Cross section of 3dreshaper

Discuss all 3DReshaper related issues here.
Post Reply
ppjj
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:42 pm
Full Name: Esther Wong
Company Details: The Hong Kong polytechnic university
Company Position Title: Student
Country: Hong Kong
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Cross section of 3dreshaper

Post by ppjj » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:18 am

I was not able to click the cross section tools after selecting the point cloud that I recently imported.
The other tools in surveying, like the surface analysis tool is able to use.
How can I use the cross section tool? Did I miss any steps before plotting the cross section?

User avatar
gilles_3Dreshaper
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:41 am
Full Name: Gilles Monnier
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: 3DReshaper Manager
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Cross section of 3dreshaper

Post by gilles_3Dreshaper » Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:54 pm

Hi,
in order to run the section tool in the Surveying menu (create along axis), you also need to select the path along which you want to create sections.
Otherwise, with only a point cloud selected, the tool allowing to create section cuts is in the menu Polyline / Planar section.
Hope this helps
Gilles
3DReshaper Manager
http://www.3dreshaper.com

graham.watson
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:16 pm
Full Name: Graham Watson
Company Details: WSP-Opus
Company Position Title: Senior Surveyor
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Cross section of 3dreshaper

Post by graham.watson » Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:20 am

In a similar vein, I wish to create one section through a mesh. I want to drape this section on to the mesh. I see how to generate sections along a polyline, but not how to show just one. This line has a number of vertices and isn't straight.

Graham

User avatar
gilles_3Dreshaper
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:41 am
Full Name: Gilles Monnier
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: 3DReshaper Manager
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Cross section of 3dreshaper

Post by gilles_3Dreshaper » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:49 pm

Hi Graham,
When you say "drape this section on to the mesh", maybe what you are looking for is the projection tool: project a polyline onto a mesh (construct menu).

You will have 2 options here:
- "project only the vertices" or "follow the shape of the mesh". Choose to follow the shape of the mesh if you wish all the segments to rely exactly on the mesh (and not only the initial vertices)
- projection direction: pick a direction if you know in which direction you want to project. Or use the 3d projection if you want the closest projection of each segment onto the mesh.

If this is not what you are looking for, let me know!
Gilles
3DReshaper Manager
http://www.3dreshaper.com

graham.watson
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:16 pm
Full Name: Graham Watson
Company Details: WSP-Opus
Company Position Title: Senior Surveyor
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Cross section of 3dreshaper

Post by graham.watson » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:00 am

Giles,

Exactly what I was after.Thank you

Post Reply

Return to “3DReshaper”