Hi Faro - new tool please!

Discuss all FARO SCENE related software issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Felix_the_Cat
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:44 pm
Full Name: Felix
Company Details: Lockheed Martin
Company Position Title: Senior Member Engineering Staff
Country: USA
Been thanked: 18 times

Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by Felix_the_Cat »

So after a round of cleaning scans I have a strong desire for a new tool which I think would be easy to implement.

I really wish that there was a way to identify which scan a point or points belong to.

I find cleaning each scan individually is not efficient. Sometimes it is required however, when a noisy scan is mixed with good data or the outskirts of one dirties up another.

But FINDING that scan in the tree can be a real challenge.

In a spidery tree in which there are hundreds of scans in clusters of five to ten scans each it is a tedious repetitive nightmare tracking down which particular scan contained the noise you are trying to delete.

Please Faro, make a tool, “locate point”, same as “locate scan” or “locate clipping box” with the right click that will make the point exaggerated yellow in the working window and jump to the scan highlighted in the structure window.

Currently, I just expand the tree (please Faro add “expand all” and “collapse all” so I don’t have to open every cluster manually - it is infuriating) and scroll through with the arrow keys scan by scan until the bad data highlights in the working window.

Also, for goodness sakes put all the clipping boxes in one location on the tree. When there are ten or fifteen boxes, buried deep within the tree, selecting “show all objects” and then re-hiding the fourteen you don’t want is extremely tedious as well.

Thanks for listening


(I hope)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image

SGR
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:49 am
Full Name: Sebastian Grottel
Company Details: FARO Technologies Inc
Company Position Title: Manager 3D Software Engineering
Country: Germany
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by SGR »

Hey Felix,

we are listening. :-)

Those are good ideas. I'll bring those to our development team.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts! It's highly appreciated.

Yours,
Sebastian
Sebastian Grottel | Manager 3D Software Engineering | FARO

User avatar
sreed
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:31 pm
Full Name: Scott Reed
Company Details: Prologue Systems
Company Position Title: Principal
Country: USA
Skype Name: sabotva
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Richmond, VA USA
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by sreed »

Good suggestions, all of them Felix. And Sebastian it's nice to have a faro rep online listening and replying!

Felix, one tip that may help you: if you select a cluster it "yellows" all scans in that cluster. Proceed down your list of scans/cluster until offending point turns yellow. If a scan, you're done. If a cluster, expand that cluster and repeat making your way down the web of project cluster until you land on an individual fls. In other words, you dont need to select all scans but just those clusters in the right lineage until you drill down to the scan.

As for clipping boxes I totally agree. Buried clipping boxes are troublesome. That was a well intended feature change (6.x?) that, I believe, missed the mark.

bananmac
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:58 am
Full Name: Maciej Banaszkiewicz
Company Details: Schenkel Vermessungen AG
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: Switzerland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by bananmac »

Good topic :like:

I would like to add a few thoughts as well:

1. In corespondence view when I double click on a target (sphere or checkerboard) it starts to rotate the view for some reason... :roll: In previous versions (for sure 6.2) it opened simply target property window. Could you pleeeaaseee restore it? ;) We work a lot in corespondence view and now it became impossible to edit target properties in corespondence view.

2. Once again, in correspondence view, when I right click on a sphere or checkerboard group (by the group I mean at least two targets overlapping eachother) it shows a list of targets in the group (context of object) asking to select one and then opens right click menu. This is extreeeemly ineficient , please Faro team make it as it was in previous versions. I don't remember exactly in which version was it introduced but for sure in 6.2 it was highlighting one target and showing right click menu.

I hope you will fix this as this slows the workflow down a lot....

Leandre Robitaille
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by Leandre Robitaille »

I have a really good request ;

A correspondance view ''lasso tool'' or ctrl+click feature that would allow us to select scans in the structure tree from the correspondance view. Sometimes I want to move certain scans to a cluster and beeing able to multi select them from the correspondance view would be an amazing feature. We often work with 2 or 3 scanners at the time and naming is not always sequential and selecting scans that go together in a cluster can get complicated.

- LR

SGR
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:49 am
Full Name: Sebastian Grottel
Company Details: FARO Technologies Inc
Company Position Title: Manager 3D Software Engineering
Country: Germany
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by SGR »

Hello all.

Thanks for the feedback. We will look into those ideas.

Sometimes, we need to change something to fix a broken workflow. And only some time late we detect that we accidentially broke another workflow for other people which worked before. I am sorry for that. (Although, I believe it might happen again in the future.)

@bananmac, your second point is such an example. Right now, I am not sure how to fix that without breaking the other workflow (again). But, well, I have clever developers. I will give them the problem, and they will come up with a good solution.

Again, thanks for sharing!

Sebastian
Sebastian Grottel | Manager 3D Software Engineering | FARO

bobbyf90
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:23 pm
Full Name: Bobby Fenttiman
Company Details: Private
Company Position Title: Revit operator Trainee
Country: uk
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by bobbyf90 »

This is the soul reason I only register in Scene then export to recap to clean as you can easily clean up points belonging to all scans at once and individual scan points.

Currently in scene you have to clean the same object captured across multiple scans individually and when you have construction workers walking through every single scan on site this is nowhere near feasibile.

Recap is better at cleaning for this reason.

Leandre Robitaille
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by Leandre Robitaille »

I agree with you bobbyf90.

However I do wish cleaning was easier in scene as I do sometimes use it. If I do an outside survey in windy conditions and I have to resort to a c2c approach, but there is this 200 year old tree in each scan with its leaves moving around. I usually clip box that tree and take it out of the equation for the c2c registration.

I do wish tough that if I was doing a clipping box to a specific cluster, that it would not delete the points of another cluster. Let me explain, in scene if you try to clean the pointcloud from 2 different cluster with a clippingbox, for example a house with an indoor and outdoor survey, if you open the outdoor cluster and create a clipping box to delete the refracted points from the windows that are indoor, even if you have only the cluster of the outdoor open in the 3d with only the bad points from the refraction in the clipping box, this will delete all the good points of the indoor cluster as well, points you are not even viewing at that moment in the clipping box from a cluster that is not even openned in the 3d view. Nice. Let me do a ctrl-z to that...oh right :/ that would also be nice.

I do have to clean in scene sometimes as there is as well a SDK bug with recap, if you import your scans into a certain web platform (*cough* cintoo) the deleted points in recap will always come back. The only way to have a clean project on the platform is to delete them in Scene (yes I did a save as+delete points in recap, etc., cintoo answered to me saying that this is an issue with recap and the only workaround is to clean in scene).

On another note, another request I would have would be to be able to manually force the cloud2cloud registration to specific scans. For exemple today I was registering an extra survey of 4 scans. A small tunnel that was to be added to a 1400 scan project. We did not plan for this extra tunnel, a c2c approach was the plan. I wish I would have been able to force the 4 scan cluster to c2c with only the 2-3scans that would connect to it in that 1400 cluster in order to not have the whole thing go in a never ending c2c and loading everything. I know there is a workaround with recreating a smaller project with only those 2-3scans exported along with the 4 new scans, but in the end this would be a nice feature to prevent scene from looking into every single scans. Would be nice.


- LR

Raimund58
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 am
Full Name: Raimund Klink
Company Details: IHM engineering GmbH
Company Position Title: 3d scanning guy
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by Raimund58 »

Leandre Robitaille wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:05 am
I do wish tough that if I was doing a clipping box to a specific cluster, that it would not delete the points of another cluster. Let me explain, in scene if you try to clean the pointcloud from 2 different cluster with a clippingbox, for example a house with an indoor and outdoor survey, if you open the outdoor cluster and create a clipping box to delete the refracted points from the windows that are indoor, even if you have only the cluster of the outdoor open in the 3d with only the bad points from the refraction in the clipping box, this will delete all the good points of the indoor cluster as well, points you are not even viewing at that moment in the clipping box from a cluster that is not even openned in the 3d view. Nice. Let me do a ctrl-z to that...oh right :/ that would also be nice.
Workaround: Just move the cluster you want to clean up 500 meters into the air. When you are done cleaning up move it back down (-500meters).
Just an idea from me, maybe it helps : )
:)

Leandre Robitaille
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Hi Faro - new tool please!

Post by Leandre Robitaille »

Hi Raimund58

Of course I know this trick! It is just, you know, not very intuitive workflow. ;)

Thanks

- LR

Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”