Cyclone Database-Scans not loading

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
bljbim
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 5:51 pm
Full Name: Boyd Johnson
Company Details: URS
Company Position Title: Architect and BIM Manager
Country: USA

Cyclone Database-Scans not loading

Post by bljbim » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:01 am

New to Cyclone. Scanned with P40. Have about 40 scans. Each new scanner position was given a new Station ID under setup on the P40.

When I try and import a new project into Cyclone via Database...then load ScanStation Project and the .prj file, the import hangs for hours and hours - let sit for 8+ hours with no improvement in % complete.
After I force Cyclone to quit via "End Process" via Task Manager then restart Cyclone Navigator, all the SW files appear to load but it appears the actual scan files (.bin) didn't load.

Is there anything i am doing wrong? and/or any recommendations.

Also - Any good Cyclone Tutorials available on the web??? I would pay good money for one! Lynda has a FARO SCENE one, was hoping there would be a Cyclone one available as well.

The attached image hopefully explains the issues.

Thanks,
BLJ
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

tomii7
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:38 am
Full Name: Tomasz Gerlich
Company Details: OutPut Precision Ltd
Company Position Title: Owner - 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: PL UK International
Skype Name: tomek.gerlich
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Re: Cyclone Database-Scans not loading

Post by tomii7 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:33 am

Hi Boyd,
On the network, we have some good tutorials.

You can go to this topic and Rob has posted some tutorials.
viewtopic.php?t=2087

- What's your spec of your machine?
- Where do you have a temp path?
- Also when you are importing the data, change from 'medium or low' to 'fast' and then your PC will use more resources.

Also Leica team ;-) is keen to help people. They have a very good support team!

Best,
TG
-----
Best Regards,
Tomasz Gerlich

tomasz.gerlich[at]outputprecision.com tomaszgerlich[at]gmail.com
+44 7756613300

www.outputprecision.com - Reality Capture
www.realitycapture3d.com - Matterport
www.tomgerlich.com

OutPut Precision Ltd, Manchester, UK

steves01x
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Cyclone Database-Scans not loading

Post by steves01x » Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:16 pm

Long shot - but were you scanning on the advanced interface and not starting the next station properly?

As on your screen shot it looks like there are no scan files within each station in Cyclone but all the bin files in one scan folder - that means all the scans are in another set up in Cyclone, so look through all the set ups till you find all the scans! You will have to move each one to the correct folder manually in Cyclone.

** as above post says, Leica support is excellent!

tomii7
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:38 am
Full Name: Tomasz Gerlich
Company Details: OutPut Precision Ltd
Company Position Title: Owner - 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: PL UK International
Skype Name: tomek.gerlich
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Re: Cyclone Database-Scans not loading

Post by tomii7 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:20 pm

steves01x wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:16 pm

** as above post says, Leica support is excellent!
thanks Steve;-)

BTW
the station seems to be split into smaller parts but also it might be everything ii one setup.

Moving manually scans in the cyclone is just only copy and paste, or moving.
-----
Best Regards,
Tomasz Gerlich

tomasz.gerlich[at]outputprecision.com tomaszgerlich[at]gmail.com
+44 7756613300

www.outputprecision.com - Reality Capture
www.realitycapture3d.com - Matterport
www.tomgerlich.com

OutPut Precision Ltd, Manchester, UK

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”