New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Total Stations, CAD Workstations, SSD`s, Imaging Systems, Targets & Tripods Etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
idessin
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:16 pm
Full Name: Comparelli Fabio
Company Details: BIMservice
Company Position Title: BIM Modeler
Country: Suisse
Linkedin Profile: Yes

New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by idessin »

Hello,

apologise for my poor english :roll:

We are thinking to update our Workstation for Large point cloud project, Faro scene registration, photogrammetry processing, GPU rendering etc...

we would like to run Faro scene registration more quickly than now...( its very low when it load, assemble scan, etc
actually we have :

Intel Core i7-4790K (4.00 GHz)
Asus MAXIMUS-VII-HERO
DDR3 G.Skill Trident X, 4 x 8 Go, 2400 MHz, CAS 10
EVGA GeForce GTX 980 FTW ACX 2.0, 4 Go
Samsung Série 840 EVO, 500 Go, SATA III ( for OS & Software )
SAMSUNG SSD 2.5" 1TB 850 EVO ( work disk for faro scene project )

what do you think of this config ? :

ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS (LGA 2011-v3, SSI EEB)
2x Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-2687W v4 (30M Cache,12 Core 3.00 GHz)
Kingston Value RAM (4x, 32Go, DDR4-2400, DIMM 288)
ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX O8G-GAMING (GP104, 8Go)
Standard SSD for OS & Software : SAMSUNG SSD 2.5" 1TB 850 EVO Basic
The Toshiba OCZ RD400 (1TB) M.2 PCIe SSD( for localworkspace, faro scene local or have utility also for software and os ? )
and several WD Black 6TB - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 for Stockage and Project on a server ? ( i have read its better with a raid system ? ( this part is a little fuzzy for me )

it is indispensable many cpu ?
For the stockage & the work disk we hesitate, wich is better ? what is the best solution for working in collaboration with Faro scene and have a fast read & Write on both localworkspace and a server for stockage... ?

Other possible Configuration :

Remplace 2 cpu by only one Intel Core i7-6950X Extreme Edition (3.0 GHz) 10 core
or 2 cpu less expensive Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-2660 v3 (25M Cache, 2.60 GHz) 10 Core

Software we use :

Autodesk Revit
Autodesk 3ds max
Faro Scene
Reality Capture

Many thanks

Fabio Comparelli

User avatar
danielgadowski
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 3:49 pm
Full Name: Daniel Gadowski
Company Details: London Underground
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Co-Ordinator
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by danielgadowski »

Fabio,
as we know two things are kings in this world - CPU speed for a single core and HDD speed. When working with Scene additionally you need a lot of fast RAM.
All i would say to your spec is go with the Xeon that offers fastest core speed possible (that you can afford), not a ton of cores.
As for the SSD's one thing you could try would be to have two or three of those OCZ PCI drives put into a RAID. That would be the fastest SSD solution available i think.
If you have got a networked server or NAS drive i probably wouldn't bother with the WD drive.
Daniel

SAttaya
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:04 pm
Full Name: Steve Attaya
Company Details: Geocent
Company Position Title: Sr. Software Analyst [RemoteSensingEngr]
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: New Orleans, LA
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by SAttaya »

CPU speed for a single core
There are two scenarios that need addressing:
1. running a task that will use all of a single core for a non-trival (as opposed to significant) amount of time. Scene has some of these.
2. running a task that will use all of all of the cores (& threads) for a significant (>non-trival) amount of time. 3dsMax when rendering video frames comes to mind.

When you're running case 1, one thread, the processor will probably go to it's max turbo rate (3.5 for both E5-2690 v4 and E5-2687w) pretty quickly. call it even. But, the 2690 has 5MB larger Last Level Cache (LLC) shared among all processors.

When you're running case 2, the two extra cores (87w has 12, 90 has 14), but at a lower clock (2.6-90 vs. 3.0-87w) probably makes them about equal.

The 90 is cheaper, runs cooler.

Not saying which is better in this situation, but if you just want faster clock for single thread, remember that the cpu is way faster than memory, so maybe that extra cache helps on single threaded tasks. It can't hurt (in theory).

You pays your money and you takes your chances. ;)

User avatar
TommyMaddox
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: Tommy R Maddox III
Company Details: ONSITE3D
Company Position Title: Director of US Technical Operations
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by TommyMaddox »

SCENE does not, as of early this year, utilize a second physcial processor. This is somewhat irritating, as SCENE does appear to fully load to 100% the 32 cores of my dual 16 core Opteron setup.

User avatar
idessin
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:16 pm
Full Name: Comparelli Fabio
Company Details: BIMservice
Company Position Title: BIM Modeler
Country: Suisse
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by idessin »

Thanks all for the response !

Here is the actual config that we will order soon :

Carte mère : ASUS Z10PE-D16 WS
Processeur : INTEL Xeon E5-2690 v4 2.60GHz Box
Ventilateur CPU : COOLER MASTER Nepton 240M
Mémoires : 4x 32GB DDR4 REG / PC2133 /ECC/ Samsung (4Rx4)
SSD Principal (OS & Software) : Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB Basic, 2.5", SATA3
SSD Secondaire (Faro scene Local Workspace ) : RD400 SERIES NVME M.2 1TB
Carte Vidéo : EVGA GeForce GTX TitanX Hydro Copper, 12GB GDDR5
Alimentation : 1200W COOLER MASTER V1200

The use of the CPU in Faro scene is not very clear for me...
some say a powerful i7 It's enough and some other will choose a xeon :?

what do you thing of this config ? can i improve it ?

i have asked for a raid of RD400 SERIES NVME M.2 1TB but it not possible(there is only one port M2)... only 1 TB for faro scene local workspace is seem not enough no ? :roll:

For the server or nas, what is the best IT configuration for a fast loading registration workflow ? a nas with SSD Drive in Raid ? wich workflow you typically use for working & Backup witch the large scan data between the networked drive and the local Workstation with Faro Scene ?

Sorry for all this question, but i need to see clearly, we are in the process of renewing all the IT equipment to manage large scanning project, its not very easy :geek:

Thanks in advance

Fabio

User avatar
TommyMaddox
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: Tommy R Maddox III
Company Details: ONSITE3D
Company Position Title: Director of US Technical Operations
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by TommyMaddox »

A video card of that caliber is completely unnecessary.

SCENE does not take advantage of CUDA cores, (as per my discussions with FARO earlier this year), and I personally have experienced little to no difference in registration performance (quality and time) with a Quadro 6000 vs a Quadro NVS 210.

There are three main things you need to focus on when it comes to SCENE.

CPU as fast clock speed as possible
RAM, as much and as fast as possible. You'll find that 32GB is sufficient for 80 scans or less, you'll definitely need more RAM for larger projects.
SSD, Lots of space, and pick really fast PCIE or Samsung EVO/PRO units in RAID 0

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1710
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by stevenramsey »

You will run out of disk space so quickly you will not belive esecially if your running Reality capture.
Steven Ramsey

Home [email protected]
Work [email protected]
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
idessin
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:16 pm
Full Name: Comparelli Fabio
Company Details: BIMservice
Company Position Title: BIM Modeler
Country: Suisse
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by idessin »

TommyMaddox wrote:CPU as fast clock speed as possible
RAM, as much and as fast as possible. You'll find that 32GB is sufficient for 80 scans or less, you'll definitely need more RAM for larger projects.
SSD, Lots of space, and pick really fast PCIE or Samsung EVO/PRO units in RAID 0
Its ( 4 x 32 ) 128 go but i think we go for 256.
I try to understand how scene works when it write or read Scan data but its is not yet clear, I need to organize the IT to be able to work collaboratively on a Network on faro scene. If I have 2 registration workstation, wich system its better to have the fastest speed between all the network and local PC ?

what would be your choice if your budget is large but not unlimited either ?

maybe this scheme helps to understand a little more...

Thanks in advance

Fabio
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
TommyMaddox
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: Tommy R Maddox III
Company Details: ONSITE3D
Company Position Title: Director of US Technical Operations
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by TommyMaddox »

What I would recommend is doing the following.

When you get the SD cards out of the scanner, copy the contents from the card to the PC you intend to do registration on, AND to a NAS/Server for network backups. After doing so, save the SD card in a secure location and label it accordingly. You do not want to know how many times that saving the physical SD card with the raw scans on it has saved my ass.

If you plan on working collaboratively on large projects over the network, you may wish to switch to a fiber optic LAN for the best speed results.

You'll want to rely on keeping the main project on your server, and using local workspaces to incrementally advance the registration process via your registration PCs.

For this reason you'll want to have SSDs on the server and in the PCS. You'll also want to make a daily backup of your registration progress onto enterprise grade HDDs either in the same server that retains the main project data or on your NAS/backup server.

You'll wanna run RAID 50 or 60 instead of RAID 5 if possible and get NEW enterprise grade HDDs in any case.

If you use local workspaces on each workstation, and keep the shared central project, you can also perform work on the shared central project from the server (which gives you an extra seat if you have the licenses or employees).

User avatar
hoho
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 9:37 pm
Full Name: jan antropius
Company Details: 3DMS
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Czech Republic
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: New Workstation Faro Scene & Photogrammetry

Post by hoho »

Does anybody know how important is it to have a good Graphic card for Scene? I have now NVIDIA Quadro 4000 2GB DDR5, 64GB RAM and Intel Core i7 3930K 3,2Ghz and have some issues to open and manipulate 200+ Scans in Correspondence view. Do you think it could be a graphic card problem?

We are thinking about upgrading to Quadro M4000 8GB but not sure if helps..

Thank you a lot

Jan

Post Reply

Return to “Other Hardware”