Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Discuss all Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360 software here.
Post Reply
arcgiser
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 4:31 am
2
Full Name: Hoscks
Company Details: hongtaiyang company
Company Position Title: hongtaiyang company
Country: xinjiang China
Has thanked: 9 times

Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Post by arcgiser »

During the process of using Register360, I found that the original data of the same group of Faro S350 can be imported and concatenated normally on one computer, but not on the other computer. Clicking on import will result in an error. Can you tell me the reason?
User avatar
Kruse
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:09 pm
2
Full Name: Eric Kruse
Company Details: Hensel Phelps - Construction
Company Position Title: VDC Manager
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Post by Kruse »

both computers running the same version of Reg360? Do you have adequate space availbe for your drive hosting the project database and temp files? Are all the RAW scans downloaded or saved to the other computer correctly? Most of the time when we've seen issues like, it's due to us sharing RAW scan files over the cloud and a few of the files (out of the thousands) didn't fully sync to the other computer which resulted in a failed import. Double check that all the RAW scans are fully synced and you're importing the exact same scans/files.

Maybe provide some snapshots of your issues to help us understand what's going on.
arcgiser
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 4:31 am
2
Full Name: Hoscks
Company Details: hongtaiyang company
Company Position Title: hongtaiyang company
Country: xinjiang China
Has thanked: 9 times

Re: Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Post by arcgiser »

Kruse wrote: Sat Sep 16, 2023 6:44 am both computers running the same version of Reg360? Do you have adequate space availbe for your drive hosting the project database and temp files? Are all the RAW scans downloaded or saved to the other computer correctly? Most of the time when we've seen issues like, it's due to us sharing RAW scan files over the cloud and a few of the files (out of the thousands) didn't fully sync to the other computer which resulted in a failed import. Double check that all the RAW scans are fully synced and you're importing the exact same scans/files.

Maybe provide some snapshots of your issues to help us understand what's going on.
Thank you for your reply. I found that the systems of the two computers are different. Windows 11 runs normally, but Windows 10 cannot be imported properly. I used a third computer's Windows 11 for verification and it can be imported normally. But I have encountered another issue. After the installation of Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360 Classification is completed, the software still cannot select classification. The Classification Manager option is still grayed out, and the files required for classification already exist in the PCC directory. Do I need to set anything else in the software? Thank you!
User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
7
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 818 times
Been thanked: 165 times

Re: Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Post by gsisman »

arcgiser wrote: Sun Sep 17, 2023 5:30 am
Kruse wrote: Sat Sep 16, 2023 6:44 am both computers running the same version of Reg360? Do you have adequate space availbe for your drive hosting the project database and temp files? Are all the RAW scans downloaded or saved to the other computer correctly? Most of the time when we've seen issues like, it's due to us sharing RAW scan files over the cloud and a few of the files (out of the thousands) didn't fully sync to the other computer which resulted in a failed import. Double check that all the RAW scans are fully synced and you're importing the exact same scans/files.

Maybe provide some snapshots of your issues to help us understand what's going on.
Thank you for your reply. I found that the systems of the two computers are different. Windows 11 runs normally, but Windows 10 cannot be imported properly. I used a third computer's Windows 11 for verification and it can be imported normally. But I have encountered another issue. After the installation of Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360 Classification is completed, the software still cannot select classification. The Classification Manager option is still grayed out, and the files required for classification already exist in the PCC directory. Do I need to set anything else in the software? Thank you!
As far as the classification portion are you sure it installed the classification executable on both computers classification executable on both computers? Did it tell you that you had the proper graphics card that could handle the classification executable?
Also on the recent register 360 update there were comments in the release notes about not supporting certain Faro scanner raw imports, I believe the newer ones
User avatar
Kruse
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:09 pm
2
Full Name: Eric Kruse
Company Details: Hensel Phelps - Construction
Company Position Title: VDC Manager
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Post by Kruse »

The new FARO Premium Scanner scan files aren't compatible with Reg360+ anymore as FARO didn't release the SDK (or some other file) to allow compatibility with with the Leica software. The older FARO scanners should still work to import the FLS files. Also, you need to have a compatible generation of Nvidia GPU for the classification tools to work within Reg360+. It should detect your GPU after install of Reg360+ whether or not you have a compatible GPU.

We don't use Windows 11 as a company yet, so I can't comment on compatiblity with Reg360+ and some of the issues you might be having. We only use Windows 10 and everything seems to be working perfectly fine when we import older FARO scan files.
philippeo
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2023 9:34 am
1
Full Name: Philippe Olivier
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Account Manager
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Post by philippeo »

Recap 2024 and also Pointcab 4.1 can process Premium scans. As a workaround you could process the data in Scene first and then bring the data to Reg360.
arcgiser
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 4:31 am
2
Full Name: Hoscks
Company Details: hongtaiyang company
Company Position Title: hongtaiyang company
Country: xinjiang China
Has thanked: 9 times

Re: Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Post by arcgiser »

Kruse wrote: Mon Sep 18, 2023 1:06 am The new FARO Premium Scanner scan files aren't compatible with Reg360+ anymore as FARO didn't release the SDK (or some other file) to allow compatibility with with the Leica software. The older FARO scanners should still work to import the FLS files. Also, you need to have a compatible generation of Nvidia GPU for the classification tools to work within Reg360+. It should detect your GPU after install of Reg360+ whether or not you have a compatible GPU.

We don't use Windows 11 as a company yet, so I can't comment on compatiblity with Reg360+ and some of the issues you might be having. We only use Windows 10 and everything seems to be working perfectly fine when we import older FARO scan files.
Thank you for your detailed answer. As you mentioned, a high-performance GPU is also needed in practical use. Thank you again!
arcgiser
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 4:31 am
2
Full Name: Hoscks
Company Details: hongtaiyang company
Company Position Title: hongtaiyang company
Country: xinjiang China
Has thanked: 9 times

Re: Register360 encountered issues importing Faro data

Post by arcgiser »

philippeo wrote: Mon Sep 18, 2023 3:40 pm Recap 2024 and also Pointcab 4.1 can process Premium scans. As a workaround you could process the data in Scene first and then bring the data to Reg360.
Thank you for your answer. It has effectively promoted Pintcab4.1 and Recap 2024.
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360”