Cyclone Enterprise Service shut down

Discuss all Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360 software here.
Post Reply
Devon>biermannBosch
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 8:36 pm
1
Full Name: Devon Biermann Bosch
Company Details: Fortress Geomatics
Company Position Title: Geospatial Specialist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Cyclone Enterprise Service shut down

Post by Devon>biermannBosch »

Has anyone else experienced the problem of their Cyclone Enterprise Service shutting down when logging off the server?
Jetstream never did this. The service would continue.

So far the only solution has been to stay logged in and this is a network security issue.
User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 675
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
6
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 455 times
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Cyclone Enterprise Service shut down

Post by gsisman »

Devon>biermannBosch wrote: Wed Jan 25, 2023 9:06 pm Has anyone else experienced the problem of their Cyclone Enterprise Service shutting down when logging off the server?
Jetstream never did this. The service would continue.

So far the only solution has been to stay logged in and this is a network security issue.
We never had that problem when running our prototype on Azure last year. But it wasn't with the newest release. We are awaiting our new EID.
Our system was entirely on Azure and the service ran continually, but it is a different animal from Jetstream which ran previously. The service is not really visible in the service management window and you have to use Leica's tool in the Tray to stop and start the services
Devon>biermannBosch
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 8:36 pm
1
Full Name: Devon Biermann Bosch
Company Details: Fortress Geomatics
Company Position Title: Geospatial Specialist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Cyclone Enterprise Service shut down

Post by Devon>biermannBosch »

We never had that problem when running our prototype on Azure last year. But it wasn't with the newest release. We are awaiting our new EID.
Our system was entirely on Azure and the service ran continually, but it is a different animal from Jetstream which ran previously. The service is not really visible in the service management window and you have to use Leica's tool in the Tray to stop and start the services
And that seems to be the problem. It runs as a program and not a service.
For Azure, i believe you just log out of the portal accessing it. You never actually log off or do anything to close the program. (Example would be opening a txt document. log out of the portal and log back in. if the text is still open, then you never securely logged off)

Let me know if you are able to test that.
User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 675
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
6
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 455 times
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Cyclone Enterprise Service shut down

Post by gsisman »

gsisman wrote: Wed Jan 25, 2023 9:40 pm
Devon>biermannBosch wrote: Wed Jan 25, 2023 9:06 pm Has anyone else experienced the problem of their Cyclone Enterprise Service shutting down when logging off the server?
Jetstream never did this. The service would continue.

So far the only solution has been to stay logged in and this is a network security issue.
We never had that problem when running our prototype on Azure last year. But it wasn't with the newest release. We are awaiting our new EID.
Our system was entirely on Azure and the service ran continually, but it is a different animal from Jetstream which ran previously. The service is not really visible in the service management window and you have to use Leica's tool in the Tray to stop and start the services
Now I understand what you are saying...that may be an issue for us also as far as security.
I am wondering whether you need to set up security on the server connection itself. Is this on an internal industry/organizational network or to serve the outside source (not permitted to come inside your organizational network?
Our Consultant had set up so that only certain IP addresses could log into the Azure server and those IP's had to be within the Domain of the County. In other words I could not log in from my lap-top from my home office. I had to VPN into the County Network (with all it's security protocols) and then use my workstation inside the County Network device to manage the login to the server.
This did not pertain to the user logins that were setup and controlled by the permissions module (USER ID's and PAssword) of the Enterprise Management
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360”