Point Cloud Leveling Issue - Register 360 + BLK360

Discuss all Leica Cyclone, Cyclone REGISTER 360 & Cyclone FIELD 360 related issues here.
chris_BLTSMRT
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Full Name: Chris Wiesen
Company Details: BLT SMRT LLC
Company Position Title: President
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Point Cloud Leveling Issue - Register 360 + BLK360

Post by chris_BLTSMRT »

Hi All,

I am currently having issues with my scans being registered with the floor having an upward curve on both my longitudinal and transverse axis. I am still new in using the Register 360 software but feel like I have a pretty solid grasp on the workflow having watched many tutorial videos.

Not long ago, an employee had set the scanner up in a doorway and the door pushed the unit over while on a fully extended Leica tripod. :( It left a noticeable dent on the unit but it seemed to be working afterwards. My concern is that we had only done small projects >5,000SF prior to the fall where things registered perfectly and recently been contracted to do >30k+ jobs where I started to notice the issue. Due to not having done a project prior to the fall I cannot use a past project for comparison. I feel like this might be an indication that things are out of calibration since even with targets I am finding it impossible to get the scan to register appropriately.

I have also been trying to use the new "level" tool in Register 360 but am having a hard time understanding whether it should be done for each setup or simply used on an anchor setup to give the optimization tool something to reference. I have tried to google a tutorial on the subject but it seems Leica hasn't had the time to generate a comprehensive manual for this specific feature.

You can see attached the longitudinal section showing the floor curving upwards.
Sample Longitudinal Section - Floor Curving Upward.jpg

Project Info
Scanner: BLK360 (Mfng:Jan '20)
Last Calibration: 02/21 (Like that matters now)
Software: