survey grade accuracy. In the USA 0.029 of a foot is considered survey grade. While the RTC has great qualities, I have not found it to be tight in registrations compared to our P40's. You should check the spec sheets for the accuracy. Yes the RTC is faster, lighter and less costly than a P series, but remember, you get what you pay for. Just a few thoughts.
The RTC is fast and agile, mean to scan locations close together. The more often you scan, the more accurate you make your scan.

The P40 is large, slow and accurate at distance. honestly useless for building construction.

separation of scan points can be filled in. your point is pointless.
Eric Guizzetti
Datum Tech Solutions
Los Angeles

#BLKRoadtrip
#RTC360
#RTCroadtrip

www.datumtechsolutions.com

VXGrid
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am
Full Name: Martin Graner
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: Research and Development
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: RTC 360 scans all registered at 1-2mm

Post by VXGrid » Mon May 27, 2019 3:47 pm

ericguizzetti wrote:
Sat May 25, 2019 7:18 pm
Rikore wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:42 pm
In testing different scanners, the P40 is almost twice as accurate as the RTC 360. I doubt that you will achieve 1 -2 mm accuracy with the RTC 360. As far as I know, the P series are the only Leica scanners that are called survey grade accuracy. In the USA 0.029 of a foot is considered survey grade. While the RTC has great qualities, I have not found it to be tight in registrations compared to our P40's. You should check the spec sheets for the accuracy. Yes the RTC is faster, lighter and less costly than a P series, but remember, you get what you pay for. Just a few thoughts.
The RTC is fast and agile, mean to scan locations close together. The more often you scan, the more accurate you make your scan.

The P40 is large, slow and accurate at distance. honestly useless for building construction.

separation of scan points can be filled in. your point is pointless.
Scanning more often doesn't make it more accurate.
You can increase the Registration accuracy by increasing the overlapping areas between scans (using more identical points / bigger planes for the Registration).
Scanning the same room again and again from different positions will just stagger scanner noise (single point accuracy) in the Registration. The result will of course not be completely off, but a single scan result is always better than two Registered scans from the same object.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”