LEICA Register 360 export does not contain pre-orientation from RTC

Discuss all Cyclone Leica Cyclone, Field 360 & Register 360 related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Daniel Wujanz
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:26 am
Full Name: Daniel Wujanz
Company Details: technet GmbH
Company Position Title: 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Berlin
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

LEICA Register 360 export does not contain pre-orientation from RTC

Post by Daniel Wujanz »

Dear colleagues,

I'm posting this thread on behalf of a client who is currently in the field. He uses our software for registration for which he wants to export the pre-orientation (resp. the scans) that was captured by his RTC. He already processed the entire project in Register 360, yet when he exports the lot as E57 the header does not contain the registration parameters. Does anyone know which secret button needs to be pushed in order to get what he wants?

Cheers

Daniel Wujanz
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1833
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: LEICA Register 360 export does not contain pre-orientation from RTC

Post by pburrows145 »

If the customer has registered the data in REG360, why does he need to register it again, in a 3rd party solution? I am confused...

User avatar
Daniel Wujanz
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:26 am
Full Name: Daniel Wujanz
Company Details: technet GmbH
Company Position Title: 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Berlin
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: LEICA Register 360 export does not contain pre-orientation from RTC

Post by Daniel Wujanz »

Thanks for your quick response, Paul!

First of all, he didn't want to register the data in Register 360. All he wanted was to get the orientation from VIS - yet that wasn't possible without processing the data.

Why a third party solution? He is doing a project with 2000+ scans where the client asks for error propagation and sound quality measures (partial redundancies, normalized residuals and the like).

Cheers and thanks for your help

Daniel

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: LEICA Register 360 export does not contain pre-orientation from RTC

Post by stevenramsey »

he will still need to go through cyclone to convert to E57

I havn't done it but did he finalize the project before export
Steven Ramsey

Home [email protected]
Work [email protected]
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
Daniel Wujanz
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:26 am
Full Name: Daniel Wujanz
Company Details: technet GmbH
Company Position Title: 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Berlin
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: LEICA Register 360 export does not contain pre-orientation from RTC

Post by Daniel Wujanz »

Also thanks to you, Steven. I've just talked to the client. He said that you cannot export the data without finalizing the data.

Cheers

Daniel

GavFoster
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Gavin Foster
Company Details: Offset Services Ltd
Company Position Title: Photogrammetry - Laser Scan
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: LEICA Register 360 export does not contain pre-orientation from RTC

Post by GavFoster »

If you want to get your hands real dirty then the info is buried in a text file for each setup in the raw data.
The text file doesn't have an extension but it reads like it's just xml.
It going to be very messy but it's there somewhere.
I'm sure there must be a much slicker way.

Gav

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Field 360 & Register 360”