Spiral staircase

Please feel free to ask other members for help with certain projects
Post Reply
Attila
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 1:55 pm
Full Name: Tóth Attila
Company Details: Rackarto Kft
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Hungary
Skype Name: rackarto
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Spiral staircase

Post by Attila »

I need to scan some spiral stairs. I have to draw the edges for each step and the outer circular edge as well. Very accurately because the drawing will be used to design curved prefabricated glass railings. Which software could do this quickly and easily?
User avatar
TommyMaddox
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: Tommy R Maddox III
Company Details: ONSITE3D
Company Position Title: Director of US Technical Operations
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by TommyMaddox »

FARO Asbuilt for AutoCad is what I'd use for it. Whatever software you use, you'll want to make sure you can snap to edges, corners, lines, etc... without clicking through the point cloud and the multi-view interface for point selection is the best I've seen of any other offering.

You could also use Geomagic DesignX if you can get it done inside a two week trial period and/or have ~15k on hand.
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 87 times
Contact:

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by Mike Annear »

Rhino 3D
( www.Rhino3D.com ) Download a fully functional 30 day trial.
https://discourse.mcneel.com/c/gallery/architecture/135
You can create a "Mobile Construction Plane" inside a Clipping plane and move that through the pointcloud.
It is similar to a mobile User Coordinate System.
Mike.
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
Attila
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 1:55 pm
Full Name: Tóth Attila
Company Details: Rackarto Kft
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Hungary
Skype Name: rackarto
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by Attila »

TommyMaddox wrote: Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:19 pm FARO Asbuilt for AutoCad is what I'd use for it. Whatever software you use, you'll want to make sure you can snap to edges, corners, lines, etc... without clicking through the point cloud and the multi-view interface for point selection is the best I've seen of any other offering.

You could also use Geomagic DesignX if you can get it done inside a two week trial period and/or have ~15k on hand.
Is there an option in FARO Asbuilt to create multiple planes automatically?
Attila
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 1:55 pm
Full Name: Tóth Attila
Company Details: Rackarto Kft
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Hungary
Skype Name: rackarto
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by Attila »

Mike Annear wrote: Wed Apr 07, 2021 1:37 am Rhino 3D
( www.Rhino3D.com ) Download a fully functional 30 day trial.
https://discourse.mcneel.com/c/gallery/architecture/135
You can create a "Mobile Construction Plane" inside a Clipping plane and move that through the pointcloud.
It is similar to a mobile User Coordinate System.
Mike.
Thanks for the reply, I will try Rhino3D!
User avatar
Peyman Bashiri
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:32 pm
Full Name: Peyman Bashiri
Company Details: Aero Geometrics Canadian Z+F reseller
Company Position Title: Laser scanning and BIM Specialist
Country: Canada
Skype Name: pbashiri2003
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Vancouver,BC
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 15 times
Contact:

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by Peyman Bashiri »

The easiest way is to use "model in place " in Revit. No need for any shiny and expensive add-ins.
PM me if you need more detail.
Peyman
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 942
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by Scott »

This spiral staircase in San Francisco was narrow and quite unlovely--a small part of larger project. I was pleased that I captured it at all, due to the tightness of the space. A complete Revit model was later created by a sub-contractor from the data.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Scott on Wed Apr 07, 2021 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
TommyMaddox
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: Tommy R Maddox III
Company Details: ONSITE3D
Company Position Title: Director of US Technical Operations
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by TommyMaddox »

If you're needing pre-fab grade results for a material that is fairly demanding, expensive, inflexible, and has complex curvature (Glass panels for a spiral staircase) you may want to consider using one of the more capable software suites. Not to knock on RhinoCad or Peyman's recommendations here, but if I were liable for the fitment outcome of this project, I'd want to be doing it in the platforms I recommended. Trials are available if you can work quickly, this helps keep costs down if you're not doing this type of work on a monthly basis.
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 87 times
Contact:

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by Mike Annear »

TommyMaddox wrote: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:55 pm has complex curvature (Glass panels for a spiral staircase) you may want to consider using one of the more capable software suites. Not to knock on RhinoCad
Name a CAD package that does complex surfacing better than Rhino 3D ?
Mike
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 87 times
Contact:

Re: Spiral staircase

Post by Mike Annear »

Here is one example of "fitment outcome" as mentioned above.
I was tasked to help solve a few 3D problems for an installation artist in Mandurah, Western Australia.
I used Rhino 3D to create the production cutting plans for the Aluminum structure that is held in place by Laser Scanned wooden poles.
No two join angles are the same, including the pipe joints and each plate is twisted, not flat.
Everything fitted together perfectly on site.
A Spiral staircase is pretty simple by comparison.

Mandurah_Sculpture.jpg
Sheeted.jpg
82_2.jpg
Concept.jpg
Mandurah_Sculpture_2.jpg
Using Rhino, I could calculate and document each pipe joint for the fabrication guys.

Heights_2.jpg
Pipe Cutting Instruction diagram.jpg

As for Rhino not being "Capable Software", do a quick Google search of buildings, production/racing boats, aircraft, production/racing cars, sports shoes, jewellery, medical products etc that have been made using Rhino 3D. ...... and it is still under $1000 (USD) to buy.
There are no annual fees, subscriptions fees and it is backwards compatible between versions.
I used to be a day-in-day-out out AutoCad user and I have also used 3Ds Max extensively.
I have tried to sit down and learn Revit a few times in the past and just gave up in frustration, it is simply not suitable for accurate "Asbuilt" 3D modelling from Pointclouds unless you assume everything is flat/level/vertical.

But..there is always " rhino-inside-revit" for Revit Die Hards...
https://www.rhino3d.com/features/rhino-inside-revit/
...my 2c worth :)

Mike.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Mike Annear on Sat Apr 10, 2021 9:21 am, edited 3 times in total.
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
Post Reply

Return to “Request Help With Projects”