Istar with 2 Faro scanners

Discuss all VR Virtual Reality here.
Post Reply
brian715
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:24 pm
Full Name: Brian Boehmer
Company Details: Meridian Eng.
Company Position Title: LiDAR Technician
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Istar with 2 Faro scanners

Post by brian715 »

We have a big project coming up and I was wondering what the workflow for using the Istar with 2 scanners would look like. We just purchased our Istar and have not had any time to experiment as of yet. Is this possible to accomplish? Would it just take some careful maneuvering? Thanks for any help in advance.
-Brian

Rikore
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:48 pm
Full Name: Bruce Yager
Company Details: Rikore Geomatics
Company Position Title: Department Head
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Istar with 2 Faro scanners

Post by Rikore »

I've done this with two Leica P40's. Remember that on importing the software looks for the times. I just do one import at a time to match the photos with the right scan. Keep notes such as Scanner 1, scan 1 = camera set 1, Scanner 2, scan 1 = camera set 2.

brian715
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:24 pm
Full Name: Brian Boehmer
Company Details: Meridian Eng.
Company Position Title: LiDAR Technician
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Istar with 2 Faro scanners

Post by brian715 »

Thank you for the heads up. That was our thought as well. At first we thought it would be fairly easy to just split them every other scan, but realized that this is not always the case. Keeping the notes on will be our go to I think.

brian715
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:24 pm
Full Name: Brian Boehmer
Company Details: Meridian Eng.
Company Position Title: LiDAR Technician
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Istar with 2 Faro scanners

Post by brian715 »

Got our Camera today and super excited about it. I was wondering if anyone knows how long after the scan completes the software will still find a match. For instance, if I do a scan at 14:10, but don't do the pictures until 14:15 because I am waiting on the camera to process the other scanners pictures will it still automatch?
thanks in advance.

Rikore
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:48 pm
Full Name: Bruce Yager
Company Details: Rikore Geomatics
Company Position Title: Department Head
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Istar with 2 Faro scanners

Post by Rikore »

I've done imaging a day later and the software does match the images. However you do need to check to make sure during the import process.

Post Reply

Return to “VR Virtual Reality”