Close holes (interpolate data)

Discuss all FARO SCENE related software issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ProCro
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:00 pm
2
Full Name: Nino Skupnjak
Company Details: SKIMI64
Company Position Title: procurator
Country: Croatia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Croatia
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Close holes (interpolate data)

Post by ProCro »

Is it posible to close holes in point cloud? This is very easy with mesh, but what about clouds?

E.g. - select marginal area of hole in point cloud -> give command to fill blank area inside selected margins :D
User avatar
Leandre Robitaille
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
2
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: Close holes (interpolate data)

Post by Leandre Robitaille »

Hey!
I've never done this as it would create potential false positive and so it would not be accurate data but if I was to do it heres is two approches to this
1. Transform the pointcloud to mesh with the smallest triangle as possible. You can do this is many softwares, meshlab,cloudcompare etc. Then sample thr pointcloud from the mesh to turn it back to a pointcloud (cloudcompare)
2. Use the faro Scene "close surface" when creating a project point cloud;
Screenshot_20211107-082704_Brave.jpg
But I can't comment on what is happening behind the hood with that command.

Good luck! :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
ProCro
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:00 pm
2
Full Name: Nino Skupnjak
Company Details: SKIMI64
Company Position Title: procurator
Country: Croatia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Croatia
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Close holes (interpolate data)

Post by ProCro »

I know for that option in ppc - but question is what is happening with holes that must be there :D
User avatar
ProCro
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:00 pm
2
Full Name: Nino Skupnjak
Company Details: SKIMI64
Company Position Title: procurator
Country: Croatia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Croatia
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Close holes (interpolate data)

Post by ProCro »

https://secure.scan2fx.com/?id=scan2fx_depth_fixer

solution?

anyone knows the price?
User avatar
Rvillarreal2824
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 4:34 am
1
Full Name: Ruben Villarreal
Company Details: El Paso Police Department
Company Position Title: CCSI_Police Officer
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Close holes (interpolate data)

Post by Rvillarreal2824 »

Not sure if the same but I usually import a google map image to fill holes in Scene or even import a photo like a roof of a car or kitchen tile (for example) to fill any holes (aesthetic purposes) to make it look better. As Leandre stated you have to be careful due to not being accurate data. But if that's all I need I just import an image...has saved me a few times especially when someone else scans and needs you to fix their diagram... :lol:
Bottom photo is the google overlay which helps it a great deal, mainly for looks like creating a video or fly-thru.

A mesh as you stated usually does it for me as a quick fix like inside a house floor or something.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”