Exporting a 1GB e57 file from Recap

Discuss all Autodesk ReCap Studio related issues here.
Post Reply
fobos8
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:19 pm
Full Name: Andrew
Company Details: Medina Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Uk
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Exporting a 1GB e57 file from Recap

Post by fobos8 »

Hi guys
I've got a rcp project with 10mm decimation. When I export to an e57 the size is around 2.5GB. I want to get the file size down to under 1 GB.

I've tried exporting as a rcp project with different decimation levels, opening the recap project and then exporting to e57. The resulting e57 file isn't getting any smaller.

What am I doing wrong/what are the correct steps for creating a decimated file from recap.

Cheers, Andrew
DanielNMP87
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:17 am
Full Name: Daniel Neagu
Company Details: XYZ
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Exporting a 1GB e57 file from Recap

Post by DanielNMP87 »

hi,

You probably already tried this but:

Export to RCS format, in the menu bar go to unify settings and use the cursor to get to 20 mm, after making your new RCS re import the file in a new Recap project than export the e57, should be much smaller.

Assuming that the point cloud is unified you could just split it in 2 and make 2 e57 files.
Also when importing a file (e57,PTS,PTX,PTG) in recap in the starting menu you can set the decimating grid you want.(advance settings)
You should check that you have a updated version of Recap.

Hope it helps, good luck!
fobos8
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:19 pm
Full Name: Andrew
Company Details: Medina Surveys
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Uk
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Exporting a 1GB e57 file from Recap

Post by fobos8 »

Thanks - i used cloud compare in the end and decimated it in there
Post Reply

Return to “Autodesk ReCap Studio”