Missing parts in an orthophoto in pointcab

Discuss all PointCab related issues here.
Post Reply
Ioannis
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:19 am
5
Full Name: Ioannis Papas
Company Details: techical office
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: EU
Skype Name: -
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Missing parts in an orthophoto in pointcab

Post by Ioannis »

Hello, in version 3.9 of pointcab when inserting a e57 file of 6gb some parts does not appears. Seems that the block in that part is missing. I try to change the block size from 10m to 5m and the missing parts gone to another block.
E57 file opens with cloud compare and is ok.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
VXGrid
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am
4
Full Name: Martin Graner
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: Research and Development
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Re: Missing parts in an orthophoto in pointcab

Post by VXGrid »

If you press B, you can see the image tiles as well as the tile id, the coordinate is the lower left corner.

In the results folder you can check the LSE file (it's just an xml) which image corresponds to that tile and see if the image was written, but was just noch referenced.
If this is the case there is no issue with the import of the point cloud, but the writing of the LSE file.

If there are not so many tiles at all, you could just count.

In any case, I would try to reprocess this layout (if it is the standard views: View -> Generate Standard views), before reimporting the E57 files.
Ioannis
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:19 am
5
Full Name: Ioannis Papas
Company Details: techical office
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: EU
Skype Name: -
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: Missing parts in an orthophoto in pointcab

Post by Ioannis »

Done but the problem still exists.
VXGrid
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am
4
Full Name: Martin Graner
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: Research and Development
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Re: Missing parts in an orthophoto in pointcab

Post by VXGrid »

Ioannis wrote: Fri Sep 03, 2021 10:51 am Done but the problem still exists.
Then check the point number, if the import is indeed the issue
In PointCab Origins press File->Project info
There the amount of points should be identical to the one in CloudCompare.

If you are still under maintenance I'd recommend to write to [email protected]
then they can check via ScreenShare if they can spot the issue directly and fix it.
Post Reply

Return to “PointCab”