I have made <0 posts
Full Name: Brian Kirkham
Company Details: Legeneering
Company Position Title: Dimensional Surveyor
Linkedin Profile: Yes

RTC 360 alignment issues.

Post by brianperth » Sat Jul 20, 2019 6:33 am

Hi all,
Just wondering if anyone else has issues with their RTC360 data. Ok I will explain what happens.

We purchased the RTC for a faster more efficient workflow, I work in the offshore industry surveying mainly pipework and steel work for rectification. We used to use the P40 and that machine is a beast, very clean data and the fact you can select and scan targets on the go for a fine scan makes for a very quick office processing time indeed however, we require imagery, as users of the P40 know that takes approx 12-13 min per scan which is just way too long. Back to the RTC now, a scan with this scanner takes about 3 min with imagery, you can align on the go and all looks well on the IPAD no problem. I import all my raw data into the newest update of cyclone as that's our workflow, open up the registration which is all grouped nicely, do an auto update and check results, all normally come in about 0-1mm every time! I then auto add cloud constraints to tighten it all up and then finally view interim results to see what we have. Now baring in mind that the results even after cloud constraints still say all are within 0-1mm. Why when I slice through the data to check alignments do I always see scans just not perfect, like about 4mm off sometimes. Its happening for every job and can I also say that my setups are only 1 meter apart so the overlap is insane. I have now resorted to putting targets back out around every scan again and manual adding control to modelspace.

Has anyone else had this problem and is there maybe something I'm doing wrong? I thought the point in the RTC was to allow for quick scanning and processing but it's not if I have to fix all the scans again anyway!

MikeDailey
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts