Draping a JPG/PNG over a mesh

Discuss Leica Cyclone 3DR software here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kruse
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:09 pm
2
Full Name: Eric Kruse
Company Details: Hensel Phelps - Construction
Company Position Title: VDC Manager
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Draping a JPG/PNG over a mesh

Post by Kruse »

Hello 3DR experts, I have a unique request where we're using 3DR to create some simple animation fly throughs of a site. I have a DTM/Mesh of the site (from a drone mapping mission) and our design partners have a pdf with some simple shapes for and initial building designs and layouts that we'd like to drape onto the mesh. Is there a way to drape a JPG/PNG onto a mesh or to extract the colors of the image and apply them to the mesh? I can scale the image to match the real world mesh and I can manually align it to the area, but I'm drawing a blank on how to colorize the mesh from the jpg, if there even is a way to accomplish this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Martin_au
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:51 pm
14
Full Name: Martin Ankor
Company Details: Anon
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Draping a JPG/PNG over a mesh

Post by Martin_au »

Anything useful from the older version of 3dreshaper?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8nN97gep_A
Nicolas L
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 8:25 am
3
Full Name: Nicolas LANDRIVON
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: Sales and Support
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Draping a JPG/PNG over a mesh

Post by Nicolas L »

Hello

Indeed, there is still the 3DReshaper standard texturing feature in Cyclone 3DR among other new texturing commands.

Check out the help documentation on: https://cyclone3dr.leica-geosystems.com ... uring.html

If you want to use the standard texturing command, you need to estimate the image pose (position, orientation) according to the type of image (perspective, pano...) by matching selected pairs of points between the 3D model and the 2D image beforehand.

Regards

Nicolas L
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone 3DR”