Register 360 GPU Utilization w GTX 1080

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
Post Reply
TigerAC3
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:13 pm
Full Name: Adam
Company Details: Manufacturing
Company Position Title: Engineer
Country: United States

Register 360 GPU Utilization w GTX 1080

Post by TigerAC3 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:59 pm

I just updated Register 360 to the latest 1.5.1 release. In the release notes one of the bug fixes is, "Cyclone REGISTER 360 now supports importing of RTC360 data with a Nvidia GTX 1080 graphics card." I have a GTX 1080 so I just observed the GPU usage during the import process. My GPU remains idle. Is there anything that I need to do to utilize the GPU? I assume imports would be faster if it was utilized. I attached a screenshot showing my system loading while importing.
Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jedfrechette
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jed Frechette
Company Details: Lidar Guys
Company Position Title: Lidar Supervisor
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Contact:

Re: Register 360 GPU Utilization w GTX 1080

Post by jedfrechette » Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:27 am

By default Windows Task Manger doesn't show GPU compute usage, but you can change one of the panes on the GPU tab to show what you want. See attached.
gpu_compute.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jed

samik.pulsar
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:16 am
Full Name: Samik Dutta
Company Details: Pulsar Advanced Engineering
Company Position Title: business Development Manager
Country: India
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Register 360 GPU Utilization w GTX 1080

Post by samik.pulsar » Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:03 am

You would be getting faster import speeds if you use SSD, faster/additional ram and faster cpu with some virtual memory tweaking. The newest release of Register 360 may iron out some compatibility issues, but if it's coding warrants a limited usage of GPU speeds/memory, unfortunately there can be no way to increase the GPU utilization to speed up importing process.
Higher amounts of GPU memory potentially should help , but the GPU usage is not only reflective of the GPU memory usage and also indicates how much the GPU computing cores/cuda cores are taxed in an application. If a there's a cap to that, not much can be done manually.

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Register 360 GPU Utilization w GTX 1080

Post by stevenramsey » Tue Nov 06, 2018 4:18 pm

Did the scans have Color, the vast amount of the GPU processing is for the color not the points import
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven@4DMax.co.uk
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

TigerAC3
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:13 pm
Full Name: Adam
Company Details: Manufacturing
Company Position Title: Engineer
Country: United States

Re: Register 360 GPU Utilization w GTX 1080

Post by TigerAC3 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:50 pm

stevenramsey wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 4:18 pm
Did the scans have Color, the vast amount of the GPU processing is for the color not the points import
Yes, the scans where done with a RTC360 with HDR on.

ericguizzetti
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:56 pm
Full Name: Eric Guizzetti
Company Details: Leica Dealer
Company Position Title: Tech OP
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Register 360 GPU Utilization w GTX 1080

Post by ericguizzetti » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:38 pm

TigerAC3 wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:59 pm
I just updated Register 360 to the latest 1.5.1 release. In the release notes one of the bug fixes is, "Cyclone REGISTER 360 now supports importing of RTC360 data with a Nvidia GTX 1080 graphics card." I have a GTX 1080 so I just observed the GPU usage during the import process. My GPU remains idle. Is there anything that I need to do to utilize the GPU? I assume imports would be faster if it was utilized. I attached a screenshot showing my system loading while importing.
Thank you
1. Disable Superfetch/Prefetch
2. set MAX Power in Nvidia Manager also verify powersettings are set to max
3. Check your bios, is it up to date, is it set up to take advantage of Onboard Graphics versus discrete
4. ATI and EVGA make great overclocking for graphics cards. 15-20% show huge advantages at low risk
5. thermal heat paste or watercooling helps. (PC manufactures are notorious for awful thermal jobs)
6. is your graphics card shown in the Device Manager (recenent Windows 10 kills drivers)
7. is your graphics set to use
highpowergraphics.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Eric Guizzetti
Datum Tech Solutions
Los Angeles

#BLKRoadtrip
#RTC360
#RTCroadtrip

www.datumtechsolutions.com

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone”