Python scriping in cyclone

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
geoscan_nl
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Full Name: Lucas van Rennes
Company Details: GEOSCAN
Company Position Title: owner
Country: NL
Skype Name: geoscan_3d_media
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Python scriping in cyclone

Post by geoscan_nl » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:59 pm

Hello, I am about to learn cyclone and was recently learning python just 2 weeks before that. I found out luckily, as of version v8, cyclone supports python scripting functionality. As I was searching this forum, I was looking for samples of python script ideas, or issues.On YOUTUBE there is a short movie on sciptiing for v8. But other wise I cannot find much It shows that scripting is mainly used to model repetitive and predictive shapes, or to show information of a modeled object. Thiss made me wonder if people are actually using the scripting functionality in production environments, and also what more is possible.

Does anyone use the Python scripting functionality? Are there more samples to be found? Any major benefits in the workflow? Hope to hear if anyone uses it and how.

User avatar
James Hall
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:13 pm
Full Name: James E Hall
Company Details: Precision Measurements Inc
Company Position Title: Survey Technician - Cyclone Modeler
Country: USA
Location: Chantilly, VA

Re: Python scriping in cyclone

Post by James Hall » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:21 pm

I have worked a bit in VBA doing macros for Auto cad and Excel and am a long time Cyclone user and have been looking at some things to automate in Cyclone using Python. There have not been many people making use of Cyclones Python scripting in my reading on the subject.

Currently I have plans to redo the decimation tool to parse the scan data based on a cube scheme rather then a how may points per grid square.
This will even out dense scan areas better. I was going to base it on sound notarization process used in audio software.

Another tool I was thinking of making is a command that cleans off all Trees, Buildings telephone poles etcetera.
This would make a bare earth point cloud.

There is a Python LIb and resources at C:\Program Files\Leica Geosystems\Cyclone\Leica.Python installed with cyclone.
Last edited by James Hall on Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jedfrechette
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jed Frechette
Company Details: Lidar Guys
Company Position Title: Lidar Supervisor
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: Python scriping in cyclone

Post by jedfrechette » Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:06 pm

I'd be really interested in hearing how people are using this too.

When it first came out I played with it a little bit. Coming from a Python background, I remember thinking at the time that Cyclone's implementation was somewhat limited and a little clunky. That was some time ago, so hopefully Leica has continued to improve it since then.
Jed

Tookie
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:43 pm
Full Name: Iain Took
Company Details: WMP
Company Position Title: Dogsbody
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Python scriping in cyclone

Post by Tookie » Sat Jan 12, 2019 8:55 am

I'm had a look at this earlier in the year, I don't think there was much work done on the scripting and the documentation isn't very detailed.

I wanted to use it to create camera paths around a fixed point but those commands don't seem to be implemented in the scripting API.

jedfrechette
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jed Frechette
Company Details: Lidar Guys
Company Position Title: Lidar Supervisor
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: Python scriping in cyclone

Post by jedfrechette » Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:19 pm

As an aside, does Register 360 offer any support for scripting?
Jed

geoscan_nl
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Full Name: Lucas van Rennes
Company Details: GEOSCAN
Company Position Title: owner
Country: NL
Skype Name: geoscan_3d_media
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Python scriping in cyclone

Post by geoscan_nl » Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:37 am

Thanks James. I will have look. I am having trouble too finding good examples.

From what you mention there is a lot possible here. If you can implement it. The hardest part would be making sense of the pointcloud and cutting away unusable pieces.

Return to “Leica Cyclone”