Locked Cluster Moving

Discuss all FARO SCENE related software issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
robertbon
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:56 pm
Full Name: Robert Bonnington
Company Details: Bonnington Surveys Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Locked Cluster Moving

Post by robertbon » Wed Oct 10, 2018 4:56 pm

I am trying to register one cluster to another but my reference cluster (the one fixed to surveyed control points) is moving.

The first cluster "External" has 20 scans around the exterior of the building, joined together with spheres and checkerboards. Some of the checkerboards have been surveyed with a total station and these points added as references. It has been registered with the Target Based option, checked and the scan manager locked.

The second cluster "Internal" has 45 scans from inside the building. It has been registered with the Cloud To Cloud option, checked and the scan manager locked.

I want to C2C the "Internal" cluster to the fixed "External" cluster but whatever I try ends up with the "External" cluster moving (and the reference coordinates also changing) - how can I get the "Internal" cluster to register to the "External" cluster correctly?

bdawood
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:10 pm
Full Name: Bashar Dawood
Company Details: Canada West Drafting Inc.
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Calgary Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Locked Cluster Moving

Post by bdawood » Wed Oct 10, 2018 5:15 pm

did you make the external scan as a whole as a reference scan before CC the two clusters

brian715
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:24 pm
Full Name: Brian Boehmer
Company Details: Meridian Eng.
Company Position Title: LiDAR Technician
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Locked Cluster Moving

Post by brian715 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:15 pm

I have had many experiences with this and had number of conversations with Faro about what exactly the reference cluster is if it doesn't lock its position. I have found out a lot about what it isn't. It does not prevent the cluster from moving during registration. It does not fix it in place and then align everything else to it. I usually get told that I am doing my workflow wrong if I am registering to control before I am ready to be done. So to solve this, I register my cluster co control, then I register my two clusters together, then I put them inside of another cluster and register to control again.

looks like this
CONTROLCluster
-cluster1
-ClusterOnControl
-ClusterNotOnControl

User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Locked Cluster Moving

Post by landmeterbeuckx » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:59 am

That is the trick. Add control at the end in a master cluster.
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +3211661621
www.landmeter-beuckx.be
info@landmeter-beuckx.be

User avatar
robertbon
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:56 pm
Full Name: Robert Bonnington
Company Details: Bonnington Surveys Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Locked Cluster Moving

Post by robertbon » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:09 am

Thanks for your help, I have got it working now.

As suggested I created a new top-level cluster and moved everything into this. I re-imported the control points at this level and then registered by Target Based with force by manual ticked and it is now moved to the correct position.

brian715
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:24 pm
Full Name: Brian Boehmer
Company Details: Meridian Eng.
Company Position Title: LiDAR Technician
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Locked Cluster Moving

Post by brian715 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:50 pm

Yeah, I really wish there was a way to fix a cluster in its position and make everything move to it. We are frequently asked to add on to an existing project and having to put data back in the spot it already was is a hassle. But we have embraced this workflow. For some extensions we pull just one scan out of the properly registered project and use its Sphere as reference targets once it is registered to the new data so that I don't have to C2C to all my old stuff. This makes processing faster.

Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”