importing to Solidworks

Please feel free to ask other members for help with certain projects
Post Reply
User avatar
AtmosVR
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 2:55 pm
Full Name: Kevin Blair
Company Details: Atmosvr Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: West Midlands
Contact:

importing to Solidworks

Post by AtmosVR » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:14 pm

Hi All

I've managed to manipulate a point cloud project within SCENE - converted to a RECAP FILE, cleaned it up imported to REVIT and CAD however my client uses Solid works. Does anyone know how to convert the current useable cleaned point cloud (RCP format) into Solidworks. I cant even get autocad to export as a step file ( *.STP / *.STEP ). Their is also an option to export to IGS/IGES files but again thats not working. CAn I beg some help please?

Kev
info@atmosvr.co.uk
Kevin Blair
Director
Atmos VR Ltd
http://www.AtmosVR.co.uk
info@AtmosVR.co.uk
+44 (0) 7880 552897

TerraModus
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:19 am
Full Name: Egidijus Zilinskas
Company Details: Terra modus
Company Position Title: Managing director
Country: Lithuania
Skype Name: Egidijus.Zilinskas
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: importing to Solidworks

Post by TerraModus » Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:03 pm

For clients who have Solidworks, we always are providing 3D modeling service. We create 3D solid models and export it to IGS/IGES files.

User avatar
AtmosVR
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 2:55 pm
Full Name: Kevin Blair
Company Details: Atmosvr Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: West Midlands
Contact:

Re: importing to Solidworks

Post by AtmosVR » Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:40 am

Not sure how that helps me Terramodus unless you can tell me how?
Kev
Kevin Blair
Director
Atmos VR Ltd
http://www.AtmosVR.co.uk
info@AtmosVR.co.uk
+44 (0) 7880 552897

paranoiahasu
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:02 am
Full Name: ANIL
Company Details: Mergen3D
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Turkey
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: importing to Solidworks

Post by paranoiahasu » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:15 pm

Have you ever tried XYZ format?
In addition, there was a plugin convert xyz pointclouds to mesh (I can't remember the name)

Update*
plugin name: Scanto3D

Stephen.Strand
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 3:06 pm
Full Name: Stephen Strand
Company Details: Self-Employed
Company Position Title: Seeking Scanning Opportunities
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: importing to Solidworks

Post by Stephen.Strand » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:11 pm

Im a little confused, did you create CAD in Revit and are trying to export that? Or did you just use Revit to clean the cloud, and you’re trying to export the cloud and import that into Solidworks?

For starters, you can’t export a pointcloud in a CAD format (.step, .iges, etc), you need to use a points format (.xyz, .txt, .pts, .e57, etc). There is a free software called CloudCompare that I’ve used as a pass through before to convert between different types. You might have success with that if Revit is limited on options for pointcloud export formats. If you try that, be careful, each format is uniquely different, so intensities, normals, transformation into, or color info may get lost in translation.

As far as importing into Solidworks, I’m not a Solidworks expert, so not 100% sure, but I don’t think it has the capability to import a pointcloud or .stl without a plugin. I used Geomagic for Solidworks, but I’m sure there are others.

Hope this helps!

Stephen Strand

TerraModus
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:19 am
Full Name: Egidijus Zilinskas
Company Details: Terra modus
Company Position Title: Managing director
Country: Lithuania
Skype Name: Egidijus.Zilinskas
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: importing to Solidworks

Post by TerraModus » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:17 pm

Solidworks can import these PointCloud Files (*.xyz; *.txt; *.asc; *.vda; *.igs; *.ibl) *.xyz you can export direct from SCENE http://help.solidworks.com/2018/english ... n_data.htm

The problem is that solid is lagging with point cloud and solidworks users like to get modeled 3D objects.
2018 solidworks have plugin https://youtu.be/byYOFFe86EU if your client has it, you can provide e57 files.

User avatar
AtmosVR
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 2:55 pm
Full Name: Kevin Blair
Company Details: Atmosvr Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: West Midlands
Contact:

Re: importing to Solidworks

Post by AtmosVR » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:27 am

Thanks Steve and Terramodus.
extremely helpful
best regards
kev
Kevin Blair
Director
Atmos VR Ltd
http://www.AtmosVR.co.uk
info@AtmosVR.co.uk
+44 (0) 7880 552897

melshy
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:48 pm
Full Name: Duy Nguyen
Company Details: Baezeni VietNam
Company Position Title: Baezeni VietNam
Country: Vietnam
Skype Name: duy_bz
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: importing to Solidworks

Post by melshy » Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:49 am

Try geomagicX desgin :D

Post Reply

Return to “Request Help With Projects”