How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Discuss FARO SCENE software here.
Post Reply
satheeshsp
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2024 2:26 pm
Full Name: Satheesh
Company Details: Omnix International
Company Position Title: Scanning Engineer
Country: UAE
Linkedin Profile: Yes

How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by satheeshsp »

I have been working on a building having 5 floors. After registration from scene software the rcp data is very heavy in size. It went upto 900 gb. I am facing difficul In importing the heavy data in revit. How we can reduce the data size. My pc spec is 128 gb ram
MAmin
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2024 6:06 am
Full Name: Muhammad Amin
Company Details: Salur Kuasa Digital SB
Company Position Title: Project Engineer
Country: Malaysia
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by MAmin »

If you have access to Autodesk Recap, maybe you could try to re-import the generated 900GB from Scene to RECAP, then re-export in recap in Unified version of RCP. You may input in 5mm point spacing. Good to note that via this method, your scan station parameter (Bubbleview - Pano Image) would not be available.
On the other hand, your file size will be reduced 40% to 60%.
satheeshsp
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2024 2:26 pm
Full Name: Satheesh
Company Details: Omnix International
Company Position Title: Scanning Engineer
Country: UAE
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by satheeshsp »

Thank you mamin for your reply. I have tried the same method. But for 300 gb data exporting is working in recap. The pointcloud which is having more than 300gb data its not exporting. Is there any issue will be in my pc spec?
VXGrid
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am
7
Full Name: Martin Graner
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: Research and Development
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 177 times
Contact:

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by VXGrid »

satheeshsp wrote: Thu Jul 11, 2024 5:23 am Thank you mamin for your reply. I have tried the same method. But for 300 gb data exporting is working in recap. The pointcloud which is having more than 300gb data its not exporting. Is there any issue will be in my pc spec?
I guess the limiting factore here is not your RAM, but the remaining space on the C: drive, because I guess there are the temporary files of ReCap stored, so you will need a loooot free space there.

Alternatively: Export a LAZ from ReCap and reimport it into ReCap.
satheeshsp
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2024 2:26 pm
Full Name: Satheesh
Company Details: Omnix International
Company Position Title: Scanning Engineer
Country: UAE
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by satheeshsp »

Will try that one too
LsTirol
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 7:55 pm
3
Full Name: Johannes Niedrist
Company Details: planimo
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Austria
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by LsTirol »

My Workflow for Pointcloudexport to Revit is as follows:
- Export your Clippingbox from your Project to .e57 with right click "Save Filtered copy of ClippingBox"
- Here you can adjust the resolution to your requirements using the dot spacing
- Then make a new Project in Recap - import the .e57 file and save the Project
- In the Recap Project Folder is a .rcs File - i always use this File as linked Pointcloud in Revit
- I usually use dot spacings of 6-8mm depending on the situation
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Tanguy Nédélec
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:15 pm
8
Full Name: NEDELEC Tanguy
Company Details: Prigent et Associes
Company Position Title: Surveyor - nooks and crannies explorer
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Dinan
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by Tanguy Nédélec »

900 GB seems huge! How big is the building and at what resolution did you scan? Anything beyond 1/8 is overkill in most cases for interiors, imho. Even 1/16 is generally enough.

In addition to what others have said, you could try creating the Project Point Cloud in Scene. It will unify all scans and eliminate overlapping points, in addition you can specify a subsampling resolution. Then export that and import it into recap.
Or another idea: export all scans with subsampling if your resolution was excessive to start with.

Subsample.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
satheeshsp
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2024 2:26 pm
Full Name: Satheesh
Company Details: Omnix International
Company Position Title: Scanning Engineer
Country: UAE
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by satheeshsp »

It was a 5 floor building of 30000 sqm. I have used 1/5*3x and 1/8*4x color. What value we have to give in row and column?
User avatar
Tanguy Nédélec
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:15 pm
8
Full Name: NEDELEC Tanguy
Company Details: Prigent et Associes
Company Position Title: Surveyor - nooks and crannies explorer
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Dinan
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by Tanguy Nédélec »

A value of 1 will take all the points. A value of 2 will take one in every two points. And so on.
This only works for ordered scans, as they can be assimilated to a bitmap (an image with pixels, basically). The subsample value determines what pixels you keep, this is different from a spatial subsample which considers the 3D coordinates.
User avatar
MaZschi
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:26 pm
6
Full Name: Marc Zschieschang
Company Details: Qbitec
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: How to reduce point cloud data size while exporting to rcp format in scene

Post by MaZschi »

From SCENE you have 2.5 export ways. You can export structured scans or unstructured scans. Depending on which method you will choose in SCENE, the export take more or less time (for structured export it take much more time then for the unstructured export). In case you want to keep the pano- images in the recap file, I usually saved the scans as .fls files (which is very quick) and then converted them using Autodesk Recap. You can also drag in the .LSProj file from your SCENE project into the Recap Software to convert the data. This is overall much faster compared to exporting it directly from SCENE as a Recap file. As it was already pointed out, structured scans have the advantage of the pano-images but the projects size is very big and performance low. For better performance and reduced file size, export the data as unstructured scans from SCENE.

Another option would be to try the Beta version of our Revit Plugin. It keeps all the details from your scans while keeping the performance in Revit up. It also should save you some disk space as it applies a lossless compression. You can also view and use the pano-images in Revit which is not possible with Recap itself. In case you want to give it a try you can find more information here: https://qbitec.com/?lang=eng
Marc Zschieschang
Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”