New Leica cyclone version

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
cerene_olivier
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 12:36 pm
Full Name: olivier boissard
Company Details: GGC
Company Position Title: laserscanning surveyor
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No

New Leica cyclone version

Post by cerene_olivier » Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:28 pm

I noticed from the Leica siteweb that cyclone is released under 7.0 version.
I didn't find release notes about it ...

Any infos about new features ?

Olivier

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2805
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by Jason Warren » Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:53 pm

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jason Warren

#ThePowerofLSF

User avatar
rlasater
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:27 pm
Full Name: Richard Lasater
Company Details: Smart GeoMetrics
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Houston, Texas USA

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by rlasater » Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:49 pm

Any ideas on what is new besides the 7 on the brochure?
Richard Lasater
President
Smart GeoMetrics
a division of Smart MultiMedia, Inc

richard.lasater@laserscanning.org.uk

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: Leica Geosystems
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning EMEA
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by stevenramsey » Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:41 pm

The main enhacments in Cyclone 7 are.

Scan control
New scan interface for the new ScanStation C10

A new Traverse editor for creating traverse's after the fact back in the office which allows for traverse to be done in any order.

HDS6000/6000
New filter options for intensity, range and mixed pixels

The main thing that is new in Cyclone 7 is a complete re write of the database structure to allow for high speed data inport of both phase based and the new C10 data. C10 data will stream all data in real time when scanning with the laptop. Also very high speed data import of HDS6000/6100 data. With this may come some changes in the workflows and will report back once I have had a chance to use the software a bit more.
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven.ramsey@leica-geosystems.com
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
1983schumi
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:49 am
Full Name: mcj
Company Details: Ceyuan-Shanghai
Company Position Title: project manager
Country: China
Location: Shanghai,China

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by 1983schumi » Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:00 am

Wa, So Cooooool, at least it can export ZFS format file on this version. :D

mikle-d
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:17 pm
Full Name: Mikhail Druzhinin
Company Details: Neva Technology
Company Position Title: head of 3D scanning dep.
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by mikle-d » Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:34 am

stevenramsey wrote: The main thing that is new in Cyclone 7 is a complete re write of the database structure to allow for high speed data inport of both phase based and the new C10 data.
Hello Steven!

Is it mean that Cyclone database version 7 is not back compatible with version 6 or earlier?

Mikle

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: Leica Geosystems
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning EMEA
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by stevenramsey » Wed Sep 02, 2009 12:22 pm

Hi Mikle

It has always been the case that major version numbers are not back compatible Cyclone 7 will open and update Version 6 but you will need to convert any data in cyclone 7 first before Cyclone 6 will read it. This has been the same since version 3.1 and under most situations does not cause any issues.
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven.ramsey@leica-geosystems.com
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
Romuald
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:26 am
Full Name: CLAVE
Company Details: www.urbica.fr
Company Position Title: Project manager

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by Romuald » Fri Sep 11, 2009 9:49 am

I will get it, hopping that it will solve the crash of PTX import in batch process (mainly after 3 or 4 stations files).

mikle-d
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:17 pm
Full Name: Mikhail Druzhinin
Company Details: Neva Technology
Company Position Title: head of 3D scanning dep.
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by mikle-d » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:41 am

Romuald wrote:I will get it, hopping that it will solve the crash of PTX import in batch process (mainly after 3 or 4 stations files).
Hi Romuald!

I had the same problem with 6 version.
I was wonder about 700Mb files cannot be imported into Cyclone. Each time I tried to import Cyclone showed me different errors!!!
The only solution for me is to split big PTX file onto small pieces (100-200Mb).
And did you find the solution?

Mikle

User avatar
Oliver Buerkler
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 9:44 am
Full Name: Oliver Buerkler
Company Details: FARO Europe GmbH + Co. KG
Company Position Title: Senior Product Manager
Country: Germany
Skype Name: oliver_buerkler
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: New Leica cyclone version

Post by Oliver Buerkler » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:09 pm

Hello community.

One maybe interesting new feature may be that after a mutual agreement between our two companies, Cyclone 7 is now able to read our binary FARO scan files (FLS).
So there is no more detour via PTX export from FARO Scene and then import into Cyclone necessary.

The other way round, FARO Scene v4.6 is capable of reading both PTX and PTZ files.

Best regards,
Oliver Bürkler
Oliver Bürkler
Senior Product Manager
FARO Europe GmbH & Co. KG
oliver.buerkler@faro.com
oliver.buerkler@laserscanningforum.com

Blog: http://oliverbuerkler.wordpress.com
Twitter: FARO_LS_PM

Return to “Leica Cyclone”