Normals for meshing in other applications from scene

Discuss FARO SCENE software here.
Post Reply
Augusto 3D
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 5:26 am
7
Full Name: C-Augusto
Company Details: 3d scanning
Company Position Title: USA
Country: US
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Normals for meshing in other applications from scene

Post by Augusto 3D »

Hello Everyone,
I see people creating some very high quality meshed in applications like Design X or others from Faro scans. however, I have noticed and confirmed via another thread on here that Scene doesn't seem to export normal information regardless of the export file. Is this true?

how are you guys creating such nice dense meshed from scene scans.
User avatar
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
11
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 425 times
Contact:

Re: Normals for meshing in other applications from scene

Post by smacl »

Augusto 3D wrote: Sun Jun 26, 2022 3:44 am Hello Everyone,
I see people creating some very high quality meshed in applications like Design X or others from Faro scans. however, I have noticed and confirmed via another thread on here that Scene doesn't seem to export normal information regardless of the export file. Is this true?

how are you guys creating such nice dense meshed from scene scans.
Normals can be re-computed from the raw X, Y, Z coordinates in the point cloud in the other application. They are not present in most point cloud data transfer formats. Some discussion on how this all works here; https://pointclouds.org/documentation/t ... ation.html
[email protected]
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 1:08 pm
3
Full Name: Konstantin
Company Details: FARO
Company Position Title: Software Engineer
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Normals for meshing in other applications from scene

Post by [email protected] »

I can confirm, that SCENE is exporting normal data into RCS / RCP. However, ReCap is not reading the data correctly, at this stage. See https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/recap-fo ... p/11011690 if you are interested in the details.
Raimund58
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 am
4
Full Name: Raimund Klink
Company Details: IHM engineering GmbH
Company Position Title: 3d scanning guy
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Normals for meshing in other applications from scene

Post by Raimund58 »

[email protected] wrote: Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:39 am I can confirm, that SCENE is exporting normal data into RCS / RCP. However, ReCap is not reading the data correctly, at this stage. See https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/recap-fo ... p/11011690 if you are interested in the details.
Side note, for that reason I first export to E57 and then import the E57 into ReCap to get normals : )
\o/
User avatar
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
11
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 425 times
Contact:

Re: Normals for meshing in other applications from scene

Post by smacl »

Raimund58 wrote: Fri Jul 01, 2022 1:01 pm
[email protected] wrote: Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:39 am I can confirm, that SCENE is exporting normal data into RCS / RCP. However, ReCap is not reading the data correctly, at this stage. See https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/recap-fo ... p/11011690 if you are interested in the details.
Side note, for that reason I first export to E57 and then import the E57 into ReCap to get normals : )
Wow, that's messed up, you'd think Recap would be better and reading it's own native format than an external one. Maybe the normals need to be normalized! :D
Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”