Scan settings for animation

Please feel free to ask other members for help with certain projects
Post Reply
jmonell
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:53 pm
Full Name: John Monell
Company Details: Barron and Associates PC
Company Position Title: Managing Partner - Geospatial Sciences
Country: USA
Skype Name: jmonelll
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Scan settings for animation

Post by jmonell »

Greetings-

I have a project where the deliverable will be an animaiton. I'll be using a FARO Photon 80 for the scan, FARO Scene for registration, and Pointools for the animation. I also have an AutoCAD Civil 3D license if required.

The site is a vacant lot bounded on 3 sides by an interstate and ramps, please see the link. A 3 story building is going on the lot, and we need to show the view of the building from the interstate. Access to the highway is not possible, so we'll have to do a little magic in Pointools to liven up the animation.

My question is in regards to the scan. Do I run several scans at a lower resolution, or just a few scans at a higher resolution? As you can see from the image, the site is wide open other than a tree next to the proposed building location. We won't be creating drawings from the scan, just the animation.

Thanks for your help, let me know if you need any more information-
John in Buffalo

Link:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source= ... 19&iwloc=A

User avatar
Sean Varney
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 1:47 pm
Full Name: sean
Company Details: InSightFull
Company Position Title: MD

Re: Scan settings for animation

Post by Sean Varney »

if you happy with colored points go high res scans
and use

http://www.pointools.com/

to make the amimation

fast and good avi's

if you remodaling from points then that will take a lot longer
you my be better of with image modaling software and drop the scan
Sean Varney
Artists, writer, Teacher and VFX Resercher.
MD InSightFull.ltd

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1833
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Scan settings for animation

Post by pburrows145 »

I always scan more than I need to (either a bigger area or a higher density) - you never know when it might come in useful.

jmonell
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:53 pm
Full Name: John Monell
Company Details: Barron and Associates PC
Company Position Title: Managing Partner - Geospatial Sciences
Country: USA
Skype Name: jmonelll
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scan settings for animation

Post by jmonell »

Thanks for your replies. I'm fairly new to the technology, and I'm hoping to learn from the experiences of others. I've seen the animations of the stadium done with 1 scan at a high resolution, pretty spectacular. My site is fairly wide open, other than the higheways. I'll use my survey greade GPS to establish ground control, and right now I'm leaning toward 3 shots spaced at 150' apart. I'll keep on digging around, job is planned for next week. Thanks again-

User avatar
Felix_the_Cat
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:44 pm
Full Name: Felix
Company Details: Lockheed Martin
Company Position Title: Senior Member Engineering Staff
Country: USA
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Scan settings for animation

Post by Felix_the_Cat »

You think you are going to scan that whole lot well enough to do sight studies with that ancient range limited scanner with 3 scans? What kind of point density are you looking for

Have you scanned ground before with it?

I think you might want to go do some test scans as I believe you are in for a rather ugly surprise

I hope at least you have a stable way to get it up high

Scanning from the overpass might be your only ticket

No chance you can swing that


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image

jedfrechette
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jed Frechette
Company Details: Lidar Guys
Company Position Title: CEO and Lidar Supervisor
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 30 times
Contact:

Re: Scan settings for animation

Post by jedfrechette »

Felix_the_Cat wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:30 pm
You think you are going to scan that whole lot well enough to do sight studies with that ancient range limited scanner with 3 scans?
Might want to check the post dates, you just necroed a 10 year old thread. ;-) Back then what was feasible was alot different and the Photon 80 certainly wasn't ancient.
Jed

Post Reply

Return to “Request Help With Projects”