Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Please feel free to ask other members for help with certain projects
Post Reply
archijam
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:12 am
Full Name: Jam Mel
Company Details: JMLA
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: Aus
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times

Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Post by archijam »

Hi all,

We have an old Scanstation C10, but the university budget does not allow for the several grand for a Cylcone license, especially for such an old scanner, and in these uncertain financial times.

Is there a service for converting these scans online? Automated, or paid for a small fee? It would just be a matter of import and export, the alignment could take place in other software.

Thanks in advance!

James
archijam
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:12 am
Full Name: Jam Mel
Company Details: JMLA
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: Aus
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Post by archijam »

Or if YOU have a working copy and would be able to convert some files for a fee, please let me know!

Thanks in advance!

J
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 47 times
Contact:

Re: Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Post by Mike Annear »

Hi,
If you are here in Australia, you can rent a Cyclone License on a weekly basis for a slightly less extortional rate than buying it.
I am not too sure about Bin files though.
A lot of customers were given a "package deal" with C-10s when it was first released, the real cost of maintaining the software / CCP kicked in when the deal ran out.
Mike
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
archijam
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:12 am
Full Name: Jam Mel
Company Details: JMLA
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: Aus
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Post by archijam »

Yes classic Leica Geosystems .. the idea that the whole scanner can go in the bin if your software license runs out is ... :shock:

I've used Riegl and FARO and there was always a way to use the scanners later in their lives .. such a waste!
archijam
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:12 am
Full Name: Jam Mel
Company Details: JMLA
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: Aus
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Post by archijam »

Mike Annear wrote: Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:29 am Hi,
If you are here in Australia, you can rent a Cyclone License on a weekly basis for a slightly less extortional rate than buying it.
I am not too sure about Bin files though.
A lot of customers were given a "package deal" with C-10s when it was first released, the real cost of maintaining the software / CCP kicked in when the deal ran out.
Mike
Thanks Mike.

I would consider renting, but first I need to see the data and if it's even usable for what we need ..
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 47 times
Contact:

Re: Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Post by Mike Annear »

Hi,
You can download and install Cyclone and run it in Viewer mode without a license.
This way you can see exactly what data you have,
Regards,
Mike.
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
archijam
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:12 am
Full Name: Jam Mel
Company Details: JMLA
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: Aus
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Post by archijam »

Indeed. Until I get it into cloud compare with my other spatial data, I can't really judge much .. thanks though! :)
Mike Annear wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:28 am Hi,
You can download and install Cyclone and run it in Viewer mode without a license.
This way you can see exactly what data you have,
Regards,
Mike.
archijam
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:12 am
Full Name: Jam Mel
Company Details: JMLA
Company Position Title: Founder
Country: Aus
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Data opening and conversion - Cyclone BIN to LAS

Post by archijam »

After looking around, it's looking like hiring a new FARO will be much cheaper than getting a licence from LEICA .. will post my "solution" though.
Mike Annear wrote: Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:29 am Hi,
If you are here in Australia, you can rent a Cyclone License on a weekly basis for a slightly less extortional rate than buying it.
I am not too sure about Bin files though.
A lot of customers were given a "package deal" with C-10s when it was first released, the real cost of maintaining the software / CCP kicked in when the deal ran out.
Mike
Post Reply

Return to “Request Help With Projects”