Threadripper

Discuss all Cyclone Leica Cyclone, Field 360 & Register 360 related issues here.
Post Reply
dhirota
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:18 pm
Full Name: Dennis Hirota
Company Details: Sam O. Hirota Inc.
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Hawaii, USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Threadripper

Post by dhirota »

I am spending some time with the Ryzen 3990X running Windows 10 Pro applications. I decided that Blender 2.82 was an interesting program since (1) it runs on both OS that are running on this box; (2) there are many test benchmarks running Blender; and (3) it is free.

Several benchmarks talked about W10 Pro showing 2 sockets on the Task Manager. Originally, my install showed the 2 sockets as well. After spending some time with the upgrades from version 1809 of the install to 1909, which is the current version, it shows only 1 socket.

3-7-2020 3-59-14 PM.jpg

Decided not to overclock the W10 Pro to see what happens. HWMonitor shows it at 4.341 GHz when nothing is happening.

3-7-2020 4-01-56 PM.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dennis Hirota, PhD, PE, LPLS
[email protected]

dhirota
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:18 pm
Full Name: Dennis Hirota
Company Details: Sam O. Hirota Inc.
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Hawaii, USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Threadripper

Post by dhirota »

Got Blender v2.82 working with W10 Pro in one day importing NavVIS point clouds (my hotel scans) directly as PLY files post-processed on a 5mm grid.

3-8-2020 3-59-16 PM_SMALL.jpg


3-8-2020 3-41-50 PM-SMALL.jpg


Much more to learn.

No overclocking. No checking of CPU or RAM speed.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dennis Hirota, PhD, PE, LPLS
[email protected]

dhirota
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:18 pm
Full Name: Dennis Hirota
Company Details: Sam O. Hirota Inc.
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Hawaii, USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Threadripper

Post by dhirota »

dhirota wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 2:21 am

Much more to learn.

No overclocking. No checking of CPU or RAM speed.
Decided it was better to check others for bench marks. Puget Systems builds high performance systems for those that are not DIY people. They have many articles of interest and benchmarks, some I have listed below for the Ryzen 3990X for Windows 10 Pro.

03-11-2020 07-55-11 AM.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dennis Hirota, PhD, PE, LPLS
[email protected]

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Xeon Double Processors

Post by gsisman »

NOT a workstatiion builder but would like to beef up our current workstations for use with Register 360, Leica 3DR, and ACAD Infrastructure suite (w/ Cloudworks ultimate)
We currently have Lenovo Thinkstation C30's (Model 1137) with Xeon processor (10-16 cores depending on the unit)
We have another processor expansin slot which I'd like to fill and access up to 64GB more of RAM

Any body got feedback on replacing my current 16 core processor with two of the XEONS shown, along with 4 16GB RAM stick for each processor?
Any idea how much speed this might add to the processing,registration,cleaning time. I actually think that the cleaning time is a factor of the sequel database writing flags on the backend. Am I correct?

Current system
Workstation current specs Capture.PNG
UPGRADE XEONS post for v2
Workstation upgrade processor to new XEON Capture.PNG
Xeon Processors to double up with new
Processor upgrade to two 10 core Capture.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 76 times
Contact:

Re: Xeon Double Processors

Post by smacl »

gsisman wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:33 pm
Any body got feedback on replacing my current 16 core processor with two of the XEONS shown, along with 4 16GB RAM stick for each processor?
For each of the slowest workflows for the packages you're using I'd start by gathering some stats to see where the bottleneck is. Extra CPUs and threads will only be of benefit for the parts of those workflows that are showing 100% CPU usage across all cores. If you're not seeing this for much of your processing, and extra CPU with more cores isn't going to help much. Same goes for RAM and disk. So for example if you see disk read or write is at a 100% for an extended period of time you might be better getting a faster NVME drive or pair of drives in a RAID 0 config.

You can do this by watching task manager, but for a more rigorous approach perfmon is a better tool, see the following discussion for some more details https://superuser.com/questions/609529/ ... -processes

dhirota
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:18 pm
Full Name: Dennis Hirota
Company Details: Sam O. Hirota Inc.
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Hawaii, USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Xeon Double Processors

Post by dhirota »

gsisman wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:33 pm
....
Any body got feedback on replacing my current 16 core processor with two of the XEONS shown, along with 4 16GB RAM stick for each processor?
Steve

We had almost an identical situation that I thought I reported on the LSF. I purchased 5 (2 for each server, and one as spare) refurbished E5-2637v2 Xeons (3.5GHz) for 2 servers for $60 each (Check EBAY). I also purchased 16GB DDR3 refurbished UDIMMs for $25 each for 128 GB per server. It is a DIY job, but it should pep up your systems once you get the slower systems moving.
Dennis Hirota, PhD, PE, LPLS
[email protected]

dhirota
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:18 pm
Full Name: Dennis Hirota
Company Details: Sam O. Hirota Inc.
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Hawaii, USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Threadripper

Post by dhirota »

It seems that my testing of my Threadripper Ryzen 3990X is basically over unless I have nothing better to do than to overclock the system beyond it's current 3.7 Ghz for all 64 cores and change the current DeepCool liquid cooling system into a custom system with at least 2X radiators with 3X fans each. Also increasing the current power supply to 1600W from 1000W.

I have attached below my cost without labor, tax and freight (mostly free) for building a 18-core i9-9980XE (from a year ago; similar CPU is now $1K cheaper) and the 64-core Ryzen 3990X. Both are running Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS and W10 (v1909) with a single RTX2080Ti with 11GB of VRAM for each system. It is a beautiful to see how fast the visualizations run at 50 to 100% GPU utilization on point cloud software as Blender, CloudCompare, and Meshlab (I will be looking at the Cyclone 2020 bunch next week).

NEWEGG_COST_3990X -SMALL.jpg

Here some additional M6 point clouds from a recent project.

I hae been trying to learn Blender, but the tools that I have for visualizing point clouds are limited to 120Mpts. I have been trying to import a project with 400Mpts and 5 levels of floors. I tried to keep the core of 200Mpts (25% of the total), but needed to decimate 100Mpts (50%) to achieve the size to import. So unfortunately what you are seeing in these two screenshots are 50% of the point clouds were randomly removed by CloudCompare. These point clouds were cropped in 3D from the original IndoorViewer point clouds and then exported in E57 into CloudCompare to be converted to PLY and imported directly into Blender 2.8.2 without any processing, but only visualization using my Ryzen 3990X + RTX 2080Ti on a 75inch 4K Samsung TV.

3-20-2020 12-39-02 PM-SMALL.jpg
3-20-2020 12-40-09 PM-SMALL.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dennis Hirota, PhD, PE, LPLS
[email protected]

dhirota
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:18 pm
Full Name: Dennis Hirota
Company Details: Sam O. Hirota Inc.
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Hawaii, USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Threadripper

Post by dhirota »

Have decided to change my approach in using the Ryzen 3990X system that I have built. Apparently if you overclock the system, it will draw a substantial amount of power even sitting idle doing nothing as indicated by the task manager. The better alternative is to build it for maximum use to be used when you really need it, and overclock at that time. From the screen shots below, it looks like using Cyclone Register 360 will allow the 3990X turbo to kick in when needed (it appears that way).

To be sure that I have enough power if I decided to overclock it to the maximum, I purchased a larger EVGA 1300W PS to replace the original EVGA 1000W PS. EVGA had a great deal this week of $200 and I can use the original in another build.

As a test I downloaded Daniel Loney's data set and imported it into Cyclone Register 360 v2020.0.0 without any parameter setup from our imaging server (maximum disk I/O speed 261 MB/second; on a AVAGO raid 6 12Gbps SAS, 50TB system). The software is on our Ryzen 3990X + 1TB Inland PCIe4 M.2 rated at 5/4GBps, NO OVERCLOCKING.

1=R360-IMPORT-3-26-2020 11-06-57 AM.jpg
2=TM-3-26-2020 11-05-32 AM.jpg
3=CORE-W-3-26-2020 11-08-10 AM.jpg
4-CPU-5=3-26-2020 11-10-50 AM.jpg
5=BUNDLE-3-26-2020 11-28-04 AM.jpg

Import time=7m:46s
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dennis Hirota, PhD, PE, LPLS
[email protected]

dhirota
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:18 pm
Full Name: Dennis Hirota
Company Details: Sam O. Hirota Inc.
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Hawaii, USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Threadripper

Post by dhirota »

Since I posted on the System Benchmarking thread today

viewtopic.php?f=69&t=15890&start=30

I figured those that are tracking this thread and have not seen the Ryzen 3990X in idle mode or in compute mode might want to see some of the screen captures. If you are are NOT a registered member of LSF then you lose by not having access to the images.

I decided to try my one-and-only RTC360 scan in Register360 v2020.0.0, using a "borrowed" unit on December 3, 2018 with very little instruction and no help on that day to set anything up. We had only 30 minutes in the building to scan using our NavVIS M3 and the RTC360, so the NavVIS scanned the entire building in 33 minutes (1656 images, 275 panoramas, 561.9 Mpts) and the RTC360 covered as much of the building in 15 scan positions at 2 minutes each for 525.7 Mpts. The comparison of these two sensors for another time if anyone is interested.

The RTCstore file was 38.5GB, probably larger than a RTCstore file today. I stored the RTCstore file on the Inland NVMe stick (5/4+ GBps) to get the best I/O on our Ryzen 3990X + 256GB RAM + RTX2080Ti GPU + 10GbE (not used) + DeepCool 360X cooler, NO OVERCLOCKING. The most interesting was the number of cores running, 40+ at 4+Ghz, and the CPU temperature at 60-70 degC without crashing.

2=3-27-2020 4-15-32 PM.jpg
4=3-27-2020 4-27-21 PM.jpg
5=3-27-2020 4-28-58 PM.jpg
6=3-27-2020 4-35-18 PM.jpg
7=3-27-2020 4-42-49 PM.jpg
8=3-27-2020 4-47-01 PM.jpg
9=3-27-2020 4-50-20 PM.jpg


The color in the last attachment fitting is not brown, but red. I am sure that has been corrected in the last year?


Import time = 21m:57s
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dennis Hirota, PhD, PE, LPLS
[email protected]

User avatar
Phil Marsh
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2284
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:28 pm
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: phil.h.marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Threadripper

Post by Phil Marsh »

If that’s RTC360 data you shouldn’t need to have AutoCloud ticked on import :geek:
LASER SCANNING FORUM
[email protected]

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone, Field 360 & Register 360”