Leica Cyclone 3DR

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
SCCS RTC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
Company Position Title: Reality Capture Manager
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by SCCS RTC » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:22 pm

C3DR.jpg

Leica Cyclone 3DR is a seamless extension of the Cyclone product family which works hand in hand to take users from field data collection with Cyclone FIELD 360 through registration in Cyclone REGISTER 360 and deliverable creation in Cyclone 3DR.

https://leica-geosystems.com/products/l ... yclone-3dr
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
M: 07540 201383
E: [email protected]
W: www.sccsurvey.co.uk
Image

sim.herrod
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:26 pm
Full Name: Simeon Herrod
Company Details: Terra Measurement Limited
Company Position Title: Scan and CAD Tech
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by sim.herrod » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:13 am

How will this affect those of us that already have 3DReshaper licences?

I'd like to think it would be a straight swap, with absolutely no additional cost and definitely no loss of functionality.

User avatar
SCCS RTC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
Company Position Title: Reality Capture Manager
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by SCCS RTC » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:37 am

Hi Simeon,

A migration path exists for all existing 3DReshaper customers as well as customers of Cyclone SURVEY who have invested in a CCP.

Would you like me to assist you with this migration?
SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
M: 07540 201383
E: [email protected]
W: www.sccsurvey.co.uk
Image

sim.herrod
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:26 pm
Full Name: Simeon Herrod
Company Details: Terra Measurement Limited
Company Position Title: Scan and CAD Tech
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by sim.herrod » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:10 am

Thank you Phil, I've emailed you.

DONATSCH AG
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:26 am
Full Name: Fadri Jecklin
Company Details: Civil Engineering an Surveying
Company Position Title: Lead Laserscanning
Country: CH
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by DONATSCH AG » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:16 am

oh man.. This are really sad news. As soon a product ends up in the Leica corner, price will double, interfaces will no longer be open, new commands will only fit to Leica Sensors and Software.... For example the maintenance price of a Briscad license hast already double since they belong to Leica....

I don’t think this will be a plus for the customer... and especially not for the non-Leica workflow customers...

Cheers
F.

User avatar
Mrk
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:25 pm
Full Name: Mark Lane
Company Details: Convert3D
Company Position Title: BIM guy
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by Mrk » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:04 pm

My board just approved the purchase of 3D Reshaper, but it seems like we'd be buying a dying product where all development will be focused on the new software. I'd much prefer supporting the development of a new program to propping up a retiring one.

Have all Reshaper tools been migrated across to Cyclone 3DR? Is it module-based like Reshaper or does it include all tools by default?

User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by landmeterbeuckx » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:15 pm

DONATSCH AG wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:16 am
oh man.. This are really sad news. As soon a product ends up in the Leica corner, price will double, interfaces will no longer be open, new commands will only fit to Leica Sensors and Software.... For example the maintenance price of a Briscad license hast already double since they belong to Leica....

I don’t think this will be a plus for the customer... and especially not for the non-Leica workflow customers...

Cheers
F.
I've mentioned my concerns about the Bricscad software in this thread https://laserscanningforum.com/forum/vi ... cad#p72855
Seems i wasn't wrong.
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +3211661621
www.landmeter-beuckx.be
[email protected]

mrhunt
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:15 pm
Full Name: Michael H
Company Details: CFM
Company Position Title: Senior Surveyor
Country: NB Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by mrhunt » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:23 pm

SCCS RTC wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:37 am
Hi Simeon,

A migration path exists for all existing 3DReshaper customers as well as customers of Cyclone SURVEY who have invested in a CCP.

Would you like me to assist you with this migration?
I would hope 3Dreshaper will still run standalone without any other CCP's required?

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by pburrows145 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:26 pm

DONATSCH AG wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:16 am
oh man.. This are really sad news. As soon a product ends up in the Leica corner, price will double, interfaces will no longer be open, new commands will only fit to Leica Sensors and Software.... For example the maintenance price of a Briscad license hast already double since they belong to Leica....

I don’t think this will be a plus for the customer... and especially not for the non-Leica workflow customers...

Cheers
F.
Cyclone 3DR will remain as open as Reshaper is today, but with the added benefit of LGS/JS import, and all the new workflows. You can bring in ASCII data, E57's the usual, plus all the various model types (OBJ/STL/IGES etc - and now IFC... did someone say "Construction Verification Workflows?")

There will be a Standard Version, a Pro version and 2/3 modules available, is my understanding.

Migration is available from Reshaper, but do not ask me details as the release wont be for some time, and I don't know... :lol:

Bear in mind Reshaper has been part of the Hexagon family for a long time, this just brings Cyclone and Reshaper closer together, in a stream-lined solution. Prices will remain mostly as they are I feel.

User avatar
gilles_3Dreshaper
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:41 am
Full Name: Gilles Monnier
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: 3DReshaper Manager
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Leica Cyclone 3DR

Post by gilles_3Dreshaper » Sat Jun 15, 2019 5:26 pm

Hi everyone,

Regarding functionalities, the team is working hard so that 99% of the 3dreshaper functionalities will be available on day one of Cy3DR.
The current status is ~95% with a fairly stable version (i've been demoing it all week at HxGNLive!) and I'm confident that the 99% target will be achieved by September! :)

As for the migration path, I can tell that every user under maintenance will have the possibility to install and use both products to make sure their workflow are working nicely in both products without any license update.

Leica has invested a lot in the product and I am looking forward to what we will be able to deliver in the next years!
Gilles
3DReshaper Manager
http://www.3dreshaper.com

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone”