AMD RYZEN

Total Stations, CAD Workstations, SSD`s, Imaging Systems, Targets & Tripods Etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3251
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

AMD RYZEN

Post by Jason Warren »

Image


youtu.be/qL7RPq5FM9E

Looking forward to seeing what AMD RYZEN based workstations come out of Scan, I see they have announced some gaming machines.... :)
https://www.scan.co.uk/3xs/configurator ... -gaming-pc


Has anyone else been following the RYZEN story?
Jason Warren
jason.warren[at]laserscanningforum.com

Add a LSF Google Review here: https://g.page/laser-scanning-forum-ltd/review?mp

james.still
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 12:18 pm
Full Name: James Still
Company Details: Point 2 Surveyors
Company Position Title: BIM Technical Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by james.still »

i have a little bit, I'm excited as i want to upgrade my PC soon

Christophe21
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:12 am
Full Name: Christophe
Company Details: AB VD
Company Position Title: Technician
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by Christophe21 »

CPU Bench says that Ryzen 1800x is better than i7 6800k that is already a nice performing one.
from my distributor, price of Ryzen is only +70 € more.
May worth the price.

haven't compared the global configuration price yet. I'll give this a check.

Scott
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 819
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Scott Page
Company Details: Scott Page Design- Architectural service
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by Scott »

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2017/03 ... en-review/
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X still behind Intel, but it’s great for the price
Review: "an excellent workstation CPU, but it doesn't game as hard as we hoped."
...
"When the first details on Zen were dropped, AMD said it was aiming for a 40 percent uplift in IPC. Regardless of whether it was smart marketing or a genuinely unexpected result, that extra 12 percent increase in IPC means Ryzen performs better than Intel's massively expensive multi-core Broadwell-E line in a range of workstation and productivity tasks, and better than Intel's Kaby Lake 7700K, provided the apps you use can take full advantage of all eight cores".
...

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3251
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by Jason Warren »

Jason Warren
jason.warren[at]laserscanningforum.com

Add a LSF Google Review here: https://g.page/laser-scanning-forum-ltd/review?mp

RHadf86
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:51 pm
Full Name: Ross Hadford
Company Details: Watt Consulting Group
Company Position Title: Survey Technologist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by RHadf86 »

Has anyone tested Leica Cyclone with any of these new "Ryzen" processors yet? With 8 cores and 16 threads, as well as 20MB of total cache for the 1800X, I'd assume it would provide absolutely beastly performance for the price. There's always the concern that Cyclone is optimized for Intel's instructions sets though.

Would love some feedback!

jax120
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 1:33 am
Full Name: Andy Jackson
Company Details: Scan and Model + Project Surveyors
Company Position Title: Director + BIM Manager
Country: UK + Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by jax120 »

Does anyone know if AMD machines are restricted when it comes to RAM. Whenever I go to self build pc websites all amd machines are restricted to have upto 32gb ram. Where as intel based ones can can go to 128gb ram and beyond. Is this a system restriction or just a computer companies restriction.
Andy Jackson
Director
www.scanandmodel.co.uk

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3251
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by Jason Warren »

jax120 wrote:Does anyone know if AMD machines are restricted when it comes to RAM. Whenever I go to self build pc websites all amd machines are restricted to have upto 32gb ram. Where as intel based ones can can go to 128gb ram and beyond. Is this a system restriction or just a computer companies restriction.
Some of the AMD RYZEN motherboards I've seen so far only support 64Gb RAM. Non ECC support. [4 x 16Gb modules]
eg:
Asus AMD AM4 Ryzen CROSSHAIR VI HERO X370 ATX Motherboard
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/asus-ro ... e-usb-31-a

MSI AMD Ryzen AM4 X370 XPOWER TITANIUM ATX Motherboard
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/msi-x37 ... otherboard

ASRock AMD AM4 Ryzen X370 Pro Gaming ATX Motherboard
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/asrock- ... 2-5gbe-atx
Jason Warren
jason.warren[at]laserscanningforum.com

Add a LSF Google Review here: https://g.page/laser-scanning-forum-ltd/review?mp

User avatar
TommyMaddox
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: Tommy R Maddox III
Company Details: ONSITE3D
Company Position Title: Director of US Technical Operations
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by TommyMaddox »

I wish that AMD would hurry up and release the Opteron successor. 64GB is woefully inadequate for anything but a generic workstation here. Looking at 512GB DDR4 for the next major workstation I build.

User avatar
blazaj
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Jiri Blazek
Company Details: BW precision systems sro
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Czech Republic
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: AMD RYZEN

Post by blazaj »

We got a Ryzen 7 1700 based PC and run a quick test against older i7 Intel PC. C2C registration in Scene took 4:30 minutes on the Intel computer and approx. 15! minutes on Ryzen. Both PC's with 32GB RAM and SSD drive. Very disapointing results. Anybody else had a chance to test Ryzen? Could it be that Scene is not optimalized for AMD processors?

Post Reply

Return to “Other Hardware”