BLK360 Overexposed images

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
ArchCApture
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:58 am
Full Name: Edgar Hernandez
Company Details: Architectue Capture
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: Yes

BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by ArchCApture » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:26 pm

Any one having trouble with overexposed images, see the image below.
the BLK360 was under a tree this has happen before going from a low lit room to a well lit room.
anyone have a solution.
Exterior Shell 2.022.jpg
1348 Hill St SM.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
blazaj
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Jiri Blazek
Company Details: Blazek Win Precision Systems
Company Position Title: 3D documentation
Country: Czech
Skype Name: blazaj
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: 50.2379311N, 12.8408917E
Contact:

Re: BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by blazaj » Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:02 pm

I thought there was HDR option on BLK cam? Not available yet?

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1497
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by pburrows145 » Fri Jan 19, 2018 6:21 pm

blazaj wrote:
Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:02 pm
I thought there was HDR option on BLK cam? Not available yet?
HDR is available. It needs to be enabled however. You can set this via the BLK360 Data Manager Windows App.

You can download it here: https://leica-geosystems.com/en-us/prod ... up141.zip

And if this link doesn't work for any reason, access it from the "software" section of this page: https://leica-geosystems.com/en-us/prod ... ca-cyclone

User avatar
gsisman
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by gsisman » Fri Jan 19, 2018 6:26 pm

ArchCApture wrote:
Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:26 pm
Any one having trouble with overexposed images, see the image below.
the BLK360 was under a tree this has happen before going from a low lit room to a well lit room.
anyone have a solution.

Exterior Shell 2.022.jpg1348 Hill St SM.jpg
We had the same thing in a few electrical rooms. We felt it was taking a ambient lighting reading on the first scane (when it does it's calibration) and then holding that for the exposure level throughout the scans within the room. In Dark corners it didn't show up though. You may want to turn a flash on when in a darker room, not sure whether that will help.
Are you running the latest firmware v1.1.6 and the latest Recap Mobile version 1.2.2? These are both needed to take advantage of the HDR camera mode
That being said, I'm not real happy with the resolution of the supposed 15MP camera lenses after it stitches all together. it looks like the Panorama image is downgraded. I took pictures with my 8MP Moto phone and it looks better when I zoom in on things. This is needed in the ReCAP Realview mode

BLK360
Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5fkemsg5y5nr1 ... 7.png?dl=0

MOTO
Image
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nwln1ye5t8wo1 ... 4.jpg?dl=0

ArchCApture
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:58 am
Full Name: Edgar Hernandez
Company Details: Architectue Capture
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by ArchCApture » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:27 pm

I just check the setting I did not have HDR turn on, I have been scanning with push button. I will test HDR to see if it helps.
I will also be updating the new firmware that was just released.

User avatar
topogeo
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 1:38 pm
Full Name: piercarlo roasio
Company Details: studio roasio
Company Position Title: titolare
Country: italy
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by topogeo » Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:05 am

HDR helps a lot in these sit-ins.
NOn does wonders though ..
and ... obviously .. it takes more time (even 3 minutes more for a scan)

Piercarlo

ArchCApture
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:58 am
Full Name: Edgar Hernandez
Company Details: Architectue Capture
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by ArchCApture » Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:46 pm

I turn on the HDR setting and yes the images look "better" not great. and the scan time did increase by 3 min. as mention.

User avatar
gsisman
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by gsisman » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:05 pm

Reading the specs closer I see that it says that the 3 camera system is 15mp. it takes about 10-12 positions around the 360 scan area which would be about 150-180mp total for the sphere.
That would be 5mp per lens. That would explain why my Camera on my phone 8mp HDR looks much clearer. 5mp when you are zooming out anything beyond 30-40 feet is not that sharp

Rikore
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:48 pm
Full Name: Bruce Yager
Company Details: Rikore Geomatics
Company Position Title: Department Head
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: BLK360 Overexposed images

Post by Rikore » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:47 pm

Here at Rikore we have spent a lot of time dealing with scanners and internal cameras. The BLK360 even with HDR is not going to give anyone professional results. Even the more expensive scanners are not all that great. We have found they do a fine job in most circumstances, but not so with windows in rooms and shiny objects. You can edit the photos prior to import and take care of most issues, but that does take time. We use external cameras (Canon 70D, 80D and iStars). We have great results if you are looking for scans with nice looking images. We've learned to tweak the images from internal cameras, but it is time consuming and for those who have budgets, that could break the bank so to say. With that said, the BLK360 and others like it provide great service for their price point, just not in the imaging area. When photographing scenery, etc., I take a DSLR if I want fantastic photos, otherwise if I just want a photo, my smartphone may do. Just some thoughts.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”