ACAD Compatibility

Discuss all FARO As-Built related issues here
Post Reply
User avatar
Dedken
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:28 am
Full Name: Kenneth Bazley
Company Details: Sir Robert McAlpine
Company Position Title: Senior Geospatial Engineer for HDS
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London

ACAD Compatibility

Post by Dedken » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:13 pm

I'm trying to get Pointsense V17.5 installed for my colleagues but we get the error message "No supported AutoCAD Software has been found on your computer. Setup is aborted." Presumably this mean that Pointsense doesn't work above ACAD 2016 (which is the version I'm running - they have 2018)?

In which case, when have my ACAD upgraded next year I won't be able to run it either and the software will become defunct.
All views are my own and are not representative of my employer, The Queen, God or anyone else for that matter.

"we need an instrument, to take a measurement" - I.MacKaye 1992

neeravbm
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:29 pm
Full Name: Neerav Mehta
Company Details: Indoor Intelligence
Company Position Title: CTO
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: ACAD Compatibility

Post by neeravbm » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:45 pm

This is just a wild guess and I could be totally wrong. May be Pointsense checks for AutoCAD software only at the default installation location. Has your AutoCAD been installed at the default location?
Neerav Mehta
CTO, Indoor Intelligence
Creators of http://scantobim.xyz and http://rep3d.com

User avatar
Jana-at-kubit
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:59 pm
Full Name: Jana Siebenbrodt
Company Details: FARO Technologie Inc [Dresden]
Company Position Title: Platform Owner
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Dresden, Germany
Contact:

Re: ACAD Compatibility

Post by Jana-at-kubit » Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:07 am

Hi,
PointSense version 17.5 supports AutoCAD 2013 to 2017.
If you like to work with newer AutoCAD versions, you will need to update your PointSense license.
Jana Siebenbrodt
----------------------------------------------------------
FARO Techologie Inc., Dresden, Germany

http://faro.com/
https://knowledge.faro.com/Software/
----------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Dedken
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:28 am
Full Name: Kenneth Bazley
Company Details: Sir Robert McAlpine
Company Position Title: Senior Geospatial Engineer for HDS
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London

Re: ACAD Compatibility

Post by Dedken » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:31 am

Hi Jana,

I thought that would be the case. What are the current options cost-wise for upgrading the license?
All views are my own and are not representative of my employer, The Queen, God or anyone else for that matter.

"we need an instrument, to take a measurement" - I.MacKaye 1992

User avatar
Jana-at-kubit
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:59 pm
Full Name: Jana Siebenbrodt
Company Details: FARO Technologie Inc [Dresden]
Company Position Title: Platform Owner
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Dresden, Germany
Contact:

Re: ACAD Compatibility

Post by Jana-at-kubit » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:46 am

Hi Kenneth,
Please refer to your local FARO reseller for update prizes.
Jana Siebenbrodt
----------------------------------------------------------
FARO Techologie Inc., Dresden, Germany

http://faro.com/
https://knowledge.faro.com/Software/
----------------------------------------------------------

Post Reply

Return to “FARO As-Built”