Error mesage due to image size

Discuss all PointCAB related issues here
Post Reply
Ioannis
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:19 am
Full Name: Ioannis Papas
Company Details: techical office
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: EU
Skype Name: -
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Error mesage due to image size

Post by Ioannis » Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:26 am

When iam trying to make merge of an orthophoto the following message appears, did we have any solution ?
As i know Microsoft Windows limits the image size to max. 2 GB is there any tip to upgrade this limit ?
Windows is 64bit system with lot of memory.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Error mesage due to image size

Post by landmeterbeuckx » Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:09 pm

I had the same problem a while ago and got this response from pointcab support

"this error meassages apperas when the image siye cannot be merged because zou don't have enough memory on your disk or the image size exceeded 65535x65535 pixels. Also, Windows limits the the image size to maxim 2GB. You can try to reduce the image resolution of the section/layout you want to merge. For example, if you processed the section/layout at a resolution of 1 mm, set the resolution to 5 mm or more."
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +3211661621
www.landmeter-beuckx.be
info@landmeter-beuckx.be

User avatar
smacl
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Error mesage due to image size

Post by smacl » Sat Feb 02, 2019 5:21 pm

landmeterbeuckx wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:09 pm
Windows limits the the image size to maxim 2GB.
This isn't quite true, the JPEG format has a size limit of 65536 x 65536 pixels, but you have other formats you can use in other software in Windows that support much bigger images. JPEG2000 for example is an extension to JPEG that has no such limits and ECW is another which is commonly used for very large satellite and photogrammetry images. I haven't used it myself, but a customer of mine uses Irfanview for large images which he says works well.

Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 727
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: Error mesage due to image size

Post by Scott » Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:48 am

smacl wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 5:21 pm
landmeterbeuckx wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:09 pm
Windows limits the the image size to maxim 2GB.
This isn't quite true, the JPEG format has a size limit of 65536 x 65536 pixels, but you have other formats you can use in other software in Windows that support much bigger images. JPEG2000 for example is an extension to JPEG that has no such limits and ECW is another which is commonly used for very large satellite and photogrammetry images. I haven't used it myself, but a customer of mine uses Irfanview for large images which he says works well.
Interesting -is this a way to take screenshots of what we see in a 3D window, with greater density than 300dpi?

User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Error mesage due to image size

Post by landmeterbeuckx » Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:07 am

smacl wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 5:21 pm
landmeterbeuckx wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:09 pm
Windows limits the the image size to maxim 2GB.
This isn't quite true, the JPEG format has a size limit of 65536 x 65536 pixels, but you have other formats you can use in other software in Windows that support much bigger images. JPEG2000 for example is an extension to JPEG that has no such limits and ECW is another which is commonly used for very large satellite and photogrammetry images. I haven't used it myself, but a customer of mine uses Irfanview for large images which he says works well.
I'm no expert on these matters. Pointcab only generates general images. No jpeg2000 or mrsid,...
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +3211661621
www.landmeter-beuckx.be
info@landmeter-beuckx.be

User avatar
smacl
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Error mesage due to image size

Post by smacl » Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:38 am

PNG and TIFF are other common formats that don't have these limits, though TIFF has a 4GB compressed file size limit, don't know if PointCAB supports either. Main problem with very big images is that unless you have specialised imaging software you need an uncompressed copy in memory which can be problematic. e.g. 24 bit jpeg at 65536 x 65536 = 12884901888 bytes or 12GB in RAM in addition to what you're already using. The other problem is that even if you could create an image that big, a lot of other software will fail to open it.

VXGrid
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am
Full Name: Martin Graner
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: Research and Development
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Error mesage due to image size

Post by VXGrid » Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:28 am

Ioannis: In which software solution do you like to import the result?
Ioannis wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:26 am
When iam trying to make merge of an orthophoto the following message appears, did we have any solution ?
As i know Microsoft Windows limits the image size to max. 2 GB is there any tip to upgrade this limit ?
Windows is 64bit system with lot of memory.
We can only answer that with the same answer we gave to Lieven:
Use a lower image resolution (a higher value) in the layout/section where you want to create the Merger and/or split the Merger in more parts.

If it is only for an overview: Press F11 for full screen of the layout/section view and F12 to take a screen shot.

smacl wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:38 am
PNG and TIFF are other common formats that don't have these limits, though TIFF has a 4GB compressed file size limit, don't know if PointCAB supports either. [...] e.g. 24 bit jpeg at 65536 x 65536 = 12884901888 bytes or 12GB in RAM in addition to what you're already using. The other problem is that even if you could create an image that big, a lot of other software will fail to open it.
PointCab uses png as standard and is able to write tiff.
If I'm informed correctly to the RAM limits, the RAM size needed has to be contiguous, which might be a challange as well.

I'll check if there are ways to circumvent the size issues and see if we can integrate that into PointCab.

RSteffen
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 4:26 pm
Full Name: Richard Steffen PhD
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: Error message due to image size

Post by RSteffen » Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:21 am

Hello,

let me explain why the internal limit of 2GB occurs from in PointCab.
You are right that the file format specification of PNG and some other formats does not have the 2GB limitation.
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/410 ... png-images
However, most of the common used implementations are working with 32bit interger for the pixel pointer internally. The reason is, that this implementation works for 32bit and 64bit system with the same performance and historically the original implementation was based on 32bit systems. There are pure 64bit implementations for the file formats out there, but most of the CAD system and other 3dparty software dont use them.

To have maximum compatibily with other software and 32bit systems we decided to check this limit and provide a warning.

Furthermore, be aware that some software system use the image directly as a texture for the graphicscard without tiling. Usually, there is a limit of 16384x16384x[RGBA] = 1GB.

https://discourse.mcneel.com/t/texture- ... re/39295/4

We introduced an autosplit function in the last version, that will half the merger automatically until the 2GB limit is not hit.

Best regards, Richard

Post Reply

Return to “PointCAB”