P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
User avatar
steves01x
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by steves01x » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:50 pm

Okay sounds like it's a good inbetween solution as we usually use istar with p40 on rgb jobs and separate photogrammetry with medium format!

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by pburrows145 » Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:27 pm

We will offer (amongst many other improvements to imaging) export of panoramas to *.EXR and *.PNG in the next releases of Cyclone and Cyclone REGISTER 360... :geek:

User avatar
TimJervis
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:56 pm
Full Name: Tim Jervis
Company Details: Global Survey
Company Position Title: Business Development Manager
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by TimJervis » Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:46 pm

pburrows145 wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:27 pm
We will offer (amongst many other improvements to imaging) export of panoramas to *.EXR and *.PNG in the next releases of Cyclone and Cyclone REGISTER 360... :geek:
I'm liking the sound of these new feature releases Paul!
Regards,

Tim

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by pburrows145 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:55 am

TimJervis wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:46 pm
pburrows145 wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:27 pm
We will offer (amongst many other improvements to imaging) export of panoramas to *.EXR and *.PNG in the next releases of Cyclone and Cyclone REGISTER 360... :geek:
I'm liking the sound of these new feature releases Paul!
I have to be careful... treading the line of what I can/can't say very steadily 8-)

Anyway, some seriously cool SW/FW updates incoming!

User avatar
steves01x
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by steves01x » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:59 am

Is there a rough data / month for its release?

Can we get an improvement on the Ortho Image creation and a batch export of individual scan worlds from Cyclone Register please - even if it required an upgrade to Publisher Pro im sure everyone that exports scans would pay for it! :D

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by pburrows145 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:08 am

April... probably towards month end. That would be my guess. There will be a webinar from the BU team in San Ramon showing this all off very soon!

There are improvement to Ortho-image creation also in this release, but I have not tested these personally.

Why do you need the individual scans... where is the target software? (leading question...)

User avatar
steves01x
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by steves01x » Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:07 pm

pburrows145 wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:08 am
Why do you need the individual scans... where is the target software? (leading question...)
Not Cloudworx :lol:

N4CE, Pointools, Edgewise, Recap etc (im sure there are plenty more people on here use)

Almost every single larger job/ frameworks using English Heritage the deliverable is the raw data plus the individual scans named the same in ptx and recap format.

Chris06
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 2:19 am
Full Name: Chris
Company Details: Not Applicable
Company Position Title: Not Applicable

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by Chris06 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:04 am

pburrows145 wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:27 pm
We will offer (amongst many other improvements to imaging) export of panoramas to *.EXR and *.PNG in the next releases of Cyclone and Cyclone REGISTER 360... :geek:
Paul, this sounds like a great feature which we would really appreciate. Please, please, please can we have a batch export of all scans so we don't have to open every individual scan world and select 'export panorama'? That would be the ultimate frustration...

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by pburrows145 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:22 am

Chris06 wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:04 am
pburrows145 wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:27 pm
We will offer (amongst many other improvements to imaging) export of panoramas to *.EXR and *.PNG in the next releases of Cyclone and Cyclone REGISTER 360... :geek:
Paul, this sounds like a great feature which we would really appreciate. Please, please, please can we have a batch export of all scans so we don't have to open every individual scan world and select 'export panorama'? That would be the ultimate frustration...
Of course... that's the plan :ugeek:

JeffT
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:23 pm
Full Name: Jeff T
Company Details: Geospatial
Company Position Title: Engineering Technician
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: P40 & RTC360 Image Size / Cyclone Image Quality

Post by JeffT » Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:34 pm

Having an option to export the panorama is great. Now if we had the option to edit that image in Photoshop (to correct exposure, contrast, white balance etc) and re-import to Cyclone that would be awesome.

Most times we find that using a manual exposure is far faster than using automatic exposure. An auto exposure image collection with a 1:49 scan on a P40 can sometimes take 12-15 minutes in dimly lit interior areas. Using a manual exposure of 550-600ms gives a result that is pretty comparable and only takes 7.5-8 minutes total.

In general I would always rather use office time to correct image exposure using a batch image processing program like Photoshop, than use a ton of extra time waiting on the scanner in the field to auto expose.

Currently you can adjust image files before importing the scans by batch adjusting the raw image files in the raw data folders. It would be much easier to do this with one single panorama for each station and then re-import the image.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”