Scene 2019 RAM

Discuss all FARO related issues here.
Post Reply
DoctaSayas
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:18 pm
Full Name: Caleb Sayers
Company Details: VIP AA
Company Position Title: Architectural Designer
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Scene 2019 RAM

Post by DoctaSayas » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:44 pm

I have a couple of questions about the RAM requirements for Scene and Scene Lt:

Is anyone out there successfully using Scene to register projects with 32gb of RAM ?

I know Faro Recommends 64gb, but that seems way high... I recently did a registration on a small project(40 scans) with ReCap on a machine with 16gb RAM. I Had a meeting with a guy who was using Cyclone Register 360, on a Microsoft Surface. Meanwhile, I couldne't even get Scene Lt to run on my current Laptop.

Is Scene just, like, a crazy resource hog ?

I like to work on a laptop, and I'm having a sort of hard time finding one with 4 slots for memory, any recommendations out there?

Also, is anyone using Cyclone Register 360, with a Faro scanner? Or is that a terrible idea?

Thanks!

User avatar
steves01x
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by steves01x » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:02 pm

Scan have laptops that come with 64gb ram - i have an old 3XS series one with 32gb and its never let me down!

sheartab
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:34 pm
Full Name: Sheartab
Company Details: Arch Eng Design Firm
Company Position Title: BIM Manager
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by sheartab » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:38 pm

I have 64gb, so I can't answer your question directly. But from what I've been told, SCENE was tuned to use every available resource it can access by design. So I can see why you are experiencing issues running other software while registering.

Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 754
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by Scott » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:15 pm

I've been using Scene since 2012 on a 27" iMac with 32gb of RAM -it's been fine, overall. Use 'Bootcamp' to partition the hard drive for Windows, and to access all 32gb. 64gb of RAM can't hurt. I bought the Mac just before I purchased the Focus, so I was forced to make it work (it has). It's nice to have both operating systems available.

User avatar
LPaulCook
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:42 pm
Full Name: L Paul Cook
Company Details: Land surveyor doing LiDAR
Company Position Title: President
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by LPaulCook » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:40 am

DELL has great workstation laptops. I have one i use with SCENE all the time. It has 64GB RAM. My 5 yr old DELL Desktop workstation has 128 GB RAM although it seldom uses over 64...
L. Paul Cook, PLS
www.LPC3D.com

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3798
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by Matt Young » Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:40 am

I've been registering data with Scene 2018 on 32 Gb RAM (can't install 2019 at the moment) and it's been fine, never really maxes out. If I try to auto register a large number of scans it might slow a bit. But I keep the numbers of scans in clusters to a minimum.
Arya Stark - Lots of people name their swords.
The Hound - Lots of c----s.

davegrrr
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:26 am
Full Name: David Gray
Company Details: Correvate Limited
Company Position Title: Head of Marketing
Country: United Kingdom
Skype Name: David Gray
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by davegrrr » Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:05 am

DoctaSayas wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:44 pm
I like to work on a laptop, and I'm having a sort of hard time finding one with 4 slots for memory, any recommendations out there?
Hi Caleb,

Reading your post I couldn't help thinking you would probably be a great candidate to enrol for our new Cloud Registration Programme which we will be launching any day now. Whilst it will require an internet connection, registering data in the cloud will free up your laptop to carry out less RAM-hungry tasks in Scene.

Drop me an email if you're interested and I'll get you hooked up: david.gray@correvate.co.uk

Best,
David
---
David Gray, Head of Marketing
Vercator software - fast, automatic point cloud registration • vercator.com
Made by Correvate Ltd

tengui
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:15 pm
Full Name: NEDELEC Tanguy
Company Details: Prigent et Associes
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Dinan

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by tengui » Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:13 am

I only have 16 GB and it's working all right. I assume it takes longer to register (C2C) when Scene can't load all the scans of a cluster in memory at once, because it has to do it bit by bit. I can see Scene loading a few scans, registering them, then unloading them before loading some other more.
So I would advise you go for 32 GB at least.

User avatar
JohnBunnFARO
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 6:18 pm
Full Name: John Bunn
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Account Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by JohnBunnFARO » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:33 am

DoctaSayas wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:44 pm
I have a couple of questions about the RAM requirements for Scene and Scene Lt:

Is anyone out there successfully using Scene to register projects with 32gb of RAM ?

I know Faro Recommends 64gb, but that seems way high... I recently did a registration on a small project(40 scans) with ReCap on a machine with 16gb RAM. I Had a meeting with a guy who was using Cyclone Register 360, on a Microsoft Surface. Meanwhile, I couldne't even get Scene Lt to run on my current Laptop.

Is Scene just, like, a crazy resource hog ?

I like to work on a laptop, and I'm having a sort of hard time finding one with 4 slots for memory, any recommendations out there?

Also, is anyone using Cyclone Register 360, with a Faro scanner? Or is that a terrible idea?

Thanks!
16GB is definitely enough to get a decent speed from Scene. Typically everything with processing/registering the data is all about your bottleneck.

For example, if you are reading scans from an external USB drive or off of the network, this will be your bottleneck and will slow the entire process down to a halt. I have had customers who took 44 hours to process and register a project, and when i made them switch to local hard drives, it took 1 hr and 12 mins.

Assuming you are working off of local hard drives, the next bottle-neck is typically memory. 16GB will bottleneck any 8-core CPU, but this is only because the latest version of Scene has been massively improved to take advantage of all CPU cores.

Long story short, 16GB will get the job done, and 32GB will have you flying. Yes, Scene is definitely a memory hog, but I actually want my processing/registration software to take all of my resources to get the job done as fast as possible. The bulk of time should be spent working with the registered data-set, not creating it.
Half Nerd, Half Amazing

pomped
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:55 pm
Full Name: Daniel Pompe
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Team Lead Software Engineering
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene 2019 RAM

Post by pomped » Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:02 am

To add some details:
The recommeded RAM size of 64GB wil ensure that you are able to work with scans also with extrem settings (e.g. full resolution scan + 5x HDR).
In general more memory will help for some kinds of tasks like processing or point cloud registration (top view based, cloud to cloud) so that more scans can be held in memory at the same time which will result in faster times.

Post Reply

Return to “FARO”