Noob getting slightly desperate

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
Peder
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:58 am
Full Name: Peder Lindbom
Company Details: AIX
Company Position Title: Architect
Country: Sweden
Linkedin Profile: No

Noob getting slightly desperate

Post by Peder » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:13 am

Hello!
I have recently attempted to get into scanning. I am doing a rather ambitious project for a first. 430 scans of a Heritage theatre building. It has seven stories and I am attempting to register BLK scans with Cloud to Cloud in Register 360. All was going fairly well and I was getting close to finishing the project. I set the project up with different sitemaps for the different stories and also sitemaps for the stairwells (4) Also a sitemap for the exterior.

I managed to register everything with high quality -less than a cm. But when I attempted to join the last two bundles -interior and exterior everything warped and all my nice high quality links on the interior were suddenly poor. I notice that the level of the scans seems to have been thrown off but even if I remove the links to the exterior bundle and re optimize I am now unable to get the registration back to normal.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Noob getting slightly desperate

Post by pburrows145 » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:24 am

Lock the bundles before merging them... this will stop any "warping" as you state.

You should be able to remove the links you created and the original registrations will be "happy once more"... check with the TruSlicer tool before proceeding.

Have you reviewed the e-learning content here? https://learning.leica-geosystems.com/login/index.php

You need a MyWorld account and an active CCP on your software to access HDS training course material.

Peder
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:58 am
Full Name: Peder Lindbom
Company Details: AIX
Company Position Title: Architect
Country: Sweden
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Noob getting slightly desperate

Post by Peder » Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:22 am

Thanks for the tip. I managed to get my project back. Couldnt exactly say how as I was pulling at all the levers ;-) I will take your suggestions to heart for future projects though!

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1667
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Noob getting slightly desperate

Post by stevenramsey » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:27 pm

Also try using the versioning tool before each time you do a major operation easy to go back one step.
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven@4DMax.co.uk
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

Peder
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:58 am
Full Name: Peder Lindbom
Company Details: AIX
Company Position Title: Architect
Country: Sweden
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Noob getting slightly desperate

Post by Peder » Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:05 pm

Yes -but it is tricky in that after creating a new version you have to manually activate it otherwise you are still working in the older version. And just to make matters worse -when you close the project and Open it again you are automatically in the version with the highest number which may or may not be the latest version. I cannot emphasize enough the desperation, confusion and frustration that this has caused. At least now i know...

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Thread about Versioning in Register 360

Post by gsisman » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:47 pm

stevenramsey wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:27 pm
Also try using the versioning tool before each time you do a major operation easy to go back one step.
I will use this thread as a jump off to VERSIONING in Register 360.
Questions about that.
Either I am missing something or does the versioning ONLY affects the details of the links and not the clipping?
I would like to have more than one version with different levels of clipping (and thus "honored" output to Jetstream).
It appears, however, if I have an Unclipped version, then create a new version, essentially making a copy and begin to do more clipping and cleaning, that when I go back to the previous version and activate it, that the clipping from the second version is applied to the other versions?
Is this the way it is SUPPOSED to work?
Not sure either whether the "Clips" or "Hides" are honored in the E57 output either. They definitely aren't ever deleted from the database as far as I can see, so there is no real way to reduce the size of your Register 360 database? except to maybe export the project to E57 (if and when Clips and hides are not included in the export) and then "Re-import " that E57 back into another Register 360 project?
Any body have any clarity on this?

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Thread about Versioning in Register 360

Post by gsisman » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:58 pm

gsisman wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:47 pm
stevenramsey wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:27 pm
Also try using the versioning tool before each time you do a major operation easy to go back one step.
I will use this thread as a jump off to VERSIONING in Register 360.
Questions about that.
Either I am missing something or does the versioning ONLY affects the details of the links and not the clipping?
I would like to have more than one version with different levels of clipping (and thus "honored" output to Jetstream).
It appears, however, if I have an Unclipped version, then create a new version, essentially making a copy and begin to do more clipping and cleaning, that when I go back to the previous version and activate it, that the clipping from the second version is applied to the other versions?
Is this the way it is SUPPOSED to work?
Not sure either whether the "Clips" or "Hides" are honored in the E57 output either. They definitely aren't ever deleted from the database as far as I can see, so there is no real way to reduce the size of your Register 360 database? except to maybe export the project to E57 (if and when Clips and hides are not included in the export) and then "Re-import " that E57 back into another Register 360 project?
Any body have any clarity on this?
Another questions I've run across that I hope some Leica Software guy can answer.
What is really happening when you version. Intuitively I think of a version as possibly a Root base of data with delta changes to it. Whether that be in more set-ups added, different control used, different clips made, etc. That doesn't seem to be the case.
We had a large double parking lot with about 60 setups. We had a project with 4 versions in it, archived it -sent it to a consultant who added a version (5) tweaked the registration a good bit- no added setups, did some clips and unclips to get more C2C registration info, then archived it back to us.
I finally cleared out a version and deleted half of another version and made final archive. All three *.RAF files were significantly different in size? Why. The one that should be the smallest (last one) seems to be largest?


Versions_in_REgister_360_2019-03-12_1440.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Thread about Versioning in Register 360

Post by pburrows145 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:25 am

gsisman wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:58 pm
gsisman wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:47 pm
stevenramsey wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:27 pm
Also try using the versioning tool before each time you do a major operation easy to go back one step.
I will use this thread as a jump off to VERSIONING in Register 360.
Questions about that.
Either I am missing something or does the versioning ONLY affects the details of the links and not the clipping?
I would like to have more than one version with different levels of clipping (and thus "honored" output to Jetstream).
It appears, however, if I have an Unclipped version, then create a new version, essentially making a copy and begin to do more clipping and cleaning, that when I go back to the previous version and activate it, that the clipping from the second version is applied to the other versions?
Is this the way it is SUPPOSED to work?
Not sure either whether the "Clips" or "Hides" are honored in the E57 output either. They definitely aren't ever deleted from the database as far as I can see, so there is no real way to reduce the size of your Register 360 database? except to maybe export the project to E57 (if and when Clips and hides are not included in the export) and then "Re-import " that E57 back into another Register 360 project?
Any body have any clarity on this?
Another questions I've run across that I hope some Leica Software guy can answer.
What is really happening when you version. Intuitively I think of a version as possibly a Root base of data with delta changes to it. Whether that be in more set-ups added, different control used, different clips made, etc. That doesn't seem to be the case.
We had a large double parking lot with about 60 setups. We had a project with 4 versions in it, archived it -sent it to a consultant who added a version (5) tweaked the registration a good bit- no added setups, did some clips and unclips to get more C2C registration info, then archived it back to us.
I finally cleared out a version and deleted half of another version and made final archive. All three *.RAF files were significantly different in size? Why. The one that should be the smallest (last one) seems to be largest?



Versions_in_REgister_360_2019-03-12_1440.png
My feeling is that nothing is really ever deleted...just hidden. Does it really matter? I have never worried about this... you are going to export to another format out the back-end of REG360 anyway (or import the project to Cyclone CORE). So are you just concerned about the size of your archives?

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Thread about Versioning in Register 360

Post by gsisman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:33 pm

pburrows145 wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:25 am
gsisman wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:58 pm
gsisman wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:47 pm


I will use this thread as a jump off to VERSIONING in Register 360.
Questions about that.
Either I am missing something or does the versioning ONLY affects the details of the links and not the clipping?
I would like to have more than one version with different levels of clipping (and thus "honored" output to Jetstream).
It appears, however, if I have an Unclipped version, then create a new version, essentially making a copy and begin to do more clipping and cleaning, that when I go back to the previous version and activate it, that the clipping from the second version is applied to the other versions?
Is this the way it is SUPPOSED to work?
Not sure either whether the "Clips" or "Hides" are honored in the E57 output either. They definitely aren't ever deleted from the database as far as I can see, so there is no real way to reduce the size of your Register 360 database? except to maybe export the project to E57 (if and when Clips and hides are not included in the export) and then "Re-import " that E57 back into another Register 360 project?
Any body have any clarity on this?
Another questions I've run across that I hope some Leica Software guy can answer.
What is really happening when you version. Intuitively I think of a version as possibly a Root base of data with delta changes to it. Whether that be in more set-ups added, different control used, different clips made, etc. That doesn't seem to be the case.
We had a large double parking lot with about 60 setups. We had a project with 4 versions in it, archived it -sent it to a consultant who added a version (5) tweaked the registration a good bit- no added setups, did some clips and unclips to get more C2C registration info, then archived it back to us.
I finally cleared out a version and deleted half of another version and made final archive. All three *.RAF files were significantly different in size? Why. The one that should be the smallest (last one) seems to be largest?



Versions_in_REgister_360_2019-03-12_1440.png
My feeling is that nothing is really ever deleted...just hidden. Does it really matter? I have never worried about this... you are going to export to another format out the back-end of REG360 anyway (or import the project to Cyclone CORE). So are you just concerned about the size of your archives?
Paul

We are a public agency and as such have archiving requirements for data that may exceed that of the private sector. Estimating storage size needed going forward as we incorporate more scan jobs etc.
Also we are building a library of scans for later retrieval for additional jobs that may arise from different departments for different purposes. Some jobs may be linked together by going back and exporting different formats, etc for the needs of the new project.

It's concerning because if I am playing with several versions and delete all of them except a final one, I am not expecting the Register 360 software to hold onto that old data internally -especially if I no longer have anyway of accessing it. What possible purpose could that serve? I guess I need to talk to Yuri in San Ramon...

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Noob getting slightly desperate

Post by pburrows145 » Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:46 pm

Like I said - I have a "feeling" that all the data is stored. Yuri/Guy will no doubt be able to shed some light on this topic.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”