Cyclone 3DR - Tank - Volumes at intervals

Discuss Leica Cyclone 3DR software here.
Post Reply
boxel0
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:45 pm
10
Full Name: Lewis Boxer
Company Details: Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Essex, UK
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Cyclone 3DR - Tank - Volumes at intervals

Post by boxel0 »

Hi all,

Does anyone know if 3DR has the ability to calculate shell volumes at set heights? ie Tank Strapping Tables?

Or maybe someone knows of a script? Which takes an area measurement of a slice through the tank at set intervals?
Lewis Boxer
Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Technical Director
e: [email protected]
w: www.lasersurveying.com
Nicolas L
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 8:25 am
3
Full Name: Nicolas LANDRIVON
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: Sales and Support
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: Cyclone 3DR - Tank - Volumes at intervals

Post by Nicolas L »

Hello

There is a command to compute the volume of a mesh according to elevation (Analyse / Measure...).

Take a look at https://youtu.be/YhO4Q-1ywsQ?feature=shared

Regards

Nicolas L
mrhunt
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:15 pm
7
Full Name: Michael H
Company Details: CFM
Company Position Title: Senior Surveyor
Country: NB Canada
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Cyclone 3DR - Tank - Volumes at intervals

Post by mrhunt »

Just thinking about this. Could we get this command added to the tank module as a strapping option? I think that would really help fellow tank surveyors and inspectors that don't realize we have this option available.
Jamesrye
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
15
Full Name: James Rye
Company Details: Merrett Survey Limited
Company Position Title: Spatial Analyst
Country: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

Re: Cyclone 3DR - Tank - Volumes at intervals

Post by Jamesrye »

boxel0 wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 1:00 pm Hi all,

Does anyone know if 3DR has the ability to calculate shell volumes at set heights? ie Tank Strapping Tables?

Or maybe someone knows of a script? Which takes an area measurement of a slice through the tank at set intervals?
We have our own in-house software to do this, you can do it with 3DR though (it's under 'measure' and then 'volume from elevation'. If you want a quote, we can create the strapping tables for you.

What would be great is if 3DR had the ability to create strapping tables with the ability to input thermal variations.
Nicolas L
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 8:25 am
3
Full Name: Nicolas LANDRIVON
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: Sales and Support
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: Cyclone 3DR - Tank - Volumes at intervals

Post by Nicolas L »

Hello

Indeed, this command is part of the standard version among a great number of features that can benefit to the tank inspection plugin.
You can also use this command to export the results (shell volumes) in a CSV file format which can populate a script or a macro to do the tank calibration.

Regards

Nicolas L
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone 3DR”