Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

3D Studio MAX, 3D Coat, Lightwave, ZBrush, VRMesh, TopoGun, Blender, Rhino, Trimble Sketchup Etc.
Post Reply
geodezja3d_pl
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:19 pm
Full Name: Jakub Kałaska
Company Details: Geodezja3D_pl
Company Position Title: owner
Country: Polska
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by geodezja3d_pl » Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:47 pm

Hello,

I use Faro Scanner and SCENE and right now I'm planning to go into BIM modeling. The goal is to produce as-built 3d models instead of as-build 2d plans.

The question: Is the Rhino with plugins like VisualARQ and Arena4d is suitable software for that purpose? Is the IFC export from VisualArq ok? Is the workflow as easy as it is in Revit?

I've got some basic skills in Rhino and really like it for it's very versatile, multi purpose software I think. Of course Rhino is less expensive than Revit and Archicad what does matter. But Revit seems to be more widespread and the contractor probably would prefer RVT files that the IFC files from VisualArq. In addition Revit works with Faro aps like BuiltIT or As-Build.
The problem is that I would like to avoid working with Autodesk software (I don't like the greedy politics and theirs supremacy).

Regards,
Kuba

User avatar
3DForensics
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1776
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:52 am
Full Name: Eugene Liscio
Company Details: AI2-3D Forensics
Company Position Title: Owner
Skype Name: eliscio
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by 3DForensics » Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:01 pm

Arena 4D and Rhino do a great job in my opinion. Excellent performance and I love Rhino even though I would consider myself relatively new to all the features.

bdawood
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:10 pm
Full Name: Bashar Dawood
Company Details: Canada West Drafting Inc.
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Calgary Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by bdawood » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:00 pm

I don't do BIM at the moment but looking into it, bricscad has a BIM module and relatively cheap, the only issue is the point cloud support, it is not there yet but coming soon according to them.

c3d_andyreid
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:25 am
Full Name: Andy R
Company Details: LandPartners
Company Position Title: CAD Manager
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by c3d_andyreid » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:48 pm

bdawood wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:00 pm
I don't do BIM at the moment but looking into it, bricscad has a BIM module and relatively cheap, the only issue is the point cloud support, it is not there yet but coming soon according to them.
Cloudworx for Bricscad is now available as far as I am aware.

bdawood
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:10 pm
Full Name: Bashar Dawood
Company Details: Canada West Drafting Inc.
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Calgary Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by bdawood » Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:43 pm

Yes, this is what I do for work, we work with with Cadworx and we are switching from autocad finally, the only issue we are having is the point cloud and old clients files that done with Cadworx 2015 and for these two items we have to have autocad since the cadworx 2015 does not work with bricscad, I will give it a year or two and we will flush autodesk products from our system, they are worse than Monsanto.

fsalla
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 4:50 pm
Full Name: Francesc Salla
Company Details: Asuni
Company Position Title: Architect
Country: Spain
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by fsalla » Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:51 am

Hi Kuba,
At the VisualARQ website you can find some examples of people working with this workflow: https://www.visualarq.com/projects/faro ... -gavagnin/
They produce BIM models using VisualARQ inside Rhino and then export them to IFC in order to share it with other contractors that work with Revit.
They are happy with it.
Cheers,

Dietervdsaffele
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:54 am
Full Name: Dieter Van den Saffele
Company Details: ASSET
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Belgium

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by Dietervdsaffele » Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:52 pm

I just tried importing a scan into Rhino 6 but it ran out of memory when importing.
The file was a 18GB in e57-format and contains 850.000.000 points.
My computer has 32GB of RAM.

I could see the RAM-usage slowly go up when importing and when it was at its max, I waited another 10 min and closed the program.
I guess the program is not suitable for that kind of 'large' project.
Our projects are often a lot bigger so I think this program is only suitable for small projects.

I am currently testing the as-built plugin for Revit. It looks nice but the cost is very high!

User avatar
3DForensics
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1776
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:52 am
Full Name: Eugene Liscio
Company Details: AI2-3D Forensics
Company Position Title: Owner
Skype Name: eliscio
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by 3DForensics » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:02 pm

you need to look at the Veesus plugin for Rhino which will allow you to take on huge point clouds like the one you are talking about.

neeravbm
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:29 pm
Full Name: Neerav Mehta
Company Details: Indoor Intelligence
Company Position Title: CTO
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by neeravbm » Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:43 am

Dietervdsaffele, if you are looking to model MEP elements, you can have a look at https://scantobim.xyz, which is much more affordable.

Full disclosure, I am the CTO of Indoor Intelligence, which has developed the above add-in.
Neerav Mehta
CTO, Indoor Intelligence
Creators of http://scantobim.xyz and http://rep3d.com

max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Contact:

Re: Rhino + VisualArq + Arena4D

Post by max72 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:08 pm

Dietervdsaffele wrote:
Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:52 pm
I just tried importing a scan into Rhino 6 but it ran out of memory when importing.
The file was a 18GB in e57-format and contains 850.000.000 points.
My computer has 32GB of RAM.

I could see the RAM-usage slowly go up when importing and when it was at its max, I waited another 10 min and closed the program.
I guess the program is not suitable for that kind of 'large' project.
Our projects are often a lot bigger so I think this program is only suitable for small projects.

I am currently testing the as-built plugin for Revit. It looks nice but the cost is very high!
Native Point cloud support in Rhino is limited to digitized-scale clouds, no color support, and so on....
In your case the Arena plugin from Veesus is the way to go. If you download the plugin you can have a time limited (but not feature limited) license. There is a lot of material on the Veesus youtube channel to get started. The plugin in my opinion is very powerful and at the same time extremely intuitive.

Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net

Post Reply

Return to “Modeling Software”