How do I Join two ModelSpaces together

Discuss all Cyclone related issues here.
Post Reply
FinnM
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:35 am
Full Name: aaa
Company Details: none
Company Position Title: none
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

How do I Join two ModelSpaces together

Post by FinnM » Mon May 21, 2018 12:17 am

I have a low res scan of an area and I need to join it with a high res scan of an object in that area how to I do this?

Currently I have tried merging the two Model Spaces with each other but I can seem to find a way to align them.

Thanks for any help

User avatar
Scott.Warren
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:14 pm
Full Name: Scott Warren
Company Details: WSP USA
Company Position Title: Project Manager - Geomatics Engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Contact:

Re: How do I Join two ModelSpaces together

Post by Scott.Warren » Mon May 21, 2018 12:53 am

Hey Finn,

If you have 2 scans that do not contain any form of control (I'm assuming no targets/spheres in your 2 modelspaces), you can align them using a new registration. Basically in Cyclone, a Registration is the framework that allows scans to be aligned and related to each other. Once you create a new registration, add the 2 scanworlds to it, and then use the visual registration tools to match them up. The video below does a good job of going through the motions.

Instructional video

youtu.be/Tg1OqJzJSno
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tg1OqJzJSno

Let us know if you have any further questions,
Scott Warren

FinnM
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:35 am
Full Name: aaa
Company Details: none
Company Position Title: none
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: How do I Join two ModelSpaces together

Post by FinnM » Tue May 22, 2018 11:55 pm

Thanks for the reply but I may have worded the original questions wrong as that is not what i am looking for. I have two already frozen registrations that have been trimmed. These scans are of the same site but a couple of months apart. What I need to do is to join these two already frozen and trimmed model spaces. There is significant overlap so this should work. I did try to create a new registration and put both ScanWorlds in there but when I try visual registration it says 'The Visual Alignment View require single ScanWorlds. The ScanWorld/s can not be registration ScanWorlds.' When I try select three point and use cloud constraint it does not come up with any errors but when I register it and view interim results nothing seems to have happened

jamesworrell
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:45 pm
Full Name: James Worrell
Company Details: Bennett and Francis
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: How do I Join two ModelSpaces together

Post by jamesworrell » Wed May 23, 2018 12:20 am

Assumed - arbitrary and different - coordinates for each scanworld?

Create a series of "corners" - same corners in each scanworld, create a vertex at the corner and give it a registration label - same in each scanworld - case sensitive.

Gist of it:


1) Create 3 small patches on the same geometry available in both scanworlds that wouldn't have moved - looking for 3 x internsecting planes to create nice sharp corners or at least planes (ignoring bevels eg on concrete) - select the flat part - try to aim for the same patch size etc to be consistent;
2) Create a vertex at the intersection;
3) Add rego label;
4) Repeat in other scanworld;
5) Create a new rego;
6) Add whichever scanworld coordinates you want to use first - that will be the home scan world (bold);
7) Add constraints;
8) Check errors;
9) Freeze etc.

When creating the geometry - I tend to fence and copy to new modelspace .. do the geometry in there .. once you have your vertex, delete the patches and the point cloud - merge only the vertex back in - keeps things cleaner.

If level scanworlds .. need a minimum of two .. but more redundancy will give you an idea of how well you have picked the planes - you can disable any outliers.

User avatar
JGlauser
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:34 pm
Full Name: Jack Glauser
Company Details: JMG Services
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How do I Join two ModelSpaces together

Post by JGlauser » Thu May 24, 2018 12:43 pm

When you have two frozen registrations you first need to open the modelspace of each scanworld and select all point data and go to:

Tools --> Registration --> Copy to control space.

You can now create a new registration, add the two scanworlds to it, go to the modelspaces tab, collapse down the the two scanworlds in there and double click the control spaces of each scanworld.

Make sure the home scanworld is set correctly

This will open the traditional C2C environment. You can then pick common points, add cloud constraint and register.

With frozen jobs like this the amount of data is larger than normal. Its useful to head to your preferences and consider changing:

Registration: Default subsample percentage (80%)
Registration: Default max iterations (up to 1000)
Registration: Default max search distance (Default .100 - sometimes increasing OR Decreasing this number by a factor of two can give a better alignment)
Registration: Default subsample spacing (Default 0.5, can change to 0.2 or 0.3, massively increases alignment time)
Pointcloud: Computation max points millions (default 1.5 - take this up to 10 or more if you like, massively increases alignment time).

Make sure you check in interim results using quickslice etc!

FinnM
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:35 am
Full Name: aaa
Company Details: none
Company Position Title: none
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: How do I Join two ModelSpaces together

Post by FinnM » Thu May 24, 2018 11:13 pm

I have tried this but after I have registered the scans and view the interim results nothing seems to have changed.

Shrinivas
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:16 am
Full Name: G Shrinivas
Company Details: Global 3D Scantech
Company Position Title: Senior Project Engineer
Country: Singapore
Skype Name: g_shrinivas
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: How do I Join two ModelSpaces together

Post by Shrinivas » Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:06 pm

FinnM wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 11:13 pm
I have tried this but after I have registered the scans and view the interim results nothing seems to have changed.
Hi,

I have worked with the following scenario quite a lot, be it of Sister Vessels or scanning the same area after a year or two.

By default, interim results do not merge the targets and you will see the absolute error between them.
I have only used c2c for such cases and then fine-tune the parameters to accommodate for acceptable deviation.
Parameters: I try to ensure I have 20,000 Points overlapping
Max 15mm of search radius for c2c
Min 1000 Iterations
It has always worked for me.
Cheers and good luck.
G SHRINIVAS

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone”