Create orthophotos

Discuss FARO SCENE software here.
Post Reply
Emanuele
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:31 am
7
Full Name: Emanuele Ferrari
Company Details: Studio FERRARI
Company Position Title: Titolare
Country: Italia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Castellamonte (TO)
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Create orthophotos

Post by Emanuele »

Good morning,
I can't create decent orthophotos.
Having to hide some back parts I created some "hide inside" clipboxes but it seems that Scene does not consider them and in the orthophoto it also shows the content.
I've tried to create multiple "external hide" clipboxes but it seems that Scenes only consider a few!
In general, however, there seems to be a big difference between what you see on the video and the final orthophoto.
Do you have any advice?
Thanks!!
max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
9
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by max72 »

Did you create the project pointcloud and unloaded the scans?
This way clip box should work.
Play with pixel per meter settings, maybe the resolution is not the best with respect to your project.
Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net
Emanuele
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:31 am
7
Full Name: Emanuele Ferrari
Company Details: Studio FERRARI
Company Position Title: Titolare
Country: Italia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Castellamonte (TO)
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by Emanuele »

Hi Massimo and thanks for the reply,
I created the project point cloud (with minimal homogenization settings) and downloaded the scans.
On the screen everything seems right but in the creation of the orthophoto the "hide inside" clipbox is deactivated!
Playing on the pixel / meter settings there is some improvement but the problem remains.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
RSteffen
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 4:26 pm
11
Full Name: Richard Steffen PhD
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by RSteffen »

Check out PointCab:

youtu.be/_n_BN9epd4k

Sorry for wrong link before.
Emanuele
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:31 am
7
Full Name: Emanuele Ferrari
Company Details: Studio FERRARI
Company Position Title: Titolare
Country: Italia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Castellamonte (TO)
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by Emanuele »

RSteffen wrote: Thu Sep 16, 2021 11:33 am

Sorry for wrong link before.
Good morning,
I searched for other tutorials but found nothing on creating color orthophotos
User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1204
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
10
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by landmeterbeuckx »

There isn't a specific tutorial as all is very easy to do.

These results come from Pointcab in combo with Riegl Vz400i data.

Image

Image

Image
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +32477753126
www.lsbbvba.be
[email protected]
Emanuele
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:31 am
7
Full Name: Emanuele Ferrari
Company Details: Studio FERRARI
Company Position Title: Titolare
Country: Italia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Castellamonte (TO)
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by Emanuele »

Thanks Lieven for the orthophotos.
The quality is very similar to that of Scene (which obviously depends on the quality of the scans).
I believe the clipbox problem is a Scene bug possibly due to parameter combinations
sim.herrod
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:26 pm
6
Full Name: Simeon Herrod
Company Details: Terra Measurement Limited
Company Position Title: 3D Data Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by sim.herrod »

We use either Cyclone 3DR or Capturing Reality for orthophotos.

Used to use Cyclone Core, but 3DR is much easier.
User avatar
robjlg
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:18 am
2
Full Name: Roberto João Lopes Garcia
Company Details: Laser scanning services
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: BRAZIL
Skype Name: robjlg
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by robjlg »

Emanuele wrote: Thu Sep 16, 2021 7:52 am Good morning,
I can't create decent orthophotos.
Having to hide some back parts I created some "hide inside" clipboxes but it seems that Scene does not consider them and in the orthophoto it also shows the content.
I've tried to create multiple "external hide" clipboxes but it seems that Scenes only consider a few!
In general, however, there seems to be a big difference between what you see on the video and the final orthophoto.
Do you have any advice?
Thanks!!
SCENE should render the orthophoto with the same 3D viewing configuration of the current 3D window. There were a bug in SCENE 2019.1 ( https://www.laserscanningforum.com/foru ... 589#p79589 ) : the clipping box current stat was not saved and generate bad orthphotos. What SCENE version are you using?

SCENE can render very good orthphotos. I really appreciate it. Depending on the orthophoto resolution setting (100, 200 or more px/m) and 3D view settings ( supersampling: off, 2x2, 3x3 and 4x4; gap filling, transparency, point size etc ) it can render very different orthophotos for the same point cloud. Some tests may be necessary to achieve the desired results.

If the clipping box visibility is on, it will appear on the orthophoto and affect its quality. It is easy to turn it on to make some adjustment and forget to turn off again before render the orthophoto.

Naturally, the Project Point Cloud (depending on how it was generated) may generate a better orthophoto than the one generated from scan point cloud. Before generate the orthophoto it is advisable to verify which layers will be rendered.

I hope this can help

Roberto
Emanuele
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:31 am
7
Full Name: Emanuele Ferrari
Company Details: Studio FERRARI
Company Position Title: Titolare
Country: Italia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Castellamonte (TO)
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Create orthophotos

Post by Emanuele »

robjlg wrote: Tue Sep 21, 2021 6:14 pm
SCENE should render the orthophoto with the same 3D viewing configuration of the current 3D window. There were a bug in SCENE 2019.1 ( https://www.laserscanningforum.com/foru ... 589#p79589 ) : the clipping box current stat was not saved and generate bad orthphotos. What SCENE version are you using?

SCENE can render very good orthphotos. I really appreciate it. Depending on the orthophoto resolution setting (100, 200 or more px/m) and 3D view settings ( supersampling: off, 2x2, 3x3 and 4x4; gap filling, transparency, point size etc ) it can render very different orthophotos for the same point cloud. Some tests may be necessary to achieve the desired results.

If the clipping box visibility is on, it will appear on the orthophoto and affect its quality. It is easy to turn it on to make some adjustment and forget to turn off again before render the orthophoto.

Naturally, the Project Point Cloud (depending on how it was generated) may generate a better orthophoto than the one generated from scan point cloud. Before generate the orthophoto it is advisable to verify which layers will be rendered.

I hope this can help

Roberto
Thanks Roberto,
the orthophoto is created with Scene 2021.2.0.7703.
I always disable the visibility of the clipbox to avoid the colored background.
The orthophoto is created using the project point cloud; colors are generally better
Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”