Texture on CAD-model from panoramas

Discuss all 3DReshaper related issues here.
Post Reply
Moc
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:33 am
Full Name: Matthias Korscheck
Company Details: TPI Vermessungsgesellschaft mbH
Company Position Title: Surveying Engineer
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Texture on CAD-model from panoramas

Post by Moc » Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:12 am

Hi,

I have a 3D model of a house in 3D Reshaper and I try to put a texture on the model from panoramic photos and their camera parameters.
The data is from the Leica Pegasus II Ultimate mobile mapping system, thus all my photos have an external orientation (X,Y,Z, Omega, Phi, Kappa) in the world coordinate system (same as the model of course).

When I use the "texture from pictures with camera parameters" command, the texture seems to be rotated somehow and does not fit to the model. A strange thing is, that I can put any numbers to the internal parameters, the result is always the same.

My parameters of the external orientation of the pictures are verified.
It works with the side cameras, but the problem here is, that some of the surfaces are very large. If the surface is not completely captured inside one photo, 3D reshaper cannot put a texture partly on this surface since it is not a mesh.

Has somebody else experiences with mapping textures on a model from panoramic photos?

Moc
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:33 am
Full Name: Matthias Korscheck
Company Details: TPI Vermessungsgesellschaft mbH
Company Position Title: Surveying Engineer
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Texture on CAD-model from panoramas

Post by Moc » Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:02 pm

Now I did use the "Texture Atlas" tool to get all photos with the external and internal orientation from the .E57-files (amazing tool, works pretty good).
Same problem: The orientation of the panoramic photos is wrong, the side cameras are fine.
In other software, the panoramic photos fit to my point cloud, thus the parameters of the external orientation are fine.
I think it is a bug in 3D Reshaper with mapping textures from panoramic images.

User avatar
gilles_3Dreshaper
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:41 am
Full Name: Gilles Monnier
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: 3DReshaper Manager
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Texture on CAD-model from panoramas

Post by gilles_3Dreshaper » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:59 pm

Thanks for bringing that up.
We made a fix recently in the version delivered on Jan 21st.
Are you using this version (or a later one)?

If yes, then, it seems like we are still facing an issue.
Would be great if you could share an E57 file to our support (support [a] 3dreshaper.com
Gilles
3DReshaper Manager
http://www.3dreshaper.com

Moc
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:33 am
Full Name: Matthias Korscheck
Company Details: TPI Vermessungsgesellschaft mbH
Company Position Title: Surveying Engineer
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Texture on CAD-model from panoramas

Post by Moc » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:36 am

Thank you for the info.
I am using the newest version from February 20th, 2019.

Post Reply

Return to “3DReshaper”