Scene to mesh

Discuss all FARO SCENE related software issues here.
Post Reply
Raimund58
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 am
Full Name: Raimund Klink
Company Details: IHM engineering GmbH
Company Position Title: 3d scanning guy
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Scene to mesh

Post by Raimund58 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 11:01 am

Hello friends,
I have a scanned turbine processed in scene. Now I want to make a high quality mesh model to use it for an animation. Can you help me with it?
How to export the point cloud effective?
In what program can I make a high quality mesh?
I also have ReCap.
:)

User avatar
Oliver Buerkler
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1405
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 9:44 am
Full Name: Oliver Buerkler
Company Details: FARO Europe GmbH + Co. KG
Company Position Title: Senior Product Manager
Country: Germany
Skype Name: oliver_buerkler
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by Oliver Buerkler » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:33 am

Hi Raimund.

Did you test SCENE´s built in meshing functionality?
If this is not sufficient for your needs, what requirements do your have in terms of the final mesh?

Best regards,
Oliver Bürkler
Oliver Bürkler
Senior Product Manager
FARO Europe GmbH & Co. KG
oliver.buerkler@faro.com
oliver.buerkler@laserscanningforum.com

Blog: http://oliverbuerkler.wordpress.com
Twitter: FARO_LS_PM

Raimund58
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 am
Full Name: Raimund Klink
Company Details: IHM engineering GmbH
Company Position Title: 3d scanning guy
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by Raimund58 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:45 am

@Oliver Buerkler
Yes, I did a test in SCENE but the triangles are limited to 40000000. As I want to make a nice Video in the model/cloud I need a higher quality.
The final result should be "just" a pretty nice looking video :) The pointcloud is too "grainy"...
:)

Raimund58
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 am
Full Name: Raimund Klink
Company Details: IHM engineering GmbH
Company Position Title: 3d scanning guy
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by Raimund58 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:41 pm

I think, I have to play around with ReCap, Navisworks and SCENE more.
:)

al1235783
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:55 am
Full Name: Phil
Company Details: Individual
Company Position Title: Individual
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by al1235783 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:11 pm

Hi Raimund,

We are using SCAN2FX Mesh Modeler. It's an add-on app that works within SCENE.
http://scan2fx.com/?id=scan2fx_mesh_modeler

Raimund58
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 am
Full Name: Raimund Klink
Company Details: IHM engineering GmbH
Company Position Title: 3d scanning guy
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by Raimund58 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:30 pm

Thanks, I will try that
:)

JackM
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:07 am
Full Name: Jack
Company Details: SpectisGB
Company Position Title: Digital Development
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by JackM » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:52 am

Raimund58 wrote:
Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:45 am
@Oliver Buerkler
Yes, I did a test in SCENE but the triangles are limited to 40000000. As I want to make a nice Video in the model/cloud I need a higher quality.
The final result should be "just" a pretty nice looking video :) The pointcloud is too "grainy"...

Raimund, Have you tried using multiple clipping boxes in Scene?
I believe the triangle limit is only applied per clipping box so creating multiple and meshing each one will give you better results.
You can create a small box and right click on it to "create clipping boxes along an axis", after that you can create a mesh from each box and get a much better result.

Raimund58
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:23 am
Full Name: Raimund Klink
Company Details: IHM engineering GmbH
Company Position Title: 3d scanning guy
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by Raimund58 » Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:57 pm

@JackM
Wow, I didn't knew that option, thanks a lot, it will be useful :D
:)

Mrk
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:25 pm
Full Name: Mark Lane
Company Details: Convert3D
Company Position Title: BIM guy
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by Mrk » Sat Jul 21, 2018 4:16 am

I take my clouds into Cloud Compare and use the poisson surface reconstruction - you can make the suface as detailed as your CPU can handle. Depending on the size, getting it into max may require sub-sampling though.

However, I understand Reality Capture has GPU support to accelerate the meshing process. Might anyone know if it's simple to export from Recap to RC?

caddrafting2013
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:20 am
Full Name: Adam
Company Details: Scan to revit
Company Position Title: Revit modeller
Country: Australia

Re: Scene to mesh

Post by caddrafting2013 » Tue Jul 24, 2018 7:38 am

I create my mesh in cc then do a export/import to Revit and create my own families

Image

Image




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Reply

Return to “FARO SCENE”